We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location just across from the Convention Centre and very comfortable with a great restaurant. Lives up to the standards set by the Fairmont Hotel Chain. Pricey - but, well, someone else was paying... what can I say? :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,186
    696
    152
    55
    35
See reviews for
587
1,173
144
863
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Fairmont Waterfront was very inviting and modern. We were upgraded to a great room with the best view of the harbour. Friendly staff. Had a mix up with mini bar charges and staff took care of it right away. It is also in a great location if your are a tourist to Vancouver.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Fairmont President's Club for free on Fairmont's website. You will have a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieD923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to the Fairmont Waterfront in January and this was much more than I expected. From the moment I arrived, it was a pleasure to stay at the hotel. The doormen were courteous, the front desk staff were delightful and my room was large with a beautiful view of the harbour area.

The beds were comfortable and although the weather outside was damp, it was still a fabulous view.

I went downstairs to the bar. I am sorry I did not get the waiters name but he was extremely attentive but not annoying... very good service and a nice smile.

I went to the pool as friends told me it was a nice area. The pool was not huge but adequate. The whirlpool, in a separate room was large and a good temperature. All very clean.

Unfortunately, I didn't sample the food as I ate at the Trade & Convention Centre.. which had some of the best prime rib I have ever tasted.

As a business trip, this hotel excels. It is expensive but worth the money.

I decided to do a little walk about and take some photographs. During the week I strongly recommend going to the Marine Building close by and checking out the foyer. There is a gentleman there who will even give you a guided tour of the lobby area because it is visited often. It is a building from the early 30's and was once the tallest in the British Empire. The woodwork and lobby was breathtaking and if you go up one floor in the inlaid elevators, you get to a viewing area of the ceiling... spectacular and unique.

In addition, I walked along the Hastings and looked up... great older rooflines to photograph. Then if you go in the train station and look up, there are lovely paintings around the upper walls. This is a free way of exploring Vancouver and extremely interesting to see the old buildings with the new. Something that Vancouver pulls off very well. If you have time, keep walking to Gas Town... always a favourite with tourists but I believe taking about an hour at the Marine Building is a highlight.

I would say this hotel was the finest I have stayed at across Canada so far.

Room Tip: Phone and ask for a room high up and with a view of the harbour, on the right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkswithafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind and very informative review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to read that you had a great stay with us and I truly enjoyed your images of the city. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to beautiful Vancouver and if ever I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com. Warm regards, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Hotel ticks all of the boxes - clean, modern, well located and not too expensive. Very comfortable bedrooms with all of the facilities that you will need. Good bar and a very good breakfast. Certainly the best hotel I have stayed at in Vancouver.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJAB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review of The Fairmont Waterfront, your kind words are very much appreciated. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Recently went downtown for a night out with friends but didn't want to drive home - we live 50 minutes away- decided to check the fairmont and it was just as expensive as a taxi home - we stayed in a beautiful room - had a great night out- slept in -got a late check out and watched movies all the next day - I love Vanvouver thank you Fairmont !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burrowing_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank for your TripAdvisor review of The Fairmont Waterfront, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us – sounds like a perfect end of a weekend! It is always great to hear from our ‘local’ guests and I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back on your next mini-getaway. Warmest regards, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We always stay here when we come to Vancouver, We love it. The service is great, the rooms are beautiful, the location is great so close to everything. The Fairmont Waterfront is close to historic Gas Town and beautiful Stanley Park and also within walking distance of Robson and Granville Street, where you can do all your shopping. If you have a lot of energy you can start your day with a walk along the sea wall or cut thru half way, and then take a water taxi to Granville Island. Anyway its a great place to stay when your in Vancouver oh also you get great views of the city from the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmnopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor. I was thrilled to read that we are your hotel of choice when visiting Vancouver and I do agree that it is hard to beat our location! Do let me know when you are next with us as I regularly take guests for a morning run along the seawall and would love if you could join me. If you are not a runner, another great way to get around is to borrow the complimentary hotel bikes, they are great for the seawall and Stanley Park. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront while in Vancouver for business. I usually stay at the Pacific Rim next door but it was full that time. I was worried that this hotel would be older and less comfortable but I was wrong. The Waterfront is as good. The room was very comfortable, fantastic bed and linens, great service, windows open. Lobby area is also very good and the restaurant has a great lunch buffet. Staff and service was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellamuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review of The Fairmont Waterfront for TripAdvisor, and I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very committed to offering a fresh product to our guests and you may be interested to know that we are currently undergoing renovations (completed in April) that will see an exciting modern upscale look to several floors of our guest rooms. Thank you again for choosing to stay at The Fairmont Waterfront and I do hope we are able to entice you back again on your next visit to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Ian Pullan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing