We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow, service and conscientiousness by this hotel staff beyond expectations. I was a guest of the hotel's guest at the last minute. Great location and experience. Morning breakfast service excellent and helpful. Will be back!
Look forward to a return trip.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,242 - 2,248 of 3,513 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times. Rooms are well appointed and kept clean. Globe and mail every morning. Staff friendly and food is of good quality. Gym equipment is ok with some pieces not working optimally. I would stay again.
No spa but they twin with sister hotels' spa at Fairmont Pacific, which is just 5 minute walk. Average spa experience but lounge and amenities were superior.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Newfiemd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor, it is always nice to hear from our repeat guests! I appreciate your feedback with regards to the health club equipment and have asked our Engineering team to investigate and ensure that all of our machines are running properly. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or by email at indu.brar@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here late October for 3 nights on the 7th floor with a view of Canada Place, mountains and water. We were very happy with the room and were given choice on rooms when booking. The room was big and newly decorated with large windows, large king bed, nice shower room (with two shower heads), good toiletries selection, minibar and tea/coffee selection. Breakfast was about $20 so we just ate downstairs in the mall food court (you can take the lift all the way to the lower ground floor so no need to go outside, the mall is attached to the hotel). There are cafes and food stalls if you want something quick and cheap. Try the Cactus Club Café on the waterfront opposite the hotel - great ambiance and food. They open for brunch onwards and it gets really full at lunch and dinner time.

The hotel is very centrally located with the best views right there and two conference centers with lovely walk ways. Stanley Park is nearby and you can hire bikes for about $16 for 2 hours to ride around the city. We did this on our third day and it was our best day. We could stop and see the sights and take photographs. We also did the hop on/hop (pink/big bus) off bus on the second day. This was just ok as the bus does not run frequently (every 40-60 mins) so we were waiting forever at Granville Island for the bus back to town. We only got off once as we were worried we would struggle to get the bus again.

The pillows in the room were a little too high for me and my neck was sore the first night. We asked for softer pillows and these were brought up very quickly. The water pressure and hot/cold taps were a little odd but we still enjoyed our showers.

The hotel was very clean and they had cold drinking water with lemons and oranges in the reception area. Check in was quick and easy. We really enjoyed our stay in Vancouver. We were surprised how pretty the city is. We went to Grouse Mountain and took the cable car to the top (about $30 each) and you can get the seabus from the waterfront station. Then jump on a bus to Grouse Mountain. Total journey was about 40 minutes. The seabus takes you to Lonsale Quay, which has a nice big market (and restaurants) and great views of downtown Vancouver. Fantastic sunset as well.

Overall a wonderful stay with many good memories. We checked out early morning and the doorman found us a taxi quickly and loaded the car for us. There was free tea/coffee down in reception for early risers, which we thought was very thoughtful. We would definitely stay here again if we came to Vancouver again.

Did not give it 5* because there was no free Wi-Fi and for the negative things we mentioned in the review.

Room Tip: Make the right choice when you book - room choices are available if you want to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very thorough review of The Fairmont Waterfront. It sounds like you had a great time in our beautiful city – I agree that a ride around Stanley Park is an absolute must when visiting Vancouver; we have complimentary bikes available at the hotel for just this occasion. We certainly get many comments on our internet offering and are currently reviewing our practices for the opportunity of improvement; you may be interested to know that we do in fact offer complimentary WiFi for our Fairmont President’s Club guests (membership is also complimentary). Thank you again for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Waterfront and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in room 717. It has a City view and looks down on the roof top garden. You get a fair amount of City Street noise Monday-Friday. The room is large and nicely appointed. It was recently refurbished, new furniture, flat screen, great tile in the bathroom and high end bath fixtures. It is a very pleasantly decorated room. There is some mechanical noise, like a tapping on a pipe. I don’t know if that occurs during the day but it is noticeable at night. The bed and bedding were excellent and mad for a delightful sleep after wandering the city all day.
The staff is excellent. Typical top notch front staff, bellmen and doormen. The concierge is excellent and full of fine information. The location has limited water views as the Pan Pacific is right across the street.
The Fairmont Pacific Rim is right down the street (2 blocks). We walked to the other Fairmont to check it out. It has a younger hipper vibe than the Waterfront. This has a quieter feel to it. Just my thought but if you want the Fairmont standard with a little more activity at night stay at the Pacific Rim. Stay at the Waterfront for a more relaxed feeling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review of The Fairmont Waterfront, I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your feedback with regards to the mechanical noise you experienced in your room – I am having it investigated as we speak! I understand that you had a room that overlooks the city skyline and our rooftop herb garden, I do hope you get the opportunity to experience our Harbour-view rooms on your next visit as our un-obstructed views of Stanley Park and the Harbour are quite spectacular. Should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Fairmont Waterfront. In the future, if ever there is anything else we can do to make your time with us more comfortable; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or by email at indu.brar@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent two nights here on our return from Whistler.

The hotel iteself was magnificent - the quality of the room was first class, the comfort magnificent. The help from the concierge with planning routes was much appreciated.

Its one of those hotels however where you need to watcht he additional charges, Internet (standard) at $15 a day is a bit steep! It is also best to park across the road on West Cordova St where it is much cheaper.

The view from the waterside rooms is wonderful - second to none!

Room Tip: Definitley make sure you go waterside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Ruth_B_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of The Fairmont Waterfront – your kind words are very much appreciated and I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate you choosing The Fairmont Waterfront for your stay and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I spent Oct 11 and 12 at the Fairmont, the front desk staff was exceptionally polite and even upgrade our room to one with a view of the Harbour. The location is quiet in relation to staying closer to Robson. Amazing service, great staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team – it is our mission to provide warm and engaging service and it is always nice to hear when we get it right. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a couple hours before check in. Since we brought a baby with us we were willing to take whatever room was available. The front desk put us in a room that was sure to fill the needs of our infant. They made sure we had a large space for the crib and comfortable chairs for nursing. They even made sure we had a good view of the water. The room was a relatively new renovation so everything was clean and comfortable. All hotels in this area are pricey; but here you get a higher level of service and genuine care and consideration from the staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank DustyPrairieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor. It is always challenging travelling with small children, I was so glad to read that we were able to get you into a room quickly and anticipate your needs. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Waterfront, and if ever there is anything we can do to make your time with us more comfortable; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or by email at indu.brar@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,215 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,830 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#31 of 92 in Vancouver
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $240 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing