We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed in a standard double room, which was a great price and we never had any problems when needing the use the shared bathroom, there is a sink in the bedroom too to alleviate any extra demands. The bed was wonderful and we slept brilliantly, despite being somewhat noisy outside our bedroom, and even our small bedroom was equipped with an iron and ironing board, kettle, ipod dock and TV, we were very impressed. Everything was very clean and well maintained, and the breakfast catered well enough for our tastes- coffee and tea available all day as well.

The location is fantastic too, you really can't beat it for what's involved, it's a 5 minute walk to Gastown with some great restaurants and gift shops, 15 minutes to the waterfront and main shopping area and only a 10 minute walk to the Rogers Arena- great to watch the Vancouver Canucks in action!

However, we were staying before Christmas and weren't told of the closing time of the hotel when we made our booking or checked in. All previous reviews said how hospitable the staff were in being able to store luggage for later departures. Whilst we totally understand that they wish to close early on Christmas Eve, we'd have appreciated being told when either booking or checking in, and perhaps in a more polite way than occurred on the day. Other than that we loved our stay!

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, the standard rooms are a great value and the shared bathrooms are kept ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    306
    111
    43
    23
See reviews for
104
369
69
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our experience in this unique, historical building that included great interactions with the accommodating staff. Our room was spacious and meticulously clean with a beautifully appointed bathroom, wonderful down pillows and comfortable beds. We preferred the thermostat turned much lower than where we found it, but the room cooled off overnight. Their continental breakfast was very yummy, too. All round a great find!

Room Tip: Loved the corner room with all its windows and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed at the Victorian Hotel for a special birthday with my boyfriend. It is in a great location for a night out. We were able to walk to walk downtown for dinner and walk through historic Gastown. Lots of great coffee shops closeby the next day. I also really loved the luxurious down bedding and the modern touches in the room. It felt like great care was taken in the decor and in the comfort of the room with the nice white towels and lots of big pillows. I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Corner room with big windows was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

High ceilings, large corridors, windows, very Victorian. Rooms renovated, facade not yet. Clean , practical hotel to stay at reasonable price, very light continental breakfast incl and a few parking spots at $10. Back rooms are very quiet. Best Check-in service we had in a long time. King bed but a bit too soft.

Room Tip: Front rooms are deluxe but street noise especially week-ends, back rooms, superior very quiet and fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Victorian Hotel is conveniently located within easy reach of many of Vancouver's attractions. Approximately 10-15 minutes walk to Canada Place - Vancouver's waterfront - and 20-30 minutes, depending on pace, to Stanley Park. If coming from Vancouver airport (YVR) take the skyTrain to downtown, Waterfront, turn right onto Cordova street - in the direction of gastown (old, lovely cobbled street part of Vancouver) and Homer st is one of the streets off of there on the opposite side of road going up - think like a grid. The Victorian Hotel is where Homer Street and W.Pender street cross. If you continue up Homer street you come to Yale Town - the posh side of Vancouver where all the nice bars and restaurants are. Continue along West Pender street, going to the west side of Vancouver and you'll find Robson Street where all the shopping malls are. My advice is to stay out of the east side where Chinatown is at this area is dodgy!!

The only thing I would say location wise about The Victorian Hotel is when we first arrived, W Pender street, especially victory square looks like you've wandered into the wrong neighbourhood - in fact we nicknamed it 'crack street' as it isn't without a few weirdos - especially at night, although we were never bothered it can be a little scary at times! My advice is to head into Yale Town way after dark and avoid this area.

The Hotel itself is lovely - was undergoing some renovation work when we arrived but still the staff were very friendly and happy to give out tourist information. Our room - deluxe two double beds - was gorgeous - hard wood floors, spacious, very clean, comfortable beds, fab shower and a little sofa area. It was cleaned regularly with fresh towels. There was no air con however and so the room did get quite hot (we went in August) but a standing fan was provided in the room. Also we faced W.Pender street and it did get very noisy at night.

The Breakfast is what is says it is - cereal, croissants, jam, fruit, tea and coffee. The breakfast room is small and many guests overspill into the reception area but it's a good sociable area to chat to other guests and enjoy a light breakfast. The hotel does have a storage room where you can store luggage free of charge for evening flights. There is free internet access which is fantastic and came in really handy. Only down side to the hotel is that there isn't a lift.

All in all The Victorian Hotel is comfortable, friendly and convenient and everything you really need if you've come to Vancouver to explore and you just want a place that's clean and comfortable to sleep. Wherever you stay Vancouver is a great city that mixes city life with the great outdoors and I would recommend a trip to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pip28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We rented a room for a day, post-cruise so we could clean up and stash our bags for the day... Room was on third floor, no elevators! Ended up leaving our bags in the holding room downstairs. Turns out we should have just rented locker space from this establishment as the room was very stuffy, no air-conditionning and barely big enough to move in! Shared bath needs to be taken lightly as there are three bathrooms for the whole floor, not to mention that two of them are for women only which figures as most guests seamed to be playing for the other team!

Room Tip: First floor with cross ventilation in the summer would be a wise bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in a room with private bathroom. The room was big enough, plenty of space to put our stuff and the bed was very comfortable. The room was located on the first floor so we were a bit afraid of the street noise but the isolation was good enough. The hotel is also very well located in town. Breakfast was not very big but sufficient with fresh fruits and yoghurt. The only minus was the parking. We had quite a big car and the parking spaces are quite small (especially if other big cars are already parked), we had some problems to get in and out the parking space. Overall a very good hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,416 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,519 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing