We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, very friendly, very Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
london uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, very friendly, very Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We were a party of six & we spent 3 + 1 nights at the Sylvia on the recommendation of a friend who knows Vancouver well. On our first visit we all had rooms overlooking English Bay, not quite as good as it sounds since dense trees along the sea front obscure much of the view but you still get the atmosphere. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned but that is part of the charm - after rushing around for two weeks & staying at some anonymous so-called luxury hotels my wife sank into the armchair & said it's just like home! On our return visit we stayed in the new wing - nice room but a bit ordinary. Good bar & coffee shop/ terrace. It's a great location, next to the sea, an easy walk up to the lido & Stanley Park & down to the ferry for Granville Market. Easy to get to Robson St for shopping or bike hire. Friendly & efficient staff, e.g. looking puzzled & annoyed in the foyer, a voice from reception said "your wife's in the bar" - sorted! If you don't want the hotel breakfast there are lots of coffee bars very close. The Vancouver style is so laid-back as to be almost embalmed - the Sylvia is just short of that, relaxed but efficient. Go there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2006Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    570
    134
    49
    35
See reviews for
289
608
124
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom suite at the Sylvia for 4 nights and absolutely loved it.

Service was fantastic with no "airs" about it, the rooms suited our needs so well, that we completely packed out for our stay with clothes in the ample closets and dressers.

We ate at the restaurant numerous times (great burgers!), had a nice steak via room service and breakfast the day of our departure. The kitchen was fully functional and had room for seating for three.

The only minuses were that the sofabed could have been a bit more comfortable and that the windows reminded my husband so much of the opening scene from von Trier's "Antichrist" that he was constantly checking to make sure that they were locked so that our 3-year old son wouldn't decide to crawl out of an open window.

We were in Vancouver on one of the hottest days of the year (so far) and despite the windows being hermetically sealed by paranoid husband and no airconditioning, our rooms were never uncomfortably hot.

Parking was really easy (underground lot beside the hotel with 15 minute loading bays by the reception) and reasonably priced ($10 night).

A quick walk across the street and you're right on the beach!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fashpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed at the Sylvia for 4 nights at the start of a 3 week holiday in BC with our teenage sons. We had a suite of two rooms next to each other with a separate door off the corridor which we could lock to give us private access to the two rooms. Both were very clean, well furnished and quiet. It was clear that the hotel was very old (1912 I belive) as there were signs of many changes and alterations. The main room had a well equipped kitchen and lounge, and of course for teenagers free wi-fi was a must.
We tried the room service one night & that was rapid and friendly.
We also ate in the hotel a couple of nights, the restaurant was fine, but not a huge menu. Breakfasts were always great.
Nearby we tried the Rain City Bar & grill - very nice but pricy and too nouveau cuisine for us.
Things we enjoyed doing:
* hiring bikes & riding round Stanley Park,
* acquarium in Stanley Park
* open top bus tour

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chismb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

We were recommended to the Sylvia by friends and wow did they do us a favour!

Arrival was smooth and efficiently handled and we were shown to the most wonderful view in all of Vancouver.

Our room overlooked the bay and had a total of 6 windows and each of them had a view. If only they had a revolving hotel then all guests could share this view.

Rooms are comfortable if a little old fashioned but that is part of the charm of the Sylvia with old fashioned service to go with it. No tea and coffee making facilities and no frills in the bathrooms but a comfortable bed and a very clean room and loads of ice for our pre dining drinks.

We did not use the Restaurant but took tea on the Terrace and were again served by charming people who did not hurry us as we were passing time on our way to the airport on our return from a cruise.

My wife left some shoes in the room and I asked the hotel by email from the ship if on our way back from our crusie we could pick them up and perhaps they would look after our luggage as we arrived back in Vancouver at 10am and were not leaving until our flight at 8.30 pm. This was no trouble and was handled with the same charm and efficiency one had come to expect from this "Old World Hotel."

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Exhotelier79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

We expected rustic not luxurious.
We expected windows with natural light and great views, not contemporary coverings.
We expected a bar/lounge where we could drink, relax and look out at English Bay, not big screen tvs and 5-star foods.
We expected the kitchen to have everything we'd need, and didn't think twice about the formica countertops.
We most enjoyed the proximity to the beach, to Stanley Park, and the history of the old place.
The furnishings are terribly dated but the low maintenance budget keeps the prices down, and we felt fortunate to have spent time at the Sylvia.
Only disappointment: coffee should have been provided for in-room, personal use. Not a big expense but would make a big difference to travelers.
ps: Spend the money . . upgrade to a larger room!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igettaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

We have been going to the Syliva for that last 12 years - we always go at the start of our Candadian trip and the end - great for winding down from work and long flight before heading out on our adventures. We love the whole set up - its like home from home - staff have come and gone but we are always welcomed back like old friends. We are never treated any different if we turn up with our backpacks on - or with our expensive looking luggage. On occasions we have filled our room with our camping gear and have received help to pack away and load up!

One year I was hospitalized elsewhere in Canada and on coming out out the hotel went out of their way to find room for us to wait a few days until a suitable flight home could be found -even in height of summer at their most fullest!

I cannot speak highly enough of the owners and staff of this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmaHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England
Level Contributor
207 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

This hotel is in an excellent position looking out over English Bay. We had excellent weather with a sunset so the view was great. Shops and restaurants are minutes away. Our room was not much biger than the bed and two people would never get in the bathroom, and only a midget would fit in the bath. We were there for only one night so it wasn't a big deal but I would try to get a bigger room for a longer stay. Best thing for our short stay was the bar area. Really lively on a Friday evening with friendly staff and a great atmosphere, if a bit pricey compared to outside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing