We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Breathtaking View”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is my second time at this hotel. I enjoy the Fairmont Waterfront for the breathtaking view of the harbour and mountains and its floor to ceiling windows. What a beautiful view to have when having breakfast and seeing Vancouver wake up in the morning with the business people taking helicopters to get to work, etc. Both my room and bathroom were larger that usual and very clean. Furniture is up to date and on the modern side. Food within the hotel is excellent. Had great tasting pacific salmon at the hotel's Herons restaurant and a very good steak through in room dining service. I also enjoy the location of the hotel for dining, i.e. walking distance to the chic restaurants in Gastown. To me, this is an ideal hotel when coming to Vancouver.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for, once again, choosing the Fairmont Waterfront as your home away from home in Vancouver. I am glad you appreciated the breathtaking harbor and mountain views and local Vancouver scenery from your guest room and the hotel. We are especially proud of our celebrated location and it was great to hear that you were able to enjoy the convenience of its proximity to local trendy neighbourhoods, such as Gastown.

I am pleased that you had the opportunity to experience meals from our in-room dining menu and Herons West Coast Kitchen + Bar. It will be my pleasure to share your kind remarks to our Executive Chef and restaurant team with regards to your Pacific salmon and steak dinners.

During your next stay with us, you may be interested in participating in our curbside check-in. If you are a registered Fairmont President's Club member with a valid credit card on file, we can have your room keys prepared for your arrival and ready at the front entrance.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,186
    696
    152
    55
    35
See reviews for
587
1,173
144
863
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront the night before we went on the Alaskan Cruise. Because of the Hockey playoff game the night before, our rooms were not ready when we first checked in but there is no way that I can ever fault the service that we received. I feel that the staff went over and above their requirements to get us into our rooms and make sure that we were happy. The rooms were bright, large and very, very comfortable. Unfortunately, I am unable to remember the gentleman's name that was at the Desk that helped us but his friendliness and helpfulness was tremendous. He was able to direct us to a perfect causal place to have dinner that was within walking distance as I have had a recent injury to my leg and mobility is an issue at the present time.

Your breakfast in Heron's is phenomenal. My friend is still commenting on the service and quality of food that we received there.

The location to the cruise line terminal made our transition from land to ship very easy and was definitely a starring point of our visit.

I would definitely stay at the Fairmont Waterfront again and have recommended it to others that are coming out to Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mileycate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
It was such a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for selecting The Fairmont Waterfront as your hotel of choice prior to you Alaskan Cruise. I am pleased that we were able to assist in starting your trip off right. I would like to offer my apologies for not having your room ready for your arrival and please know that I will share with the appropriate leaders for future improvements. However, it was great to hear that you were able to enjoy our convenient location and comfortable, bright guest rooms.

I was glad to learn that you had a great breakfast at Herons West Coast Kitchen, and I will take great pleasure in sharing your comments with our Chef and restaurant team. It was great to hear that our staff were friendly, helpful, and provided you with service that exceeded your expectations.

We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for recommending us to others, and if I can ever be of assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Not only didn't the phone in my room not work for two days, the front desk staff (Jane) was very nasty and unprofessional. She cost the hotel one guest (a colleague checked out the next morning and went to another hotel). Jane needs to be seriously retrained or permanently removed from working in the hospitality industry as she has left a horrible impression on the Fairmont and City of Vancouver!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nailah28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and the unfortunate feeling you have about the Fairmont and City of Vancouver. Jane is a valued member of our team and I believe she has done all that she can to deliver consistent quality service to our guests. I do hope you will reconsider Fairmont Hotels & Resorts as a destination in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Location
There is a Sky Train Station right across the hotel. It's just one train ride from the airport. There are lots of bus stops near it as well. You have beautiful view of the water. It is just steps away from Gastown. It's in a safe and commercial are of downtown Vancouver.

Amenities
I had access to the Fairmont Gold. It is located on the 9th floor of the hotel. There is an outdoors space again with beautiful views of the harbour and downtown. The fairmont gold has one computer station but there are no line-ups or anything. The lounge is quite quiet, very neat and comfortable. I didn't have time to check out the pool of gym.

Food
The Fairmont Gold lounge serves breakfast from 6:30 - 10 am on weekdays, hors d'ourves from 5-7pm and snacks like cookies in between. Food is served in buffet style and included in the price you pay for being in the Fairmont Gold section. Alcoholic drinks are self-served and will be charged to your room. The food was really good and satisfying especially the breakfast.

Service
The service is excellent. Employees are helpful, informative, and friendly. They are very helpful in directing guests to tourist spots and restaurant. They'll print out the transit routes for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
I enjoyed reading your review of your recent stay with us on the Gold Floor of The Fairmont Waterfront. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post and leave your feedback. It is so nice to hear that you appreciated the added value of staying on Gold along with our unique hotel location. Additionally, I will enjoy sharing your compliments regarding our staff being helpful, friendly and informative with my entire team here. Upon your next visit to our hotel, you may be interested in taking a tour of our rooftop herb garden or honeybee apiary. We harvest both honey and herbs to use in our restaurant, Herons West Coast Kitchen + Bar.

Once again, we are glad that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Waterfront.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian in london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

great hotel. for conference center or for tourism let down by very slow service at the breakfast restaurant. Choose a water facing room. The Gym is small but good selection of equipment,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad.nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Fairmont Waterfront. I appreciate your feedback, however, I am disappointed to hear that you received slow service in the restaurant. I will certainly share your comments with the appropriate leaders to ensure future incidents do not reoccur. I do offer my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

Overall, I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. If ever I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Great staff. Excellent rooms. Harbor views. Quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcscpstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Fairmont Waterfront is perfectly located. It is close enough to downtown to be within the action and yet not so close that you feel trapped. You have a great view of the water and the hotel itself is gorgeous.

We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool which is up amongst the high rise buildings. very dramatic!

The service was fantastic and the staff are superb. Nothing is too much trouble. We also got a good price through our agent Holidaysplease.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Helper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
I would like to thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us at The Fairmont Waterfront. I am glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop pool and mountainous harbour views. It was great to learn that you found our staff superb and the service you received throughout your stay was fantastic. I will certainly share your comments with our team here. During your next visit to Vancouver, you may be interested in taking a tour of our organic herb garden and resident apiary, or perhaps even trying out our Sunrise Yoga classes.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Fairmont Waterfront in the near future. If ever I can be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ian.pullan@fairmont.com or 604-691-1892.

Sincerely,

Ian Pullan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing