We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Piqua, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing time”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were in Vancouver for 3 nights and completely enjoyed the Fairmont. It is very clean, and easy to get around in. We had a water front room and loved watching all the activities outside when we were in our room. But really there is so much to do and see, we weren't in the room much!
We would love to come back again!

Room Tip: Water front was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest, I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time in Vancouver so immensely – I too love to watch the floatplanes fly in over Stanley Park. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Fairmont Waterfront, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,221
    704
    154
    54
    35
See reviews for
601
1,189
143
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the end of July with a friend as we were in town for a concert and the hotel was beautiful!! Prime location just down the street from my favorite restaurant and right by Canada Place. Room was a great size and nice and clean. The rooftop pool was also pretty nice

would stay here again for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us; I do hope you had fun at the concert. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor, your feedback is appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were on top floor (32nd) in a corner room overlooking the harbour.
Room had 2 large windows, one in bedroom and other in bathroom.
We could watch cruise ships arriving at 6-30am and if around, see them leaving 5pm, all going to Alaska. Sea planes taking off and landing all the time.
Vancouver harbor is very like Hong Kong225, very busy and always changing.
The area around hotel is nice, and you can walk for miles, along the shore line towards Stanley Park, which is very beautiful and interesting.
We went Whale watching and saw quite a few Killer Whales and then 2 orphaned bears on grouse mountain.
The breakfast,s were good, and evening meals from not a large menu were served in street level restaurant and cooked how we like it.
There are cheaper hotels in Vancouver, but it was a special birthday, so we were very satisfied with what we paid for.
The staff all all friendly, and a special mention to Jesi Russell in the concierge desk, who was a fountain of knowledge and most helpful.
Would we go back YES

Room Tip: high floor harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special birthday celebration. I am happy that you were able to get out and explore the city; I love the walk along the seawall to Stanley Park in the evening and agree that with all the action in the harbour there is always something new to watch from the room. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us here at The Fairmont Waterfront and I will be sure to share your kind words with Jesi personally. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel. Expensive as are all Fairmont's but in this case you really do get the value. We were upgraded to harbour view room and as stayed before a cruise was really nice to be able to see our ship mooring. Only has one restaurant but is close to everything so not a problem. Food was good. Breakfast was good. All the tours leave from right out the front. Close to Gastown (the old part of Vancouver).

Rooms roomy and service great.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if possible to harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a TripAdvisor review of The Fairmont Waterfront, your kind words are very much appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed our location on the harbour; it really is fascinating watching the cruise ships come in at CanadaPlace. I do hope you had a wonderful time on your cruise to Alaska and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fairmont Waterfront in the very near future. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast of California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was beautifully appointed and the bed very comfortable with luxury linens. The bath was also very nice but there was a shower-tub instead of a separate shower. My room had beautiful views. They have an excellent restaurant where we ate dinner. The food was very good and they provided us with free drinks and desert in honor of my birthday. It was a nice touch and showed the excellent customer care they provided. The lobby is very disappointing and does not have much to show for . The hotel is to the SkyTrain terminals that you can use to get around and transfer to/from the airport on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Berry_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Fairmont Waterfront on TripAdvisor. I was happy to read that our colleagues in Herons West Coast Kitchen were able to make your birthday celebrations special, thank you for allowing us to be part of your day. I appreciate your comments with regards to the lobby, you may be interested to know that we will be undergoing dramatic renovations of our restaurant area later this winter and I am confident it will provide a very fresh feel to the lobby as well. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us here at The Fairmont Waterfront and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This past July, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying The Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver. It was our tenth wedding anniversary and we were embarking on a cruise the next day. I wanted to make the stay a little extra special, so I called and arranged to have some roses delivered with breakfast the next morning. Not only was everything prepared as I had asked, but their staff helped me jump every hurdle to make everything perfect. I would like to single out their concierge, Brietta for her great help and marvelous professionalism. They truly were the kind of hotel staff you always hope to interact with as a guest.

I am enthusiastic about the possibility of staying at the Fairmont Waterfront the next time we are in Vancouver and will highly recommend it to all my friends who travel there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words on TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to read that we were able to contribute to the success of your tenth wedding anniversary celebration, please know we were honored to be a part of such a momentous occasion. I am very proud of the warm and engaging service that our colleagues strive to provide and I never tire of reading about when we succeed in providing special moments for our guests. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with Brietta and the entire Waterfront team. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or by email at indu.brar@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fairmont Waterfront is a good hotel that meets expectations. It is bang opposite the Waterfront Skytrain station- a convenient means of transport to get to and from the airport. Infact, take the elevator all the way to the hotel basement which connects to the station.

It is a short walk to the boutiques and restaurants of Gastown. One can also catch buses to Stanley Park and Granville Island Market from stops close to the hotel.

The room was comfortable, but nothing too memorable. We booked a Deluxe harbor view room anticipating sweeping vistas of blue water and sky. We definitely had that, but also had big, ugly cranes and containers to look at. Oh, and a gigantic cruise ship to gawk at every morning as well. Next time, I will consider either booking the city view, or springing for the Signature harbor view room. We ate breakfast at the restaurant only once. The buffet seemed pricey, but a la carte was more reasonable. Service was pleasant throughout.

Wi-fi: Free wi-fi if you sign up for the Fairmont rewards program. Worked well, no issues.

Canada place- a convention center, and the cruise ship terminal are both right outside as well.

***One thing that I felt the hotel goes out of its way at concealing is the food court in the basement. There are no signs inside the hotel for getting to the food court. I guess it doesn't make business sense to point patrons to cheaper dining options.

Room Tip: Save $$ and get city view, or splurge and get the signature harbor view. Avoid the deluxe harbor vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VarshaDamle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such a thorough review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,717 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,478 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing