We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Hotel, Not Fancy Schmancy, but real value!”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I have been staying in the Sylvia for 30 years now. I suppose that slants my review a bit. Yes, it can be a little funky, but the staff and the location (in my humble opinion) more than make up for it. Yes it needs a bit of paint. Yes things are a bit nicked here and there. But in terms of staff friendliness and location it is unbeatable. ...and as a plus (for some of us at least) it has a truly remarkable selection of scotch whiskeys in the bar!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,364 - 1,370 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

We spoke to the front desk about the mattress being uncomfortably soft- they offered to move us and then surprised us with a brand new mattress THAT DAY.

Friendly, fun old hotel, perfect location.

Rent bikes from the place recommended at the front desk- they have discount coupons. We biked to Granville island and it was fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanfranciscoCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Incredible location, walking , bus or water bus to downtown, market and stanley park-impeccable service and the rooms while not ultra modern and chic, are impeccably clean with large windows (that open), extremely comfortable beds, good quality linens and pillows, and many rooms with beautiful views of the park or water. This will appeal tremendously to those who travel this way- for others who want ultra chic - stick with a 5 star and let us have the reservations for the sylvia!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

On suggestions from two friends and carefully critiquing reviews here on TA, we (my fella, a cruise buddy and I) booked two nights at The Sylvia. We were aware that there may be some issues with carpeting or nicks of paint off the walls, as this is an old hotel. We were delighted with our one bedroom suite (room722). We particularly asked for a bay view room when booking. It was a corner room with windows overlooking the English Bay. The ventilation from the open windows was wonderful. Our suite had one bedroom, a living-dining room, a small kitchen and a bathroom. The kitchen had a sink, stove, microwave, refrigerator, china, glasses, coffeemaker, teapot and utensils for 4 people. You can request an ice bucket at reception and get ice on the first floor. We walked to the 7-11 and Safeway to get coffee, fruit and rolls for breakfast. The bathroom was basic and had bar soap and a shower dispenser of shampoo-conditioner-bath gel. The lobby staff was extremely helpful and likable. We did eat the nachos in the bar and would not order them again as they were nacho chips and all the fixings served in an edible bowl. Either the nachos or the edible bowl would have been enough. That’s the only food we purchased at the hotel. Loved the bar view over the bay. A friend drove up to visit us for the day and did not have to pay to park during the day in the underground parking lot. The location was great and we enjoyed a walk along the seawall on a glorious sunny morning. The only negative was I could not get wireless internet to work in our room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KruzQween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

room was ok with stained carpets , miniature old tv ( probably an early Gas version!) shower went from Hot to cold automatically..cool? no coffee or hot water in the room( most 1 Star have this) no fridge of course....
We were unlucky to have a room sin sea view, looking onto the noisy garage and garbage area, unlike the lovely sea view talked about often in the web site...

The entrance was "interesting", often we have found lobbies spotless only to find the rest of the hotel grubby... not here.. stained worn carpet with dim lighting and steep steps for carrying our luggage up! and down! The hotel looks very nice on arrival, is very old .... the carpet may be original!!
Nice bar, breakfast was ok... overly watered down fruit juice and poached egg without toast is possibly a Canadian thing but a first for us. 5 out of 10 at the price ,big cities just get away with it..

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuzzflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We finally stayed at the Sylvia for 2 nights in September after intending to try it for a long time. We have stayed in several other hotels in the area. We have also stayed at several other vintage hotels in our travels. While the location is unsurpassed we were generally disappointed. The major problem was that one of the two elevators broke on the second day of our stay. Since we were on the sixth floor, we decided to wait for the other elevator. When we finally got on, it was packed and then failed to open on its first stop. An employee also on the elevator couldn't get the elevator to open or the elevator to move and finally another gentleman was able to pry open the door. It was a scary experience. Needless to say we walked up and down the six flights of stairs for the last day of our visit since the one elevator was still not fixed and we didn't trust the other(and it was busy). Besides this we felt it was not a good value. Lightbulbs were burned out, there was a loose tile in the bathroom and there were not toiletries besides bars of soap. There are other properties of similar price such as the Coast Hotel or the Sunset Inn and Suites which deliver far better value if a little less charm.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

The Sylvia's service was just fine. Our room with a view over the parking area was large and in definite need of a remodel - floor stained, bits of the bathroom falling apart, and the room could have used a couch or a couple of comfortable chairs. But it was a good enough location. I know people who have stayed there have loved it and have gone there for years (my travel companion for one), but I was less than totally impressed. Perhaps in better weather...it was raining to entire time so the location was not as important as it might be.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#42 of 92 in Vancouver
1,532 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,822 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#16 of 92 in Vancouver
2,363 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,903 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $117 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing