We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
providence, rhode island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed July 21, 2007

stayed 2 nights in early july, nice clean, comfortable room. arrived by car, neighborhood questionable, underground parking accessed with key which was very nice because of area and garage being creepy. nice security, need key to access elevator from garage. complimentary breakfast good, not extensive but good. shuttle service was the best, just reserve a time, they picked us up from anywhere we wanted and the shuttle driver was very helpful, pleasant and on time. would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — shuttle service, security, breakfast
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelcrazyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    326
    165
    67
    40
See reviews for
252
246
62
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, Calif
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

This was our first trip to canada and probably our last!!!!!!!!!. I had gone through Hello Bc to book my accomodations. I Explained that this was out first trip to Canada and that we wanted a central location for hotel accomodations. We were horrified when we drove done the street and later found out that this holiday inn was on skid row. It was disgusting. Everytime you left you had to drive right through skid row. We were on motorcycles so we had a birds eye view of all the undesirable activites that went on 24 hours a day. We saw a fight a dead body laying on the street drug exchanges going on as well as lots of noise and activity after midnight. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were dated. The fourth floor was the only place to do laundry or to get ice!!!!!!!! The elevator system is insane you have to swipe your card to get up or down. There was no swimmimg pool and the underground parking was a hassle. The one bright spot was the wonderful Italian bakery across the stree. Great people working there. I grew real suspisious of the area when I noticed everyone had bars on their doors and windows. The highlight was when we got lost one day and came down Commercial St and bypassed most of skid row. To bad we didnt get lost the first day. Overall our experience with the hotel wasnt bad but the location is HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Disliked — location parking everything on fourth floor elevators
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twowits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

This hotel, located in the northwestern corner of the city, was clean, comfortable, and relatively inexpensive. The breakfast was free and quite good, and we didn't have any problems with the staff or service. The only bad thing about the hotel was it's location. Although it was not in a very bad neighborhood, it was near the seediest part of town. If you stay here, I would strongly recommend having your own car so that you are not limited to the surrounding neighborhood. There is a busline nearby, but I am not sure I would want to ride it at night through the neighborhood.

  • Liked — The beds were very comfortable.
  • Disliked — The location was a bit seedy.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed at this HI Express in late May 07 as a party of four and booked a double room. Located approximately 10 min drive out of Vancouver city this is your standard HI Express which offers breakfast and a shuttle service to drive guests into/out of the city. The hotel was clean, staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast offered was very good and replenished when required. Parking available under the hotel which is included in the cost. - a bonus.

The room was a comfortable size for four people, the beds were firm and not flimsy with the linen clean. The bathroom was your standard size and also very clean. The HI express is reasonably priced for accomodation in a city which can occassionally have quite expensive lodgings.

If you don't have your own transport, there is a bus stop right out of the front of the hotel. We didn't use public transport but from observation the buses seem to run quite frequently.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — The location is some distance from the city centre.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curlisue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in Sept. 2006, Our room was very clean and well appointed. The bed was especially comfortable. The linens were up-scale. The breakfast room was like a small restaurant. The man on the front desk at check-in was helpful and friendly. He suggested where to go for dinner and how to get to Stanley Park. There is a complimentry shuttle to the downtown core but we found we could drive it in just a few minutes.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — a bit out of the downtown core
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a room at the back , away from traffic noise
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Blanche42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We were at the Hasting Street - Holiday Inn Express in Vancouver from 17-23 August 2006. We stayed on the 4th floor in a King Jr Suite for $175 CAD per night. We had 1 king size bed and one queen sofa bed. The beds, comforters, and linens were great. The fluffy white comforters made it very comforatble for us.

The breakfast was great. We had, milk, cranberry & orange juices, hard-boiled eggs, breads, toast, danishes, cereals, and muffins. The cinammon rolls were fantastic!

All included were free local calls, free secure parking, free daily morning newspaper, etc.

We felt safe, since all patrons had to swipe room keys in order for the elevator to run and to get into the parking garage.

In some parts, Hastings Street is a haven for homeless, druggies and working women, etc. But none of them bothered us.

Make sure you get a rent-a-car. It's a long walk to any of the tourist sights.

Overall, very nice time. Glad we stayed there. We'll be back.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Price
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a rent a car.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank nsachleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Vancouver for three nights back in August 2005.

This 3.5 star hotel has a lot of ambiance and has a very quaint, peaceful quality to it. It has the feeling of a small & quiet inn, despite being located in the city. The decor is very tastefully done and even has an upscale feel to it. The beds, comforters, and linens were among the best I've seen in any hotel - very soft, thick, and comfortable. The lobby also has an upscale appearance. Apparantely, the recent renovation has been good for this hotel. The atrium is also a beautiful part of the hotel.

The breakfast was also very good. It offered a wide variety of items, such as coffee, tea, milk, juices, hard-boiled eggs, breads, toast, danishes, cereals, and muffins. However, the best part of the breakfast that I enjoyed the most were the cinammon rolls! Very tasty!

It was also nice to have free local calls, free parking, free daily morning newspaper, and did I mention the free continental breakfast?

I also felt very safe, considering that you had to swipe your room key in order for the elevator to run and to get into the parking garage.

My only complaints would be the fact that the hotel is a bit dated. This is very apparent in the parking garage and in some cases, the room. The room I was in also had a hole in the wall where an electrical outlet was supposed to be. Also, be careful not to get a room facing Hastings Street as the noise of the traffic can keep light sleepers awake.

I also wanted to mention that this hotel is a bit farther out from downtown Vancouver, so a car is necessary, but I found the cost savings to be worth the extra trouble. Despite that, the location is convenient to the PNE and the Asian restaurant across the street is very good.

Overall, great hotel at a good price!

  • Liked — everything, especially the breakfast and upscale decor!
  • Disliked — it was a little old and outdated and the location a bit out of the way
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here if you don't mind traveling a bit to get to downtown
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank travelguy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Inn Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Inn Vancouver

Property: Atrium Inn Vancouver
Address: 2889 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V5K 2A1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atrium Inn Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'You'll Love It In Here' at our Vancouver Hotel. The Atrium Inn Vancouver is located minutes from downtown Vancouver. Our boutique-style hotel is close to everything in Vancouver. Are you searching for a pet friendly, Vancouver hotel near fun and exciting attractions? When you stay at the Atrium Inn Vancouver you can catch a game at the Pacific Coliseum, venture to PNE and Playland, or explore Stanley Park. Smart business travelers enjoy staying in our Vancouver hotel suites or executive rooms. Our location off Trans Canada Highway 1 makes it easy to get to meetings. Rogers Sugar, ECOMM, Metrotown, BCIT and other businesses are nearby. Make your event a success with our meeting rooms and A/V rental equipment. With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, you'll have a productive stay in Vancouver. You can burn calories at our fitness centre, get a good night's rest on our triple-sheeted beds, and start the morning with a buffet breakfast with hot and cold items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrium Inn Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing