We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best we have been to , ever!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at The Victorian for two weeks at the end of March 2014.
We came all the way from Israel and so happy that we did!
It was recommended to us by a friend who used to live in Vancouver and it was really one of the best Hotels we have ever stayed in!!
We travel a lot and this was really perfect!
First of all - the staff- amazing!!!
The Manager and the entire staff - each and every one of them -
So nice, professional and willing to help in any matter.
They made our stay so very enjoyable.
We stayed in a bigger room for the first three nights - it was brilliant.
But even we moved to the smallest room at the hotel - really tiny but still full of charm and most comfortable - for economical reasons- it was perfect!
We liked every moment at this hotel and highly recommend it.
Thank you so much - The Victorian Staff!

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms with your own private toilet and shower. Still - even the smallest room with...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 600909_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Now that's a whale of a compliment that you traveled all the way from Israel just to stay with us. Maybe you also wanted to see a little of our cool city and a bit of "Super Natural" British Columbia. But hey, we'll take it! We couldn't happier to hear your comments, maybe you have started a new pilgrimage to visit this jewel we call Vancouver. דאנק איר זייער פיל and please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Victorian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 795 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was a bit reluctant to write a review as I don't want people to know how truly fantastic this hidden gem is, at the risk of not having availability next time I'm in Vancouver on business. Not only is the hotel a superbly kept heritage building it's updated with great bathrooms, king size (in some rooms) comfy beds and great linens. I can't express enough how great my stay was. I was initially supposed to be staying for a week but it turned into three. The staff were the most accommodating and moved me from room to room with no issues to handle the changes. They also serve a great little continental breakfast every morning with yogurt, fruit and the most delicious French croissants, I'm sure I've gained a few pounds. The hotel guests seem to be mostly from Europe as well as some group conferences. I wondered why this hotel was only rated two star and apparently it's because they have some shared bathrooms (very lovely bathrooms though!) and no restaurant but now they have a higher end restaurant joined to the hotel. If you are looking for a super central, lovely hotel with class this is the place to stay! One thing which could be an issue if you aren't on the ground floor there is no elevator.

Room Tip: Lots of different types of rooms depending on your preference but I have to say the king suites are...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Holy smoke! For someone reluctant to write a review, you sure opened the flood gates. I have to imagine it had something to do with the fact that you stayed in virtually every different room type we had during your prolonged stay with us. You are now an official Victorian Hotel Expert.
I must say it was such a pleasure having you with us. I think we all feel a little empty-hearted now that you're gone. I'm sure you'll be back soon once the Big Apple effect wears off. Good luck with the film project and we really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

A conference put me at the Victorian Hotel. It was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay.

I greatly appreciate the staff's service. I needed to ship a package, and the hotel was happy to be the pickup point even after I checked out. They also carried my heavy suitcase when I was tired (because the hotel has stairs, not an elevator).

The breakfast included properly crispy croissants, homemade granola and fruit salad. (I wish there had been non-dairy milk, and some variety from day to day.)

Room Tip: Lower floors are preferable (fewer stairs to climb). The low-priced rooms with shared bathroom are...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Many thanks Alana B. It was an absolute pleasure to be around you and all your conference delegates for a week.. What an amazing, diverse group of people. Intelligent, creative and funny . Please think of us when you plan your next big forum, we can't wait.
Hope your exhibit made it back safe and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel/B&B for 4 nights and our room was delightful. It was spacious, the king bed, linens and most of all the pillows were wonderful! Its a small boutique hotel that offers continental breakfast in the morning which was a typical continental offering. We partook only one of the mornings. The hotel is close to Hastings street and Gas Town and it's only a little further of a walk to Chinatown or down to Canada Place..

We had a corner room that had lots of windows and light. The bathroom was large and the tub was incredibly deep. Great for bubble baths! Its a wonderful mix of vintage and modern decor. The gal at the front desk with the fabulous accent was so nice when we checked in and out. And Brian, the hotel manager was amazing and very helpful as well which was nice when we had our fender bender coming out of their parking lot.

The only drawback to their parking lot is that its small and behind the hotel so you enter and exit via the alley. The lot is rather small which can prove to be a tetris game getting in and out plus across the alley there was a moving company with trucks blocking the alley almost everyday. It was one of these trucks that hit our car when we were trying to manuever out of the lot. As I said, Brian the hotel manager was very helpful since we didn't have phone service in Canada and made sure we got everything squared away to file a report. That was the only bad part about our stay with this hotel. We took advantage of the special deal they had online so we got an amazing deal for 4 nights. One last thing is that there is no elevator so you will need to carry bags up and down stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfabbrolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Bubble Bath and a little demolition derby. You really know how to touch the bases. But seriously, when that huge moving van backed into your tiny car leaving the hotel you could have easily broken down. On the contrary, you handled it beautifully and showed a real strength. Must be from Michigan. I'm so glad it didn't dampen your spirits and it was a pleasure having both of you with us. We look forward to your next visit. Stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

As my daughter was getting married in Vancouver we needed quite a few rooms for the out of town guests, 75% of the guests stayed at the Victorian as well as the bride and groom. From the first meeting to checkout we were treated so well! Thank you for making the wedding even more fun.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the main road, can be noisy at night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephenavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Stephenavenue, it was a pleasure for all of us to contribute a little more fun to your family wedding. You have a wonderful flock. Congrats to you and Samantha et al and we sure look forward to seeing more of you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We only got to stay here for one night and wish it were for more. It was a "romantic" weekend celebration for our birthday and we were looking for a place that was special, well located, clean, but not horribly expensive. The Victorian Hotel filled all those requirements. Our room was lovely, modern with antique (isn?) furniture with a great, comfortable bed, plush towels and a really great shower. My husband also commented on how he liked the shower head and the faucet designs. The clerk who checked us in was pleasant and helpful, pointing out local attractions and restaurants. We will hopefully be back. Also, there have been several mentions of poor WiFi service, but ours was great. Since my "smart phone" wouldn't work in Canada, the WiFi was very helpful. Thanks for the recommendation.

Room Tip: Get a private bathroom
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Well thank you so very much Nancy D, your review validates everything we strive for and we really appreciate your comments.
Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous spot in downtown Vancouver. I can't believe how lovely it was and at such an affordable price. I arrived needing assistance after a skiing injury and Cecile and Brian(?) at the front desk were amazing. They really went out of their way and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and location is great. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

A skiing accident on the first day of your vacation-quelle bummer! But you displayed nothing but positive energy. "Who needs crutches?" Now that's Kiwi spirit! We so look forward to seeing you back and thank you for your kind words, heal well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
413 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,741 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $85 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing