We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“backpackers would rate this good”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2009

room was ok with stained carpets , miniature old tv ( probably an early Gas version!) shower went from Hot to cold automatically..cool? no coffee or hot water in the room( most 1 Star have this) no fridge of course....
We were unlucky to have a room sin sea view, looking onto the noisy garage and garbage area, unlike the lovely sea view talked about often in the web site...

The entrance was "interesting", often we have found lobbies spotless only to find the rest of the hotel grubby... not here.. stained worn carpet with dim lighting and steep steps for carrying our luggage up! and down! The hotel looks very nice on arrival, is very old .... the carpet may be original!!
Nice bar, breakfast was ok... overly watered down fruit juice and poached egg without toast is possibly a Canadian thing but a first for us. 5 out of 10 at the price ,big cities just get away with it..

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuzzflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2009

We finally stayed at the Sylvia for 2 nights in September after intending to try it for a long time. We have stayed in several other hotels in the area. We have also stayed at several other vintage hotels in our travels. While the location is unsurpassed we were generally disappointed. The major problem was that one of the two elevators broke on the second day of our stay. Since we were on the sixth floor, we decided to wait for the other elevator. When we finally got on, it was packed and then failed to open on its first stop. An employee also on the elevator couldn't get the elevator to open or the elevator to move and finally another gentleman was able to pry open the door. It was a scary experience. Needless to say we walked up and down the six flights of stairs for the last day of our visit since the one elevator was still not fixed and we didn't trust the other(and it was busy). Besides this we felt it was not a good value. Lightbulbs were burned out, there was a loose tile in the bathroom and there were not toiletries besides bars of soap. There are other properties of similar price such as the Coast Hotel or the Sunset Inn and Suites which deliver far better value if a little less charm.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

The Sylvia's service was just fine. Our room with a view over the parking area was large and in definite need of a remodel - floor stained, bits of the bathroom falling apart, and the room could have used a couch or a couple of comfortable chairs. But it was a good enough location. I know people who have stayed there have loved it and have gone there for years (my travel companion for one), but I was less than totally impressed. Perhaps in better weather...it was raining to entire time so the location was not as important as it might be.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

A great hotel right by Stanley park, wonderful views and great staff. Theres a nice restaurant and everything you need, far better than the Sheraton Wall Centre.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I agree with the other reviewers, this is a quaint, charming hotel with a great location and friendly, helpful staff. If you want a cookie-cutter, modern luxury hotel - this isn't the place! The rooms are nice (ours was large), a bit in need of a remodel - but if you are staying at the hotel during warm weather...beware, the rooms don't have any air conditioning and they get very very warm (luckily they cool down in the evenings)!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We were a party of six & we spent 3 + 1 nights at the Sylvia on the recommendation of a friend who knows Vancouver well. On our first visit we all had rooms overlooking English Bay, not quite as good as it sounds since dense trees along the sea front obscure much of the view but you still get the atmosphere. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned but that is part of the charm - after rushing around for two weeks & staying at some anonymous so-called luxury hotels my wife sank into the armchair & said it's just like home! On our return visit we stayed in the new wing - nice room but a bit ordinary. Good bar & coffee shop/ terrace. It's a great location, next to the sea, an easy walk up to the lido & Stanley Park & down to the ferry for Granville Market. Easy to get to Robson St for shopping or bike hire. Friendly & efficient staff, e.g. looking puzzled & annoyed in the foyer, a voice from reception said "your wife's in the bar" - sorted! If you don't want the hotel breakfast there are lots of coffee bars very close. The Vancouver style is so laid-back as to be almost embalmed - the Sylvia is just short of that, relaxed but efficient. Go there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2006Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom suite at the Sylvia for 4 nights and absolutely loved it.

Service was fantastic with no "airs" about it, the rooms suited our needs so well, that we completely packed out for our stay with clothes in the ample closets and dressers.

We ate at the restaurant numerous times (great burgers!), had a nice steak via room service and breakfast the day of our departure. The kitchen was fully functional and had room for seating for three.

The only minuses were that the sofabed could have been a bit more comfortable and that the windows reminded my husband so much of the opening scene from von Trier's "Antichrist" that he was constantly checking to make sure that they were locked so that our 3-year old son wouldn't decide to crawl out of an open window.

We were in Vancouver on one of the hottest days of the year (so far) and despite the windows being hermetically sealed by paranoid husband and no airconditioning, our rooms were never uncomfortably hot.

Parking was really easy (underground lot beside the hotel with 15 minute loading bays by the reception) and reasonably priced ($10 night).

A quick walk across the street and you're right on the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fashpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#42 of 92 in Vancouver
1,533 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,822 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#16 of 92 in Vancouver
2,363 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,904 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $119 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing