We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel first week of May 12. The hotel is located in a convinient place, with metro station 3 minutes away, and other facilities within walking distance. I stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom, which is kept very clean, and a has some automatic locking system when in use. On check-in you get a set of utensils, which you can use to prepare meals at the shared kitchen on 10th floor. The kitchen is well equiped and you can prepare any meal, as well as get to meet other residents. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. They also provide facilities to store your luggage, when you checkout. They also provide safes at the reception if you wish to keep personal documents. Generally, I loved my stay at this hotel and woulfd recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room that is close to the Kitchen floors if you intend to prepare meals for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    673
    107
    13
    6
See reviews for
404
498
410
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Found room to be very modern and clean with all expected ammenities associated with a dual bathroom. Staff were very helpful and location was central to most things. Has Kitchens available but remember to ask for kitchen kit at reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel and i found it warm, inviting and brilliantly situated. I shared a twin double bed room with a friend and had a great 5 day stay. The ensuite was clean and nice, the beds were comfy and regularly cleaned and the hotel staff were lovely.

This was a great stay and i would thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: Request one with a view, our window overlooked an ally and a brickwall of an ajoining hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We only stayed at YWCA hotel for a night so we didn't get the chance to use any amenities.

The room itself (double, private bath, TV) was very old fashioned.

The blanket and the curtains are coming directly from the past, with ugly flowers and multi clashing colors.
The above is only a detail but speaking of the blanket, it was also dirty. It was full of hair from previous customers and we ended up just removing it from the bed.

The bathroom is pretty small, the toilet was really hard to flush.
The shower curtain wasn't that clean either.

The location itself is ok, facing BC place, which is great, unfortunately the drawback is that you have smoking industrial chimneys in close proximity to the hotel (actually across the street).

Most of these issues (except the lack of cleanliness) wouldn't be a problem if the room rate was lower.
For $86 + tax, it is possible to find better hotels or, at least, clean hotels !

I didn't put 1 because the desk clerk was nice and helpful, there are shared kitchens and computers with free internet access in the lobby (you will have to pay if you want Wi-Fi).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHotel, Director of Sales at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear guest, Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us last year. Some things can be corrected. After 17 years we know that our rooms need some updating and we are planning a facelift later this year. Lack of cleanliness however, is inexcusable. Please accept our sincere apologies. As noted by other TripAdvisor comments, cleanliness at the YWCA Hotel is of a high standard... that said, mistakes do happen on occasion. Although not pretty, the industrial chimneys across the road are actually releasing steam . Central Heating Distribution is a steam generating station that heats many of the buildings in the downtown core (ourselves included!!) It helps reduce the amount of pollution being created to heat downtown Vancouver. We hope that we have addressed your concerns - feel free to contact me at asutherland@ywcavan.org if you have any more comments . Sincerely, Arden Sutherland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

i stayed here for a week in July 2011. in general, what i liked about the hotel:

- simple and fuss-free
- friendly staff
- clean and neat room

the room i stayed in was a bit cramped though, and for those of you who value your privacy, i suggest getting a room with private attached bathroom. location-wise, i won't say it is very convenient, as it will take you some walking to get to downtown area.

Room Tip: get a room with private attached bath for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lim_lim_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My recent stay at the YWCA was a pleasant surprise. The desk clerk graciously allowed us to check in early and we made our way up to our room with very little delay. Although I was slightly concerned about security, the key to activate the elevator along with the locks on the door and the locking system on the shared bathroom doors, made me feel much relieved. Our room had two twin beds and an excellent flat screen tv. The establishment loses a few points for an obviously broken desk and a leak in the ceiling over the closet. The ceiling tile was discolored which I thought meant the leak was old. However, the pillow on the shelf was also stained which told me the leak was more recent (or maybe the pillow hadn't been moved for a long time?).

Wireless Internet was an extra CD$6 a day, which I didn't mind too much. A tip for those who have a room with a shared bathroom...bring rubber shower shoes. We were aghast to hear our neighbors blowing their nose IN THE SHOWER. Revolting.

You'll love the location of this hotel. It's two blocks from the metro and 2.5 blocks from Cafe Medina. The area is safe, the hotel is secure and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. I would not hesistate to stay here again but perhaps would select a room with a private bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele_Emeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat AB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've been visiting the YWCA as a budget conscious traveller since September 2000.

My 30 day stay in March and April 2012 was excellent. Staff are superb, rooms are clean and safe, and the location to Public Transit and event centres is "A1".

This is a great place to stay in Vancouver!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are quieter and have less bright light from Beatty Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,669 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing