We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request a high floor and look at the view, not the carpet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropicana Suite Hotel
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I'll keep it brief b/c I think I'd echo a lot of the other reviews. We were in a front corner on the 11th floor and the view from the sitting room and bedroom were amazing! We only stayed for a night but there's plenty of room to spread out if you were there for longer. We didn't have a car and walked about 6 blocks from the train station. We easily walked to Stanley Park, walked to dinner and the waterfront. We watched the sunset from the bedroom and it could not have been a better view for $100/night. The carpet and some of the furnishings are pretty tired, but my main concern was the sliding glass doors opening onto a faux balcony with rusty railings and no screen. We don't have kids, but I would think this could make a parent pretty nervous!

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyGirl5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Tropicana Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a fantastic location in Vancouver. We had a room on the 10th floor with a view of the harbor which we enjoyed very much. There is also parking on the premises, which is very helpful. We were able to walk to almost anywhere downtown from our apartment. The front desk gave us great information about restaurants nearby.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, including the ladies who cleaned our rooms each day.
The reason I am giving this a 3 rating, is that the hotel needs to invest a bit in renovations. For example, I had to fetch an iron downstairs, and it was in a really bad condition (basically broken). I had to cart it all the way up and take it back again as there is none provided in the rooms.
The kitchen was sparsely equipped, with no kettle (so you have to use the microwave to heat water). the furniture can do with a bit of a re-upholstery.
So although everything was spotless and clean, we think the hotel charges a bit too much for what it offers (despite the location). However, we recommend this especially for a longer stay (we were there for about one week).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor and also on the top floors to enable you to have an excelle...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad1966A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

While this all suite hotel is a bit dated in decoration & furnishings it is very well situated on Robson St. and has free onsite parking which makes it a very attractive downtown choice. Lots to eat, see & do nearby. Easy to walk to the waterfront and walking a little further brings you to Stanley Park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This inn and suite was a total surprise and very clean. You enter the room through a long hallway and to the left is a living room with a kitchenette off to the left of that. There’s not much one can do in the kitchenette except make tea or toast or for a small family there’s a fridge so breakfast is an option. There are so many great restaurants in this downtown that there's no reason to eat in. The bathroom to the right of the hallway is a good size with all the necessary amenities. The large bed was comfortable with lots of room to move around it and a good size closet. There’s also plenty of storage space so if you plan on staying for a long term. We stayed in the Tropicana in Vancouver, BC for a Friday and Saturday night in mid September. The hotel is very conveniently located on Robson Street in the downtown area. It’s close to Stanley Park, the Art Museum, the shops and high end stores and just about anywhere one wants to walk. Vancouver is a walkers’ heaven and I love to walk! The water taxis will take you from one peninsula to another and there's so much to see and explore in this wonderful city. The weather was perfect, no heat or humidity but every day in the 70's as well as nights.

The only drawback is that the hotel elevator can be bit rickety (I hit the 9th floor but the door wouldn’t open when it got there so I went down to the lobby and back up again and this time the door opened on the 9th floor). Also the rooms facing the street are noisy with pedestrians and traffic running all night into the early hours of the morning. The bedroom's casement windows are not noise proof so it was a bit difficult to fall asleep, The views on the higher floors are spectacular.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel for some quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jostravels42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

As others note, redecoration is long overdue. Upholstery is dirty and worn; the carpet is horrible; there's this musty odor. But it's spacious, has a small kitchen and is walking distance to Stanley Park in one direction and the Vancouver Art Gallery and Heritage District in the other. The bed is comfortable, the linens are clean, and the bathroom functions. Personnel were kind and accommodating. I can't imagine recommending it to anyone, but it was the cheapest place available Downtown, and free parking was included.

Room Tip: Since there's no A/C, you'll want a room on the north side--away from the street--for both c...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank constanttraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Excellent central location on Robson St. Close to lots of shops and restaurants. Hotel and room itself was quite outdated but did have a kitchenette which was useful. I slept on the fold out sofa- good as it was separate from the bedroom. However the mattress felt very lumpy and I was woken by sunlight streaming through the kitchen blind.

Otherwise, reasonably priced for an excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a budget hotel.. a definate 2 star.. decor is circa 1970s motel. but, it was clean, and our room was a very good size . We booked directly with hotel, a one bedroom suite for two adults and one child. The rate was 119 a night. A very good rate for location!
Our room was on the 10th floor and had amazing view to water .. the balcony however is basically nothing more then a ledge with a banister. There were however the large floor to ceiling windows and sliding door,, so a very bright living room and kitchen. This unit did include a small but good enough kitchenette. Apartment size fridge( about 4 1/2 feet tall) small full stove and oven. Microwave and two cup coffee machine. There were dishes, BUT not forks or knives a bit odd. There was coffee, sugar and whitner provided, but no tea.
Bathroom was small, but shower worked well. Bed in room was fine, but sofa bed in the living room was ,,well a sofa bed, fine for kids only .
This hotel is for budget travellers,do not go expecting much, we didn't and were quite happy with what we got. The rate was much lower then most hotels in the area, and the location is absolutely great ,, you can walk and shop along Robson which is lined with shops and places to eat.
We had no noise issues at all( but our room was on the 10th and did face the ocean, not Robson)
I thought staying there for one night was fine, I wouldn't stretch it too long, but honestly, if looking for a cheap clean safe stay, then this place is ok, if you can get over the rather worn shabbiness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up on higher floors facing the water, not Robson. The view is nice and the noise is t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#68 of 92 in Vancouver
504 reviews
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#72 of 92 in Vancouver
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
656 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Suite Hotel

Address: 1361 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada (Formerly Tropicana Motor Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $92 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropicana Suite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Suite Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver and in the middle of the lively Robson Street shopping and entertainment district within walking distance of all Downtown shopping, theatres, many excellent restaurants, cafes, English Bay and Stanley Park. All guest suites are one bedroom units featuring a living room with a sofa bed and kitchenette. Hotel facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna, laundry facilities and limited complimentary guest parking.• View the majestic North Shore mountains• Ideally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver and the West End• 74 spacious one bedroom suites accommodating up to four adults• Easy walking distance of virtually everything• Heated indoor pool and sauna• Restaurants, shopping, theatres and parks just blocks away from hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropicana Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motor Hotel Vancouver
Tropicana Hotel Vancouver
Tropicana Motel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing