We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only blocks from the Gastown steam clock”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only blocks from the Gastown steam clock”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Gorgeous hotel with an excellent location for dining and visiting the Gastown steam clock. The rooms are very large and WiFi is free. Each morning a limited breakfast included croissants, toast, granola, yogurt, fruit, and coffee. Parking was a bit of an issue for us the first night. We arrived on a Saturday around 5pm and all the parking was taken ($20 a day). We found a parking lot ($12 a day) just a couple blocks away. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
From all of us to both of you, many thanks Andrew P. You have a wonderful approach to things and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    293
    109
    42
    23
See reviews for
100
355
67
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent an entire week at the Victorian and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is located near Gastown, and only a few minutes' walk from Canada Place, Waterfront Station, the Vancouver Art Gallery, restaurants, pubs, the Visitor Centre, etc. The hotel itself was built during Klondike gold rush years of the late 1890s, but has been completely refurbished into a quietly comfortable "boutique" hotel, with several amenities: luxurious bath robe, personal coffee maker, WiFi, public access computers...

Although I was on a self-imposed "budget plan," the shared bath was always clean and stocked with plenty of fluffy towels. My room was smallish, but quiet and perfectly suited for my needs -- and the bed was over-sized and VERY comfortable. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety of good quality food, not to mention good coffee (often a rarity at a continental breakfast!).

As to the staff, what more can be said than "Outstanding"? Brian and Andrew were especially helpful with everything from tourism suggestions, to directions to the nearest convenience store -- and much in between. It's obvious that they are proud of their city and all it has to offer, and their enthusiasm and helpfulness were much appreciated.

Last, but certainly not least, was the amazingly wonderful Cecile, who (1) found my camera, (2) tracked me down at work 3000 miles away, and (3) mailed it back to me that very same afternoon! A million thanks, Cecile!!

So, if you're looking for a glitzy 200-room highrise hotel with a workout room, glassed-in exterior elevators, a swimming pool, and a stuffy concierge, don't stay at the Victorian. But if you want a comfy little "home away from home," staffed by friendly and helpful personnel, by all means make The Victorian your destination!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin-in-Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Martin-in-Vermont your review is just wonderful and it speaks volumes about your kind spirit. Thank you so very much. We can't wait to have you back.
P.S. Cecile just asked for a raise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

While booking Victorian hotel, I have some expectations, but during my stay they exceeded my expectation. The interior of hotel is inspired by Victorian style. All the rooms have wooden flooring and classy furniture. The lobby of hotel features perfect Victorian inspired look. Each and every corner of the hotel is perfectly blended with vintage look.
Rooms are clean with comfortable beds and crispy white linen. Spacious bathroom equipped all the basic necessities, like soap, shampoo, towels and other. Their staff changes towel twice a day. Situated at an excellent location just a few minutes’ walk from restaurants, bars and famous sightseeing. They arrange breakfast for us, which just bonus for us. Nice, attractive and delicious pastries and lots of coffee and toast. The plus point of this hotel is that the staff is prompt, helpful, and friendly and has professional approach towards their work.
Basically clean hygienic and budget hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Andrey V., We're thrilled to have exceeded your expectations and I wish to thank you so very much for your kind words about our crew. I must say that your appreciation for everything "Victorian" warms our hearts. However, it should be noted that we replaced all the phonographs with flat screen TV's. Many thanks again and please hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California, USA
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had never visited Vancouver BC before and decided to take myself there for my birthday. A friend of mine advised me that I should look for a room near Gas Town so I went on trip advisor and started to search. I found the room at this hotel from the reviews on Trip Advisor and thought I would give it a shot. The staff is very friendly and helpful and from the moment you arrive they are kind and willing to help you in any way. I booked a Delux King Room and I was VERY PLEASED with how large and well appointed it was for a hotel of this age. High ceilings, very comfy bed, old world furnishings, and the bathroom was beautiful with a HUGE deep soaking tub. The room was also outfitted with a huge flat screen TV and lots of seating as well.

The hall ways in this hotel are a little rustic but very charming lined with old fashioned furnishings, and there is no elevator so if you have special needs request a ground floor room. The breakfast offered is basic items like toast, fruit, milk, cereal, etc. Its not fancy but if you want a fancy breakfast go out pay for one! I hate when people are offered free food and then complian about it! Actually what they offer is very healthy and what people should be eating anyway.

For the quality of the service and the quality of the rooms this hotel is a great value. Also, you are a three minute walk from the main area in Gas Town, and a 10 minutes brisk walk from the trendy Yale Town area. So this is a great location. If you arrive at night it looks very quiet and bleak, but at daybreak it comes to life and is a good safe area. Another good thing is that they have a gated and secure parking lot. The parking daily charges are minimal and if you rent a car or drive your own car there is no street parking so the parking lot is a great and secure feature. Its a short drive from Stanley Park, Capilano Bridge, and Grouse Mountain so you are in the heart of all of the fun. I would stay here again without question and I feel The Victorian really is a great deal for what they offer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the hotel off of Homer street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rodvilencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
My oh my Mr. Vilencia, you should moonlight as a travel writer. Thank you so very much for your detailed review. It sounds like you got the best out of your first trip to Vancity, so don't be a stranger. We really look forward to having you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Room is really beautiful with its Victorian details. Bathroom is very nice and clean but could probably do with a shelf at the sink. Has coffee maker but no complementary bottled water. Can get a little noisy from the public bus that operates until quite late into the night. People walking by can also be rowdy (not sure if it's due to close proximity to DTES). Also no safe to store valuables but it seems to be a norm elsewhere. Breakfast is simple to get you started. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylermus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review Tylermus, With respect to your comments about bottled water, I am a huge fan of our water system in Vancouver and believe we have the best H2O on the planet, so I resist putting bottled water in the rooms. Our tap water is so good I want everyone to try it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked this hostel for two nights when we arrived in BC. We would liked a good hostel and it was. Nice clean and gentl staff.
It's not very located but after 5 minutes walk we are in mains streets of downtown so it's not a big dill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgouret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for the review Pgouret, were sure glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is our first stay at the Victorian Hotel, but it won't be the last. We booked the Deluxe King and were so pleased with the elegant old-world style of the room. High ceilings, bay windows, with window seats, comfy bed and antique furnishings. The bathroom had a lovely deep tub. The location is terrific - close to rail/sea bus station, Chinatown, great downtown shopping, Canada Place/ Convention Centre. Our stay was topped off by the wonderful Continental breakfast - colourful, fresh fruit salad, Greek-style yoghurt, cereals, the very best croissants I've tasted... and really good coffee. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Don't miss out on this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you so very much Maureen 408. It's a thrill for all of us to receive such a ringing endorsement. We're swept away, please hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing