We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here with my mother last month. I was surprised for what we paid to stay there! The rooms were messy, the a/c didn't work. We were there beginning of August!! I found that some of the competitors in the area were a bit cheaper and included a free breakfast. I will consider staying if the price is right.....just not in the summer!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHotel, Director of Sales at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi Janine B, Thanks for taking the time to review us. Being a not for profit organization, we do our best to offer reasonable rates to all travellers at all times, but in doing so, we are often unable to compete with those properties that can deep discount some of their rates in poor economic times. Your other issues concern us. Would you please call Arthur Mills, our Hotel Director, or Barbara Lane, our Associate Director at 1 800 663-1424 to discuss them. Sincerely, Arden Sutherland, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,637 - 1,643 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Chose this hotel based on positive reviews and uniqueness of staying at a YWCA. After we had checked in and were pulling into the hotel's gated underground garage (for which we were charged extra) a local officer warned us that theives were targeting USA travelers, and to be sure and secure our belongings. We took up everything of real value, leaving a cooler and some mostly stinky cycling clothes and gear. We received a call at 7am the next morning informing us that two windows of our van were smashed overnight, and discovered most of the gear and clothes had been stolen. We were one of five cars targeted, all with USA plates.
When we met with staff, we discovered they had known about the break-in for hours before they called us. We called the police to file a report, but they had no interest in coming to investigate the scene. They instructed staff to look at video, and call them if anything looked suspicious. Since they only had cameras at the entrance and elevator, there was no footage of the break-ins, and footage they did have was useless.
We did find most of our clothes (not gear) later in a stairwell, and we were refunded for our rooms. This still does not make up for the enormous inconvenience of replacing smashed windows and lost gear. This hotel and the area it is located should be avoided by all travelers, especially those from the USA, until some serious shortcomings in security our addressed and corrected.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tallboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHotel, General Manager at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the YWCA Hotel. Vancouver has a car break-in problem – not only the area near our hotel, but in all of downtown. Our underground parking here at the YWCA Hotel is secure and locked but like in most garages, incidents occasionally occur. We do continually review our security procedures and will continue to do so. We apologize for the disruption to your holiday. Sincerely, Arthur Mills, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The YWCA Hotel in Vancouver was pleasant and met our needs. It's conveniently located to Gastown, the Vancouver Public Library, and other Vancouver attractions. The front-desk staff were extremely helpful. The room was a little small, but was clean and did the trick for a one-night stay. My husband and I had a private room with a shared bath on the 10th floor. All in all, it was fairly quiet, although our neighbor did not adhere to the no showers after 10pm rule and decided to take one about 1am. We stayed here in the middle of a longer trip and it was nice to be able to do laundry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We felt a little funny saying we were staying at the YWCA Hotel. But we were totally surprised and pleased with our stay. We would never have made a reservation here without Trip Advisor.
Our room was really nice with new carpeting and bedspreads to match the curtains. It was very quiet and you needed your room key to make the elevator go up so we felt totally secure also. It is next door to the Georgian Court hotel and we actually ate at their Italian restaurant one night. The nice thing about being next to the Georgian Court is that seems to be where tours pick up. We caught two tours there, Rocky Mountaineer and BC Ferry Bus. We loved our stay at the YWCA Hotel and wondered if we shouldn't have tried YWCA hotels elsewhere. There was a small room in the front lobby where you could get coffee/tea and rolls in the morning. That came in handy.

Room Tip: It seems that some people stay here on a semi-permanent basis. The front desk was very nice and hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St_LouisMaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is my 2nd stay at YWCA Hotel. I returned due to the excellent customer service, spotless rooms, and fantastic location. Highly recommend! As well portion of the proceeds go toward assisting women and families in need. Staff always accommodating, knowledgeable about hotel services as well as city. You cannot beat the price as every hotel in the downtown core is well over $100.00 per night. I had a single room with shared bathroom between myself and next room. Bathroom was always clean and well stocked. Shared bathroom was never a problem with waiting.

Room Tip: Skip the extra cost for a room with ensuite bathroom. Good rate for room with bathroom shared betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getoutoftownjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed twice in June for over a week in total, single room with hall bathroom. The room was well equiped, clean and cleaned daily, the shared bathrooms never posed a "waiting" problem and the communal kitchen area was more than adequate to prepare my meals. Also, incidentally, a good place to chat to other residents.
The downtown location allowed me to walk to many of the places I wanted to see and the staff were able and happy to advise on public transport for the more distant locations.
I doubt if the price could be beaten and was perfect for a single traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

It's very minimalist. I suggest this place for people who will hardly be in their rooms at all. They work on a shared bathroom, meaning everyone on a floor shares the same toilet and same shower, so if your traveling with friends theirs no privacy. It's in the middle of everything, so that's amazing, but the beds were stiff and the rooms were very small.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gessaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHotel, Sales Manager at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Nihilist, Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We’re sorry that our hallway bath system was unsuitable for your needs. When in use, the bathroom is completely private - not cubicles or communal in any way, so we don’t fully understand your comment about lack of privacy. The 1 or 2 hallway bathrooms on each floor are shared by 4 or 5 rooms (depending on floor) – not all the rooms. We hope you will you consider returning to us, but if the hallway bath doesn’t work for you, please know that 1/3 of our rooms have private bath, with another 1/3 of them having semi-private bath (one locked bathroom shared between two rooms). Enjoy the rest of summer -- wherever your travels may take you. Sincerely, Arden Sutherland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
426 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,986 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
818 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $76 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing