We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no pool at the Y”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There is no pool at the Y”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after an Alaska Cruise/tour. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the price was very reasonable. There is no pool or exercise room, no fancy restaurant or free continental breakfast, but you can get coffee and a pastry in the little shop off the lobby. We took the hop-on hop-off bus tour, using stop #13 which is just around the corner. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay while you explore Vancouver, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHotel, Director of Sales at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Hi! Thanks for writing about your stay on TripAdvisor. I hope you had a wonderful time on your Alaskan cruise! I wanted to mention that YWCA Metro Vancouver operates a fabulous fitness centre (25 metre ozone pool, weight room and various classes) which is complimentary to our guests 15 years and older - there iare family swim times available on the weekends. It is located 15 minutes from our hotel. When you're next in Vancouver check it out! Sincerely, Arden Sutherland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    668
    107
    12
    6
See reviews for
400
496
407
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We found this a great place to stay, staff were very helpful and our room was perfect. We had all the amenities with TV, alarm clock, fridge etc etc. Wifi connection available. 2 blocks to train and close walk to Robson Street for restaurants and shopping. Walking distance to False Creek to catch Ferry to Granville Island.
Our room was clean and very comfortable and very quiet.
There are kitchen facilities on every few floors and a coffee shop on the ground floor.
We chose a room with a shared bathroom down the hall that was always clean.
Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen NH
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The 5 of us (father, mother, daughters 21,18 & 16) stayed at the Y for three nights. We found it very, very good value ! The location is great, very close to Yale Town, China Town, GasTown, the Waterfront and all public transport. The whole concept of affordable rooms with private bathroom plus the use of a well equipped kitchen and necessary kitchenutensils & pots and pans is great. The staff was not just friendly and accurate, but also well informed and helpful !
This was our first YWCA experience, but the place certainly stood the test with a 9 on a scale of 1-10 ! And Vancouver ? What a GREAT city !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlaasBergenNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

If your budget is tight, this is a good option, especially if you're a Y member (added discount). It's certainly a no-frills accommodation, but it's downtown AND parking is only ~$10/night and in an enclosed garage. It's near the not-so-great part of town, but...don't walk around Chinatown/Gastown at night and you're fine. Internet on site. We did have to call someone to fix the toilet, and they asked if we could wait a couple hours to have it fixed- we were on our way out so it wasn't an issue but don't know what they'd have said if it was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel is a good value for the city. The location is near the Canada line so convenient for getting to and from the airport as well as other locations. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful about area information. We found the rooms to be a bit noisy and warm without much control over the temperature. Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basenjigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My friend booked the Vacouver YWCA for our overight trip; I was surprised at the $150 per night rate, but she said it is nice. While the location is good and the staff friendly and helpful, it is a very ordinary, institutional-feeling facility. It is clean, but dated. I can't imagine that there aren't nicer places to stay for a similar price, although coming from Seattle I do find the prices in Vancouver high, and the current USD value doesn't help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I spent 3 nights here in a single room. It's very basic place but very good prices. If ur like me don't need any thing fancy just a place to rest your head at night then this would be it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a few hassles with my luggage as it didn't fly over with me and they helped sort it out.
Good location about 5 minute walk to the main shopping mall would have to get transport any where else probably alittle far, although I did walk.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,779 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing