We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once for the history and location”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Once for the history and location”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We wanted to try the Sylvia and were lucky to get a room. The hotel is a landmark in the West End of Vancouver. It is an interesting, historical place, and the views from the restaurant could not be better. We had breakfast there and it was excellent and not overpriced. We also had a light dinner that was good. But The Sylvia lacks some things, and we probably will not go back to stay. The age of the hallways is evident in the musty smell. The heavy vines growing outside circle the windows-- all part of the history, but not everyone's cup of tea. We were glad to have stayed there once for the experience. We would definitely go back there for a meal and the outstanding view of English Bay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HurdDuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    600
    143
    52
    36
See reviews for
297
644
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you are traveling with young kids or teens, want a central Vancouver location, love a bit of old-world charm over sleek and modern and like friendly staff, then you will be thrilled if you pick the Sylvia. When you travel with a crew, space is so critical, and we did not feel crowded in the least. My three kids enjoyed the family suite we had so much that they just wanted to hang out; we had to force them out to do the tourist stuff. And we appreciated the flexibility in being able to add a night to our stay. At breakfast we had amazing views over English Bay, and my wife says the tea that came in the carafe was the hottest and best restaurant tea she has had in years. Fantastic. And we sat in the lounge at night and enjoyed the view some more. Really, who could ask for a better location. Except for the Capilano Suspension Bridge we hardly used our car. We walked, bussed downtown etc. And the front desk staff were great. When we needed to find something, the local maps came out and got marked to help us do our thing. Everyone was so helpful. To the Sylvia, thanks for the great stay and we look forward to staying again on our next trip out to visit family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We really enjoyed the proximity of Stanley Park, but the hotel was certainly a disapointment. The room was very small, the bathroom very old and I had to stand on the edge of the bathtub to turn on the light fixture over the vanity. We couldn't hook up to the "free" internet service and when I took my laptop down to the reception desk they insisted that the problem was the laptop, yet a few days earlier we had stayed at the Blue Horizon and had no problem at all. While I was there, another guest came by the desk and said that he also was unable to connect and also had stayed at the Blue Horizon and had no trouble connecting. When we went to the restaurant downstairs for breakfast we waited for about 1/2 hour to even get acknowledged and that was after I asked 2 servers if we could order. The beginning of the week we had stayed at the Blue Horizon, which was less money and was far superior.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nacyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We really liked this hotel. The kids were taken with the whole cat story as well as it's location close to the beach. Even though it was cold, they played on it every night. We liked how close it was to Denham street where all the restaurants are, as well as Stanley Park. We walked all over Vancouver from here. The only thing I would change if I could change anything is that the rooms are on the small side, but that's to be expected with a historic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicarichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I chose this place on basis of trip advisor reports. Some of the reviews mentioned it was dowdy. I thought funky! Other reviews complained about having to use staircase. Sylvia's staircase runs through middle of hotel, and so wonderfully convenient for those of us who relish use of stairs in hotels.

I was surprised to have a yappying dog in room next door (where I come from it is virtually unheard of to allow dogs in hotels). But management were sympathetic and moved me to swanky suite on upper floor. So can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxtravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbyGRichmond, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank-you for your kind words about your stay. Yes we are a pet friendly Hotel and hope to see you on your next visit to Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

STAY AWAY from the Hotel Sylvia! We booked a room before and after our recent Alaskan cruise on a single email, then changed plans and cancelled. They emailed a cancellation confirmation-- AND THEN CHARGED US FOR A NIGHT'S STAY! Why? They say we only cancelled once and we had booked two nights so we needed to send two emails and receive two confirmations. Say what? Of course we are contesting the charge -- first time we have ever had to do that — but, my god, can you believe it?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbyGRichmond, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank-you for booking with the Sylvia hotel, I am sorry that you did not understand the reason why you were charged for the no show on one of your bookings. When you booked at the Sylvia you booked two nights on two different days, I am assuming that you were going to stay with us before and after your cruise. You were given two confirmation numbers, one for each night booked. The reason for that is so that if you need to cancel one of the nights due to a change of plans you would still have your return night booked. People change thier plans often, we try to ensure that you only cancel the room night not required. if you wanted to cancel both nights we ask that you cancel each reservation. This avoids you showing up to the Hotel expecting that you still had a room on the return visit when it was cancelled when you really only wanted to cancel the first room. The Sylvia Hotel runs full during the summer and getting a room booked during the summer is very difficult. this way you are not disapointed if both rooms were cancelled when yu only needed to cancel one of the nights, We have run this system for the past 20 years and have found that this is the best way to keep all the room reservations clearly booked so that nobody is left guessing if you have a reservation or not. I am sorry that you did not understand that you needed to cancel both reservations as we would have no way of knowing if you still wanted the room on your return. I am sure that if you did except a room on your return and we had cancelled it you would have been more upset in not having a room at the sylvia when we would have been sold out. I hope this clears things up for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed the one night we spent at the Sylvia Hotel. We received a free upgrade and the room we had, while not spacious by modern hotel standards, was adequate with a comfortable king bed and freshly painted walls. The bathroom seemed a bit outdated, but otherwise the amenities were excellent and we had a view of the quiet inner driveway off the main street.

Service at check-in and check-out was pleasant. Normal check-out time is noon but we were leaving for a cruise and the staff granted our request for a later check-out at 1PM.

The best thing about the hotel is the location! You can walk to Stanley Park and are just steps away from English Bay. You are also just a block away from Denman Street which has lots of great restaurants (highly recommend Acacia Fillo Bar for some stellar Bulgarian food--a highlight of our trip!) While some parts of the hotel (like the slow elevators and shabby hallways) are showing its age, overall this was well worth it price-wise compared to other downtown hotels.

(If you're a cat lover, be sure to check out the darling artwork in the lobby depicting "Mr. Got to Go" the now-famous stray cat who decided to make the hotel his home some years ago. So cute!)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaT95682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,371 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,662 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,514 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing