We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distant from Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Ranked #56 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Distant from Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

My first experience of HI Express.A friendly welcome on arrival, room no ready but luggage stowed away.Room a good size, a little dated but cleanA comfkrtable king sized bed, no safe but iron & ironing board & coffee maker.A buffet breakfast with good hot selection.An enjoyable stay.



e


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased your first experience with us and the brand was an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    322
    160
    64
    39
See reviews for
247
236
61
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is about 5 miles from city center. So you have to have a car, take the bus, or a taxi to get into town. I wish I had thought of that during my short visit recently. I would have ruled this place out and paid the extra money to stay downtown so I could walk around to see the sites.

I think the rooms are nice and most of the property is well maintained. The breakfast area was a bit shabby.

The A/C was terribly noisy. The work around was to take the room down to freezer temperature while you were gone and turn it off when you come back. My room was on Hastings and it was very noisy at night even with ear plugs. They couldn't move me because the hotel was sold out.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

There is a very good Vietnamese restaurant across the street. I don't usually go to this type of restaurant but I enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from Hastings as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry this wasn't the location you were hoping for. Hopefully you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary shuttle service into downtown. Apologies for the room A/C, unfortunately we are in the process of waiting for an approval on renovations and your concerns have all been addressed in our proposal. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and next time we will do what we can to get you on the back side of our hotel to aid in your sleep needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had to book this hotel only a few weeks before arriving, so was stuck for choice given my budget, however I wish I had paid a bit more to stay somewhere close to restaurants and other things to do. I had already spent a few days at a hotel on Burrard St with so much around, but couldn't continue staying once my friend had left, which is how I ended up moving to the Holiday Inn Express.
Being a solo traveller I was reluctant to go out late, so ended up in my room for most of the night, but I didn't love being stuck in my room all that much either.
During the day, there are several buses that run from right out the front of the hotel that will take you downtown, and getting around was quite easy but just time consuming.
The hotel lobby is lovely, but once you get in the elevator you can see that the hotel needs a bit of work. My room had 2 air conditioners, the main system seemed to be broken so I also had a portable unit coming out of the window. This was really noisy and super strong, so I ended up sleeping with earplugs. There was a note in the room that said all valuables must be left at the safety deposit box, otherwise no responsibility would be taken for their safety, however they could not fit my valuables in there - I was told there was only enough space for a purse or similar.
My experience was not horrible by any means, but I have definitely had better experiences with the Holiday Inn in other Cities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cglenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am very sorry that we weren't able to make your stay an exquisite one. We try our best to do this for all our guests, but sometimes we fail to meet all needs/wants. Well our area does have an amusement park and bars in the close vicinity, this of course isn't what everyone wants or needs. We hope that we were able to help you have some enjoyment while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Needed a place to stay for 2 nights in August before going on a cruise to Alaska. Picked this location because it was relatively close to downtown where we would embark at Canada Place, but not at the cost of downtown hotels. Since we were renting a car to explore areas around Vancouver, having free parking was key. Located on busy street, surrounded by working-class neighborhoods. Not a fancy neighborhood but did not feel unsafe. We got a room in the back so it was quiet, but I suspect might be noisy facing the street.

Likes
* Free underground secure parking
* Free Wi-Fi, one of the fastest (12+ Mps) hotel Wi-Fi I have used!
* Free decent breakfast
* Comfortable bed and pillows
* In-room coffee
* Nice lobby
* Friendly staff

Neutral
* No in-room safe
* No microwave or refrigerator
* Eateries within walking distance, nothing fancy
* Large flat panel TV but no HD signal

Dislikes
* Carpeting 'wrinkled' and a few holes
* Décor, bathroom and furniture showing age, clean enough but some stains

Summary
Not as nice as other Holiday Inn Express we have visited in other countries. This place is not fancy and rooms need remodeling, but priced reasonably, comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Room in the back, away from street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Well our area is mostly a residential one, we are quite pleased to have an amusement park right next door and a sports bar right next door to us as well for good eats and a fun time.
As for our rooms, we are waiting for an approval from upper management to undergo renovations and updates. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

So arrived at 2 am needing sleep with a family of 5 plus 3 pets and 2 trucks with 2 trailers.We were lost no map or GPS the clerk sat on the phone with me and gave me directions to the hotel twice. Upon arrival he was in the road waving us down. He helped us park our vehicles, which was very tight. He got us into a pet friendly room and a cheaper rate. Comfy room, a little snug for a big family like mine. Accommodations were good clean and I would return there if ever in Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am very happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond. We try our best to please our guests and make them feel as warm as if they were at home. Your kind words have been passed on to our auditor who is very pleased to have made your stay a more welcome and enjoyable experience. We hope to see you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you are planning on visiting Playland/PNE, or if you are just travelling through and don't plan on doing a bunch of sight-seeing, then this property is a good location.

The only positive things I can say about this property (our 3rd visit) is that we appreciate the free parking and the breakfast. Unfortunately, the place is in need of much updating and general maintenance. The executive rooms are larger than the standard, but that's about it. Loud A/C unit made for a poor sleep.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing away from Hastings will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynlouhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is a very prime location for any playland/pne travelers. I am glad to hear our parking facilities and location meet your satisfaction and needs.
The rooms, we are waiting for an approval for renovations from upper management. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you consider us in the future once we have undergone the necessary updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in Vancouver at the end of a landtour/cruise to Alaska. I made reservations in September 2013 for a room with two double beds for two nights. Lo and behold, when we arrived and checked in, we were given one queen bed. After complaining, we were "upgraded" the second night to the "Presidential Room" on the second floor which had a king bed, sitting room and mini kitchen. Both rooms were extremely dark (even with ALL the lights on). The "Presidential Room" has an outside light that can't be turned off and the shades don't pull completely shut. When I booked this hotel, I didn't realize just how far it is from downtown... I should have realized there was some reason for the lower price! They do provide a free shuttle to downtown; a taxi ride back costs about $20.

Room Tip: Don't get stuck on the second floor completely to the right as you exit the elevator; it is abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCSLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are very sorry about your room inconvenience and the fact that it did not meet your standards. We have addressed these issues with upper management and have added a few of these issues to our renovation proposal. We hope to have this fixed soon as we are waiting for approval from upper management.
We are glad to hear you were able to use our convenient shuttle service to downtown while staying with us.
Hopefully you will give us a try after we have undergone our proposed renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Inn Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Inn Vancouver

Property: Atrium Inn Vancouver
Address: 2889 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V5K 2A1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atrium Inn Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'You'll Love It In Here' at our Vancouver Hotel. The Atrium Inn Vancouver is located minutes from downtown Vancouver. Our boutique-style hotel is close to everything in Vancouver. Are you searching for a pet friendly, Vancouver hotel near fun and exciting attractions? When you stay at the Atrium Inn Vancouver you can catch a game at the Pacific Coliseum, venture to PNE and Playland, or explore Stanley Park. Smart business travelers enjoy staying in our Vancouver hotel suites or executive rooms. Our location off Trans Canada Highway 1 makes it easy to get to meetings. Rogers Sugar, ECOMM, Metrotown, BCIT and other businesses are nearby. Make your event a success with our meeting rooms and A/V rental equipment. With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, you'll have a productive stay in Vancouver. You can burn calories at our fitness centre, get a good night's rest on our triple-sheeted beds, and start the morning with a buffet breakfast with hot and cold items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atrium Inn Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing