We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Beds, Paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Hamilton, ON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable Beds, Paper thin walls”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The room was generally comfortable although slightly on the tired side. The carpets had visible stains and the tube based television had an analogue and fuzzy picture. The wireless internet is free but a little on the slow side.

My biggest complaint about this hotel was the paper thin walls. I could hear the neighbours in both sides of the room until late into the night. As a business traveler this made it hard for me to get that good night sleep. I believe after a renovation and a little soundproofing this could be a great hotel.... but until then I'll take a pass the next time I come to Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malocite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    352
    174
    69
    42
See reviews for
269
261
64
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Ok hotel however they put us in a room with a skylight directly over the beds. Sounds nice until 6:30 am when the sun comes glaring in. Not nice when your on vacation. And we knew right away why the check in person was very quick to say that the hotel was full and we could not change rooms. So sad that this could be simply solved by installing a blind made for skylights. Hunter Douglas sells them for about a hundred bucks. Neighborhood is working class no problem but you drive through a sketchy part going into city from here. But if you have a car its convenient and ok for the price. And breakfast was included and nice.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hppytrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have stayed in Vancouver before and this hotel I would definitely recommend to anyone. What we liked - Free parking, Free hot breakfast (pancakes, eggs, toast, cereal, coffee/tea/juice etc and pastries) nice big room with a small sitting area and location. What we didnt like - Parking was so small but trust me I feel Vancouver sucks in parking and driving and the walls in the room were very thin. I would definitely come back to stay here if we ever visit Vancouver again. we made a special request to have our room in the back to avoid traffic noises as we have a toddler. they were able to accomdate our request and it was quieter.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back so you dont hear the traff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvttravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

If you book your stay with one of the big online reservation sites, forget about compensation if there is any issues with the room. Over all very happy with the accommodation, they provide free breakfast and internet. The breakfast was one of the best i have had in a hotel in a long time. The room, it left things to be desired. Wish that the holiday inn would invest some more money in this property. The room was cold, the thermostat did not regulate properly, the shower sang to you while showering, and the outlets were not working so could not get my electronics to charge overnight. The hotel was full, so they could not move me they did offer. I give the staff at triple AAA rating just wonderful attempted to compensate but since i booked on travelocity could not do anything about it. They did offer me other solutions for future bookings. i would stay there any time, price on the other hand a little too high for what i got for new years eve. This place is the perfect location for anyone staying from out of town. The bus going downtown is in front of the hotel, you have excellent food places all around you and it very quiet. Its 1 minute off of highway 1 heading any which way, the view is decent and of course your not stuck downtown where your paying for parking. The place is worth the stay, again the staff and location make the place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmelinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEVancouver, Director of Sales at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments about our hotel, location and staff. We are always looking to improve our service and our guests' comfort. Your comments help us see what we are doing right and where we can find opportunities to improve. I hope you had a wonderful New Years - please call on us again for your next visit to Vancouver!

Royce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located for the PNE, Pacific Coliseum, Playland and Empire Field (we were there for the Whitecaps season opener). It is literally steps from the main entrance to the PNE. It only took us about a 10 minute walk to Empire Field- even with all of the crowds. Access is easy if coming from the Horseshoe Bay ferry terminal.

When I made the reservation on the internet, I requested a room in the back, in case of street noise and that is exactly what we got. The room was spacious enough for the 4 of us and the desk and free internet access were perfect since one of our daughters had to work on an essay while there. We heard no noise from any neighbours, either beside us, above us or below us. The beds were comfy and there were enough toiletries and towels. My only complaint about the room was that the heating unit was rather loud (athough it was efficient). Luckily, it was warm enough that we slept at night without it on.

The area is great for restaurants. You can eat just about anything, from fast food, to Vietnamese, Chinese or Japanese, to Italian to plain old western. We walked about a block and a half west to the second Vietnamese restaurant on the same side of Hastings. It was full of locals (usually a good sign). For the four of us to have dinner, with tip, it was only $40!! There are also a number of shops, a Shoppers and a London Drugs all within a couple of blocks. There are a few homeless people around some of the stores - especially the liquor store (surprise, surprise) and London Drugs. However, none of them were aggressive and simply stood or sat there with their hands or hats out. They did not scare us at all.

There are not alot of touristy kinds of things to do within walking distance - with the exception of the fair, sports events etc. at the earlier mentioned venues. You will likely have to drive to see other attractions. It took us 10 and 20 minutes to get to a couple of malls. If we come back to see any of the nearby events again, we will certainly stay here, without any hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comoxbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEVancouver, Director of Sales at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments! I am happy you found our location so convenient to all of your needs. It is fantastic being so close to Empire field and the PNE/Coliseum - when you stay here you can enjoy our complimentary parking and simply walk to those venues. For your next visit, take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to take you downtown or to a skytrain station to get you to most of the tourist attractions or shopping areas that are not in our neighbourhood. There are also wonderfiul companies such as West Coast Sightseeing that will pick you up right here at the door and get you out and about around the city! You are also very correct about all the great food in the area - many choices. From the complimentary hot Express Start breakfast we offer (with guest room charge), to the Pressbox pub next door plus all the variety of restaurants in surrounding few blocks.

All the very best and again thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Royce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

My husband and I were visiting some friends and had decided to stay in the city. As we were planning on having a few drinks we thought it best to stay at a hotel. The people at the desk were very nice and helpful. I travel a lot on business and this was one place I thought that others should know. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. We wil stay again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristyB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip to Vancouver. It’s a great location within walking distance to Pacific Coliseum, the Canucks Outlet store and restaurants. Add the HIE standards of free parking, breakfast and Wi-Fi and you’re set. However we found the front desk to be inattentive. We weren’t told where to find the breakfast, or what times it was open. I had to ask three people where the business center was to find out that it was out of service. Our room was nicely laid out, but not sparkling clean. The hallway carpet was stained so badly my husband commented on the dirt and he normally doesn’t notice that things aren’t clean. All in all our stay was fine, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traci422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Inn Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Inn Vancouver

Property: Atrium Inn Vancouver
Address: 2889 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V5K 2A1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atrium Inn Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'You'll Love It In Here' at our Vancouver Hotel. The Atrium Inn Vancouver is located minutes from downtown Vancouver. Our boutique-style hotel is close to everything in Vancouver. Are you searching for a pet friendly, Vancouver hotel near fun and exciting attractions? When you stay at the Atrium Inn Vancouver you can catch a game at the Pacific Coliseum, venture to PNE and Playland, or explore Stanley Park. Smart business travelers enjoy staying in our Vancouver hotel suites or executive rooms. Our location off Trans Canada Highway 1 makes it easy to get to meetings. Rogers Sugar, ECOMM, Metrotown, BCIT and other businesses are nearby. Make your event a success with our meeting rooms and A/V rental equipment. With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, you'll have a productive stay in Vancouver. You can burn calories at our fitness centre, get a good night's rest on our triple-sheeted beds, and start the morning with a buffet breakfast with hot and cold items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atrium Inn Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing