We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Few Days in Vancouver @ the Victorian Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #38 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
DC Metro
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Few Days in Vancouver @ the Victorian Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first stay at the Victorian Hotel. We booked a large room with King size bed and bathroom along with a request for roll away for our teenage son. The rooms were very clean w/free WiFi. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area activities and directions. The morning breakfast was a nice addition as well so that we were able to grab a quick bite without having to worry about finding something to eat out or purchasing and keeping in the room . Get to breakfast early, as the dining area fills quickly and there are only about 8 tables. We would stay here again if in town.

Room Tip: Our room was right on the lobby floor on the street... was initially concerned as it was very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AutoCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for the recommendation Autocad. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and impressed that you got your teenager up for breakfast!
We hope to see you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    280
    107
    39
    22
See reviews for
99
333
65
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

While this hotel is cute and re-done it does not make up for the awful customer service we experienced during our stay. The general manager was rude and condescending in regards to a simple misunderstanding and did not care at all about our experience staying at this hotel. I would never recommend this place to anyone, your money is better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hil1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am genuinely sorry that you are so upset about the $15.00 extra extra person charges you incurred. We post our room rates based on two adults sharing. You had 8 people in 2 rooms. Please forgive me if you felt I was anything less than polite in explaining our policy. That was certainly not my intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A nice hotel, a renovated Victorian house in a central location. We booked a room with a shared bathroom. There were several bathrooms on each floor and all were spotless.The rooms were a good size, comfortable and clean. A bit creaky but that's to be expected with an old building! The hotel itself is within walking distance to all of downtown, transport and neighbourhoods, a great start to explore from and it is just off the busy streets so is quite quiet for a downtown hotel! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, a continental breakfast comes part of the room rate (a rarity in Canada) with a good choice of cereals/breads/fruit. Would definately stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than rooms facing the street but get less sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakeycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words Bakeycake. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sweet little hotel near the Gaslight District. Updated rooms, very nicely furnished. Free use of computers on second floor. Front desk friendly and knowledgeable, let us know of a bargain with the Hop On, Hop Off bus tours - $40 per day per person but for two days, $38 per person (total!) available at the hotel. We stayed two nights prior to boarding a cruise ship. Nice, simple breakfast available - yoghurt, granola, chocolate croissants, etc. Minor drawback - no elevator so you need to drag your luggage up the front stairs to the lobby, not a problem if you can handle it. Did not want to stay in a chain hotel and after internet search, found this little hotel and glad we did. Enjoyed the eclectic clientele. No a/c in room but fans available for use; we opened the windows at night to enjoy the breeze and were not troubled by street noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Howdy Betty C, you've got a heart the size of Texas! Thank you so much for your review, it just brims with positive energy and makes one smile to read it. You sure sound like you had a great time.
I love your comment about the eclectic clientele. True so true...and you all (y' all) contribute to the friendly, social atmosphere, that is, the Victorian Hotel. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at this hotel. We were not sure what to expect, as the hotel is located right on the corner of Homer & Pender. Went with an open mind; we were pleasantly surprised. The area is experiencing a resurgence. The location turned out to be perfect. If you are going on a cruise, you could walk to the cruise terminal. Also worth noting, the skytrain, Canada line, seabus, gastown, pacific shopping centre, restaurants etc., are all within walking distance. We purchased a transit day pass as we wanted to explore. It only cost $9.75. This pass could be used on all local transit - Canada Line & Seabus as well. Locale is not the only thing going for this hotel. The rooms are large, & have been completely redone. They have definitely gone upscale on the bedding & amenities. A continental breakfast is also included. Check out is at ll a.m., but the hotel allowed us to store our luggage so that we could go exploring. Finally, I would like to give a thank you to the employees at the Victorian Hotel. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. I made this booking directly with the hotel. Veronica, the front desk clerk was very patient with me, as I was trying to get a good idea of where the hotel was situated. On arrival, I asked to see one of the rooms before we checked in. This was not a problem. By the time we finished viewing the room, our room was ready. Check in was a breeze. We were also able to see one of the corner rooms (room #103). I would love to book that room. Lots of space & light. I have to mention the bathroom. Some hotel save space by putting in a small tub. Not this one. Tub is a nice size & deep. You can have a wonderful soak at the end of your day. Thank you again to the Victorian Hotel staff. Look forward to booking with you again. Keep smiling; it was wonderful to see that as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large & sunny & have a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Harmony, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff and property, I'll most surely pass them on. Your details about the transit passes will be very helpful for future guests, and as for the smiles, they come easy in the company of wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights. Good hotel - older rooms but a good size, clean and well located (short walk to Gastown, Downtown etc and bus stop 2 blocks away). Great they did laundry for $10 bag! And free computers which was a bonus. Had forgotten there were no lifts (not a problem, just a surprise) and it was really hot - we sweltered at night in our room (with the windows open and the fan going on high). Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments Mishfish5, We're certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and benefited from some of our services, not withstanding the heat-wave. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and had booked a superior room with king size bed and a private bathroom.
We really liked the room as it was tastefully decorated and clean. The hotel is centrally located (10 minutes walking to Gastown, 15 minutes walking to Yaletown).
Our room looked out to one of the two surrounding streets. You could not sleep with the windows open because of the street noise, but with the window closed for me it was no problem. The hotel provides a fenced parking space for 25 USD per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolgerDerCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Ich danke lhnen sehr reisen cowboy! Hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing