We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay.”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at this hotel. We were not sure what to expect, as the hotel is located right on the corner of Homer & Pender. Went with an open mind; we were pleasantly surprised. The area is experiencing a resurgence. The location turned out to be perfect. If you are going on a cruise, you could walk to the cruise terminal. Also worth noting, the skytrain, Canada line, seabus, gastown, pacific shopping centre, restaurants etc., are all within walking distance. We purchased a transit day pass as we wanted to explore. It only cost $9.75. This pass could be used on all local transit - Canada Line & Seabus as well. Locale is not the only thing going for this hotel. The rooms are large, & have been completely redone. They have definitely gone upscale on the bedding & amenities. A continental breakfast is also included. Check out is at ll a.m., but the hotel allowed us to store our luggage so that we could go exploring. Finally, I would like to give a thank you to the employees at the Victorian Hotel. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. I made this booking directly with the hotel. Veronica, the front desk clerk was very patient with me, as I was trying to get a good idea of where the hotel was situated. On arrival, I asked to see one of the rooms before we checked in. This was not a problem. By the time we finished viewing the room, our room was ready. Check in was a breeze. We were also able to see one of the corner rooms (room #103). I would love to book that room. Lots of space & light. I have to mention the bathroom. Some hotel save space by putting in a small tub. Not this one. Tub is a nice size & deep. You can have a wonderful soak at the end of your day. Thank you again to the Victorian Hotel staff. Look forward to booking with you again. Keep smiling; it was wonderful to see that as well.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large & sunny & have a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Harmony, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff and property, I'll most surely pass them on. Your details about the transit passes will be very helpful for future guests, and as for the smiles, they come easy in the company of wonderful guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 809 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights. Good hotel - older rooms but a good size, clean and well located (short walk to Gastown, Downtown etc and bus stop 2 blocks away). Great they did laundry for $10 bag! And free computers which was a bonus. Had forgotten there were no lifts (not a problem, just a surprise) and it was really hot - we sweltered at night in our room (with the windows open and the fan going on high). Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mishfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments Mishfish5, We're certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and benefited from some of our services, not withstanding the heat-wave. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and had booked a superior room with king size bed and a private bathroom.
We really liked the room as it was tastefully decorated and clean. The hotel is centrally located (10 minutes walking to Gastown, 15 minutes walking to Yaletown).
Our room looked out to one of the two surrounding streets. You could not sleep with the windows open because of the street noise, but with the window closed for me it was no problem. The hotel provides a fenced parking space for 25 USD per night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolgerDerCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Ich danke lhnen sehr reisen cowboy! Hope to see you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Charming historical building which provided great location to walk to Gastown, Canada Place, and China Town. (If u have a lot of luggage, take a taxi). Very comfortable beds and bedding. Nice big room with king size bed or 2 double beds and private bath shower with marble tiling. Great water pressure and plenty hot water. Lovely smelling lotion, shampoos, and conditioner. Note not all rooms have private bathrooms. Loved all the wood floors. Adequate continental breakfast. Nothing special. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wifi worked great. More reasonable than Marriott yet bedding was as nice and Marriott doesn't have the charm. What might be missing is location although great is a bit shoddy, loudness and coolness factors as must leave windows open as no a/c, privacy on ground floor due to above note, and few building construction details that have not been finished or overlooked like exposed insulation in hallway. Would definitely stay there again as the positives far outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerryru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Many thanks for your comments Kerryru. We always encourage guests to explore the neighbourhood as there's so much to see within minutes of the hotel. The historic Gastown, and Chinatown districts. Yaletown's distinctive urban cache and the bustle of Vancouver's financial sector are just easy strolls away. But of course you know all that as it sounds like you did the entire circuit. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Don't believe the picture which is misleading. The hotel has a drab, inconspicuous frontage onto the grimy end of Homer Street. In my view many of the tripadvisor reviews we consulted before booking were over generous.

With downtown daytime temperatures in the high 20s this is not the place to stay. No airconditioning made sleeping very difficult. The windows opened but with a first floor room overlooking West Pender Street the noise levels were unbearable (averaging over 90dB, regularly peaking at 135 dB). With the windows closed the noise was bearable but the room was stuffy and hot.

The room itself was perfectly acceptable, it was clean and roomy, the bed was comfortable with easy chairs and work desk. The bathroom was adequate with a three quarters length bath but the room itself was small and could only accommodate one of us at a time.

The breakfast was awful and the worst I have experienced anywhere in over forty years of travelling. The breakfast room was cramped, the staff virtually non existant and when they did appear were totally impersonal. Used tables were belatedly cleared with the previous occupants' crumbs nonchalantly brushed onto the floor. Food was in short supply, very limited in choice and in large part inedible. The only redeeming feature was the coffee.

As a result we decided not to allow one poor hotel to spoil a brilliant stay in Canada and checked out two days early to try our luck at the Fairmont Waterfront (2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award) whose last minute rates were not that much more expensive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street (if available).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Vine, thank you for detailing your impressions of our property. With respect to the frontage, we have almost completed our street level lobby entrance and a the owners of a prestigious, award winning Vancouver restaurant, will be opening this Spring, putting the finishing touches on our new look and filling the existing exterior voids.
On the topic of awards, not unlike the Fairmont, the Victorian Hotel also won a 2013 Certificate of Excellence Award from Trip Advisor. Obviously, value is a consideration and as we are regularly priced at half the rates of the Fairmont, cost factors into the comparison, along with charm and historical ambiance. Lastly, I see that you are a seasoned traveler, and when you comment that a simple healthy start, continental breakfast with fresh fruit, locally made granola, yogurt and pastries represent the worst breakfast you have ever had in 40 years, I can only believe the absence of air conditioning and the downtown noise led to a most miserable
night's sleep. And for that sir, I sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We tried this hotel as an overnight stop both before and after a cruise and found it ideal on both occasions. We arrived very early on the second visit but were able to leave our bags and go off to explore. The hotel is conveniently situated - an easy walk to Canada Place which is interesting in itself with lots going on with cruise ships and seaplanes coming in and out. From there you can get the hop-on tour bus or take the ferry to Granville Island which reminded me of Pier 39 in San Francisco. A similar walk in the other direction takes you to Gastown with the steam clock and the wonderful Spaghetti Factory restaurant- great food, great value.
A good continental breakfast with cereals, toast and a selection of pastries is provided to set you up for the day! We had a room on the first floor both times so the stairs weren't an issue and both rooms were very clean and comfortable with the added bonus of free wifi. We did found the steps at the entrance a bit awkward with heavy suitcases but as we were leaving the manager helped us down the steps and told us that work has already commenced on a new ground level entrance with plans also for an elevator to the other floors. We will certainly return as we use Vancouver as a stop-over on the way to visit family and this is so convenient.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are probably better for now if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stillvisible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Stillvisible, it was a pleasure having you both with us and we look forward to seeing you again, on your return. Oh and thank you for the historical insights on the Channel Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We actually had a shared bath....there were 3 within 20 feet of our room! Clean and neat. Very charming and nice to walk to many sights. No a/c but it was not uncomfortable while there(mid August)
Breakfast very adequate. We were flying and had to get a taxi-$30+ so if you could find another way could save some money. Free wifi too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanthemanNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your review DanthemanNC. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay. I should point out that there is a Sky Train station just 3 blocks from our hotel. These new rapid transit trains go directly to the airport for about $6.00 per person. They are a great alternative to the cabs if you have less than persons in your party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,622 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $84 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing