We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European-style hotel is Fabulous!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“European-style hotel is Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Victorian when we were in Vancouver to see the Paul McCartney concert. The concert was spectacular and we loved this hotel.
The location was great, close to Gastown with all its great restaurants and cool shops, close to Robson for more up scale shopping, within easy walking distance of B.C. Place for the concert. The hotel has old world charm, with original fir floors, high ceilings and quirky antique furniture in the common areas. It is a old building,and it shows some signs of a long life, but this gives it so much of its charm. If you want the boring conformity of new builds, stay in the suburbs. The service was friendly and efficient. Our room was comfortable and charming, and very clean, with a great modern bathroom. Continental breakfast is included and is plentiful and tasty. And this place is so affordable. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: If you don't feel it is essential to have an en suite bathroom, opt for a shared bathroom and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Christine S, thanks so much for your comments. It is wonderful to hear from someone who got so much out of their stay. So many people are absolutely raving about Gastown. It's an area of the city that just continues to get better and better.
Again, many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    293
    109
    42
    23
See reviews for
100
355
67
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My daughter and I had a one night shopping trip to town. This hotel was ideal and we were upgraded to a room with a bathroom at no charge. I didnt need to use the parking lot but I saw it was gated and safe! Great inexpensive hotel for a few nights. Lots of charm and very clean! Thanks Victorian!

Room Tip: 105 was on the main floor with the bathroom and 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacatime50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Vacatime50, it does our hearts good to hear such positive comments. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with my sister and her husband as they were to fly out of Vancouver for their honeymoon. The hotel is a really cool old building that they've done a great job restoring and expanding.

We shared a double room and there was plenty of space, the beds were really comfortable and the bathroom was really big and nice. The hotel is located just a few blocks from tons of great cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. This was a great location to stay in to easily walk around Vancouver and take in the city by foot.

The one draw back from when we were there was that they have a tiny 6-8 space parking lot in the back. It was very tight and if we were driving a large SUV or town car, it would not have fit. Still, this was a great hotel and anytime we come back to Vancouver we'll be staying at the Victoria.

Room Tip: Although we didn't have any problems with street noise, I could see that being an issue for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your submission Charlie S. Nothing makes us happier than a couple that have had a positive and memorable stay. Oh wait, TWO couples having a great stay would do that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This building built in 1898 has retained much of its victorian charm with updates blending old and new. Very close to many downtown sites, restaurants and shops, very charming, very helpful staff, loved the simple but very good breakfast. The hotel has some renovation which does not impair the experience. The carpeted halls leave exposed original wood floors, the furniture in the rooms and throughout are elegant French Provincial and very subtle blends of contemporary such as the head board of the bed hardwood, simple design seamless. Bathrooms are contemporary and yet it works. Very good carpet, very clean absolute attention to detail. Memorable stay, I look forward to return. Jerry Hesch, Hesch Institute Back pain solutions.

Room Tip: I was in 211, they told me it was an upgrade due to construction, very quiet. No elevator, about 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Jerry H. thank you very much for submitting your comments. It is always refreshing to hear from someone that truly appreciates our hotel design concept and articulates it as well as you do.
Again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I and teenage daughter stayed here in August. This hotel is made from 2 refurbished buildings in downtown Vancouver. The location is central, but downtown Vancouver is not so nice. From here, it was a short walk or car ride to any location we wanted. The hotel is very "romantic" in that the renovations show a lot of nice hardwood and high ceilings. The suite we had was large: 2 double beds plus a sitting area with a couch and a good new clean bathroom. There is no air conditioning and we were there on some of the hottest nights of the year. We kept the windows open but there is traffic noise. The fans help. I was thinking that this would be a great cozy hotel for a winter vacation. The breakfast is included and is okay but the breakfast room is way too small, now that the hotel has perhaps doubled in size.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JA_Kennedy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Despite reading some very positive reviews of the Victorian here on TA and booking our stay on the basis of them, I have to admit that we didn't expect too much when we walked into the rather old fashioned (some may sat 'quaint') reception and checked in with the slighty brusque (though not rude) east European lady on reception. However, we were delighted to find that our room went way beyond those initial expectations. It was spacious, with a lovely en-suite marble-finished bedroom and an extremely comfortable queen-sized bed - I can't comment on what the older bedrooms may be like but if you're lucky enough to be staying in one of the rooms in the newer annex, you'll have no room for complaint. The other major plus for us was with the breakfast - definitely amongst the best we had on our fortnight's travelling through the Pacific north-west. Fresh strawberries, yoghurt, granola and huge freshly-baked muffins made for a delightful start to the day. The location of the hotel on the edge of Gastown was also ideal, with many points of interest within walking distance; and by booking early we secured a very competitive room rate, making this hard to beat in terms of value-for-money in what is a relatively expensive city. Excellent overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyTheGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Jimmy the Gent,
Thank you so much for your kind words, you are truly a Gent and we are delighted you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 10 nights at the Victorian, late September/early October, and had a great time. Staff are friendly and were always keen to help with any information we needed. Highly recommend the beds at the hotel whichever room you have. Half the hotel rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard and the others are due to be done very soon. The location is great - so near to everything - buses, ferries, sky train etc. We walked from the station to the hotel. Walking distance to Gastown - the historic district where there are plenty of eating places - we liked the atmosphere at the Old Spagetti Factory which also had an original tram at the centre of the restaurant. If you like cycling, the hotel has a few bikes you can hire and Vancouver is so cycle friendly. Best ride is all around the bay to Stanley Park and beyond. We had two full days on the bikes as there was so much to see and we enjoyed it so much. Look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a little traffic noise. If you want a touch of class, ask about a refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 694SuzieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Suzie O, it was such a pleasure to have you and your husband with us. Your unbridled enthusiasm towards seeing the city and your genuine appreciation and positive attitude was infectious. I know I felt a little envious of the great time you both were having. Many thanks, and we hope to see both of you again.
PS your pictures were great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing