We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel at a reasonable cost”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is a steep climb from the Station. Aged people and travellers with heavy luggage need fitness or have to hire a cab for the short 15 min walking distance from the station to the hotel. You also need to carry your luggage up or down a steep flight of stairs should you get a 2nd story room. The reception is a happy place and everybody who mans the place throughout the day are always eager to help you should you face any problems (which I haven't faced any during my 5 days stay at Vancouver. It is located centrally in the city and most of the sightseeing places are within walking distance.
The bathrooms may not be attached with your rooms but they are a treat to go to. They are really royal rooms and you start to feel like a king when you are in them, they are so lavishly decorated that they can put the 5-stars to shame, and the nos are adequate for the floor. Breakfast is simple but sufficient.
The rooms are adequate if not big and the bed is comfortable too. Coffee and tea is provided but the best part is that the coffee maker in the breakfast room is on throughout the day and after a tiring day of sightseeing, the free coffee is welcome.
Overall, I would again like to stay here if I visit Vancouver, in future.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side for a good view from the bay windows while you are having a cuppa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Many thanks for your review Doctor B. I must say, I'm not sure if our Deluxe rooms put 5 Star suites to shame but we're certainly very proud of them. I should also point out that guests arriving by Sky Train from the airport, can get off at the Granville station and the walk is only 3 blocks (from the Dunsmuir exit) and more or less down hill. My kind of stroll. Many thanks again sir, and please look us up on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 824 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights prior to departing on a cruise and then again for 1 night on our return. On both occasions staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable with a king-size bed and an ensuite bathroom. The hotel is beautifully restored and furnished with period style furniture and located close to shopping and dining districts and the cruise terminal. Our only complaint was that there are no elevators and it was difficult to manoeuvre 2 large suitcases up the 2 flights of stairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Well thank you so very much for your kind words and recommendation Julie L. I regret you had to struggle with your luggage. We try to help with bags every chance we get but obviously we missed your work-out and for that I'm sorry. But It sounds like you had a great stay in Vancouver and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent two nights here. We had a hockey game to see one night and a concert the next. This hotel is in a great location to walk to venues, restaurants and shopping. We booked a deluxe room. The price was great. The room was a corner suite, large and clean. We had our own bathroom. The bed was king size and super comfortable. Nice linens and king size increadibly comfortable pillows. Best hotel bed I've had. Housekeeping was great.
I loved the charm the building had. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I will be back.

Room Tip: This hotel has both shared and private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I sure envy the both of you. You pulled off the "Ultimate Get-Away Hat-Trick"
A Road Trip, a Concert and a Hockey Game. Oh, and a great sleep. Nice!
Thank you Andrea W and we all look forward to seeing you again next time. Maybe live theater and a football game? It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This lovely Victorian inspired hotel exceeded my expectations! Great beds with crisp white sheets and duvet....deluxe! I slept in comfort. Bathrooms spotless, with bathmats and towels that were changed out twice per day. The shampoo was natural and contained lovely smelling essential oils.
I enjoyed the organic feel, victorian decor and quaintness of the hotel.
Breakfast was visually appealing, and yummy. Great start to the day!
Handy to shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and major transportation. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.
I highly recommend this gem. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Our thanks to you S.L. for such an inspired review. It is such a treat to hear from someone who so genuinely embraces the Victorian Hotel concept. We can't wait to have you back again and try one of our deluxe rooms next time. Until then, many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month and found this hotel to be just the ticket.

A 5 minute walk from the Waterfront Skytrain station, which on on the direct line from the airport. Nice bars, shops and cafes nearby, and close the Canada Place if you're heading off on a cruise, or just like to gawk at the liners.

Our room has shared facilities which suited us fine, the bathrooms were clean (and always availble) and the bedrooms too were spotless and very comfortable. Quality linen and beautiful polished wood floors.

The complimentary breakfast was a bonus too, enougn tea, coffee, toast, cereals and pastries to set you up for the day. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much Stumblebee, ( I love your handle).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night while waiting to board a cruise. I'd read some of the TA reviews beforehand, but decided that one night would be okay. It was MORE than okay. The location was perfect for us. The reservation process was simple, and I like that the hotel confirms your stay right away via email. The room (king suite with private bath) was lovely, with hardwood floors and clean linens. The room and bathroom were updated but still had an old-fashioned and European B&B vibe to it: marble and wood. The tub was a little tall to climb out of for a small person. The front desk was courteous and informative. The breakfast was continental plus: fruit, cereal, toast, rolls, yogurt and coffee. In the front of the hotel, there are steep stairs that some might find challenging. If you have stayed in B&Bs, you would love this little find.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so very much for your charming review Lady Bellvue. We're glad to have exceeded your expectations and love it when a guest appreciates our hotel's certain unique style.
Hope to see you on your next trip to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is in walking distance to the Gasworks neighborhood and very convenient to public transportation which we used the whole trip. The manager (Bryan) was helpful and even drove a few of us to the airport so we wouldn't have to get two taxis-wow! PS Their free breakfast was quite healthy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dearest Becky, your whole group were just wonderful and it was a pleasure to help get you to the train station, given the bedlam with the cabs that day. Remember, threes a charm, so we're really looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
886 reviews
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $78 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing