We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic place to take someone special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Every aspect of our stay was a pleasure. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was roomy and comfortable. The view from the room was spectacular. We ate at Heron's restaurant, what can I say awesome menu and great prices along with great service, Excellent selection of both food and wine. I loved absolutely everything about this hotel. No one could ever say anything negative about this wonderful place to stay. Pricey but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,494 - 2,500 of 3,479 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

This would have to be one of the best hotels we have stayed at. We arrived into Vancouver from Australia ( 14 hour flight) early in the morning. We tried to check in at about 8 am but our room was unavailable.........check out is at 12pm and the people in our room did not want to leave ( I don't blame them ) We left our bags and went for a walk around the local area but came back to the hotel as we were both too tired at that stage for sight seeing. The reception staff offered us the key to the spa and gym to use if we wanted but we were happy just to sit in the beautful lobby and people watch. We were given by one of the staff some lovely hand made chocolates while we waited and on all the floors they have large glass water urns with fresh water and lemon & orange slices to drink if you wanted.
We were offered a different room on the 15th floor that was available but we opted to wait for the room they had allocated for us on the 20th floor.......I am glad we did.
When we finally got into our room it was spectacular. A signature room on the corner with floor to ceiling windows on two walls with views up and down the harbour and across to the North Shore mountains.
We had room service breakfast the next morning and it was brought in on a table with a beautiful arrangement and the food was great.
We had mentioned that it was our 22nd wedding anniversary and they gave us a bottle of wine and hand made chocolates...yummy.
We stayed 2 nights and did not want to leave......the staff were great ( thanks again Katie Petite, the worlds best concierge )the beds are huge and so comfy. The location amazing........you can walk to the waterbus and the sky train station from the hotel completely underground. There is a fast food court under the hotel if you want to eat cheap.The list goes on....

Room Tip: there is only one signature room per floor...get one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australianjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of The Fairmont Waterfront for Tripadvisor and thank you for allowing us to be part of your 22nd wedding anniversary celebration! I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed the spectacular views from our Signature guestrooms and found our location so convenient. Please know I will take great pleasure in sharing your kind words with ‘Concierge Katie’ as we call her, as well as the entire team who take great pride in providing warm and engaging service. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Ian Pullan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived at lunchtime after ten tiring days in Whistler and were greeted by very friendly staff. Luckily, we were able to check into our room straight away which was hugely appreciated. Our room was on the sixth floor and had great views over the harbour (see pic). The room was also very big which was handy with two big snowboard bags and a nice contrast to tiny European main city hotel rooms.

The hotel is right on the outskirts of the 'Gastown' area and is walking distance from most other places in the city, we walked to both Grenville Island and Stanley Park from here. Due to the proximity to other areas we didn't actually eat in the hotel restaurant at all but ate somewhere nearby on all three of our nights in the city.

What makes the hotel amazing is the bed. I have literally never seen a bed so big or slept in one so amazingly comfortable. My boyfriend is 6ft4 (193cm) and could lie length-ways or width-ways on the bed so he was in his absolute element! I will warn you though, we were very disappointed to get into our own bed upon our return back home.

Whilst we were there the hotel was undergoing some renovations. These didn't disturb us as didn't hear any drilling/hammering before 9am or after about 5/6pm but on our last day, when we were being a little lazier (as check out isn't until 12), we had a note under the door to say that the water was going to be turned off at 10am. The hotel do offer alternatives (using the fitness area facilities/being able to move to another room) which is good but all the same it's a bit inconvenient.

My one real irk with the hotel is that there was no free wi-fi. Really? In 2013, hotels are *still* not offering free wi-fi when you're spending a couple of hundred dollars staying there? You can of course purchase 24hours of wi-fi at the 'bargain' price of ~$14+tax. No thank you. A much better alternative is to hop over the road to the 'Blenz' coffee shop, spend a couple of dollars on a fantastic coffee and use their free wi-fi. Note; the oatmeal in Blenz was also pretty good and a much cheaper alternative to the hotel if you don't have breakfast included.

That said, we had a great stay at the Fairmont and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, or recommend a stay here (even if it does mean you need to buy a new bed when you get home).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Steph_C1986_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in the Fairmont for the last two days of our Canadian trip and having spent the rest in Four Seasons we were very disappointed, it was a lot less quality than we had expected - air con wasn't working and the room was cold, the work men then started drilling in the room upstairs at 8am the following morning. The rooms are a little tired. The hotel lobby was fabulous to walk in but quality in rooms was not the same. We had breakfast the following morning but felt the apple juice was fermenting and the muffin in the eggs Benedict was fried so not the best we have ever had.

Shame as we were really looking forward to it. Vancouver made up for the disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mypeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor response for our property. Guest feedback is very important to us as we consistently review our practices to ensure we offer our guests the service and products they deserve. I was disappointed to read that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. We would love the opportunity to discuss your stay with you personally, if you could please contact our Director of Operations, Robert Sedore, at 604-691-1819 or by email at robert.sedore@fairmont.com it would be appreciated. You may be interested to know that we are currently in the process of completely renovating 177 of our guest rooms and I am very excited with the modern up-scale West Coast feel that our designers have created. The remainder of our guest rooms will also get a refresh with new artwork, furniture and soft goods in the rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the near future. If I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Beautiful hotel with awesome view of waterfront ...great location...walking distance to every where. Fast check in . Food was decent at lobby bar. Rooms average size . Bed and pillows comfortable

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieTravel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! The location is right across from Canada Place. I had a nice view of the harbor. The service is even nicer than the location. Everyone that I encountered went out of their way to provide the best service. One additional point - the food.... Their lifestyles menu allowed me to eat gluten free during my entire stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is a great location, nearby to everything. You can walk to Stanley Park, Gastown, Yaletown and everywhere inbetween. If you are not up to walking, they will drive within the downtown area in their BMW. We had a lovely room that looked out over the water to the mountains beyond. We go to Vancouver often and always try to stay at this hotel. The staff is always friendly and accomodating and the restaurant has great food. There is no better way to start the day than waking up with a view like nowhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,185 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,344 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $249 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing