We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay in vancouver”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Peachland, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay in vancouver”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have been staying at the Sylvia hotel for more than 20 years! Great location and great service. Everyone is very accommodating, we love it there! Walk out the door and you are on the sea wall! Walk downtown to Robson .
Margaret Dushenko

Room Tip: Sorry keeping my favorite room a secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Welcome back, after 20 years you must know the Sylvia very well, thank-you for your loyalty and kind words. I enjoy reading and hearing from Guests that love the Sylvia as much as I do. The location and service is why people keep coming back. Thanks for staying with us again and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    580
    136
    49
    36
See reviews for
294
621
125
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Sylvia Hotel is beautiful, ideally located, and perfect for anyone travelling to Vancouver, especially if they have a pet with them. The staff was very kind to my parents and I, who were on our first family trip in a long time. We brought Honey (the dog) with us; it was her first time in a hotel. By the end of out three days in Vancouver, my dad was convinced that he would never stay anywhere else, and that there's no reason to leave your dog at home when going on vacation. English Bay is right outside the front door, Stanley Park (with an off-leash dog park) is a block or two away, and it is very easy to get to UBC and the Kitsilano area across the bay, either by car or by bus. With so many restaurants in the area, we opted to not rent a suite with a kitchen, and instead ate out or brought food up to our room to keep an eye on the dog. We did eat at the Sylvia Hotel Restaurant twice, and both times it was great. We all would highly recommend the Sylvia for its historic charm, friendly staff, and unbeatable location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeckaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank-you for your great comments and scores. We are a pet friendly hotel and we are the only hotel in Vancouver that does not charge extra for pets, some hotels charge $25-$30.00 per pet per night. The location is great for all the reasons you mentioned. We hope that you will return soon so we can serve you again. Remember to always call the hotel directly for the best rates and room types. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I love this hotel! Yes, the rooms are older, but it has charm and history and personality. The front desk personnel are top notch. I really like the location as well. One can step out the door and have a great walk along the English Bay, walk to Stanley Park, Robson Street, Denman, get an amazing coffee and light breakfast at Delany's and feel so at home you never want to leave. This is my fourth time here over the years and I like it more each time. If going to the fireworks or Pride parade this is a great location. We rented bikes and rode around Stanley Park, found a great Whole Foods near by and one cannot beat the views.

Room Tip: The room are all very different, some with water views, others with kitchens, larger ones with no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvialuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Well you picked the very busiest time of year to stay with us, Fireworks and Gay pride weekend is one of the busiest weekends of the year. The weather was great and everyone had a great time. Welcome back we always love to serve regular guests, thank-you for mentioning the service from the staff as they all work so hard to offer great service. Please do come back again when in Vancouver and please call us directly for the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in a two bedroom apartment on the 4th floor overlooking English Bay. The location is fantastic directly opposite the beach and within touching distance of Stanley park. The hotel has a great terrace bar stocked with a good range of drinks including draft beer from local micro breweries. As a family we eat twice in the hotel and the food has excellent. I was so glad we chose this hotel ahead of the newer down town hotels which were very much in the metropolis of Vancouver and for me looked more business traveller orientated. The family loved the hotel and whilst warm as no air conditioning and at the weekends slightly noisy I would go back to the hotel over and over again due to location, character and very helpful staff

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
You stayed with us during the busiest and hottest weekend of the summer, gay pride weekend with the three nights of fireworks, this city was hopping. Thank-you for mentioning that you will return because of the great service and location of the hotel. Please call us directly when making your next booking to get the best rates. You will be welcomed back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A delightful hotel in an excellent location. The building itself is lovely, and the views out across English Bay are beautiful. Stanley Park is just minutes away, and the West End is a real pleasure to stroll around, while the downtown area is only about 20 minutes walk or a short bus/trolley ride from the hotel. The staff are polite and helpful. My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago and didn’t want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of English Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank-you for returning for another stay with us. Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much you did not want to leave. My staff do work hard to offer excellent service and the location of the hotel is great for access to the beach or Stanley park as well as a short walk to downtown. We hope that you will return soon and remember to always call the hotel directly to get the best rate and access to all room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were looking for a quiet place to relax the night before my wife was having surgery. We came back to the Sylvia and it was exactly what we were looking for. Had a lovely dinner in our suite and relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I hope that your wife is ok? happy to hear that your stay was relaxing. Being away from the downtown core but close enough to everything makes the Sylvia an ideal place to stay. We are in a quiet residential area of the west end of Vancouver. Hope to see you again soon and please remember to always book directly with the Hotel for best rates and room types as we do not always put all room types on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
467 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I love a historic property and I an appreciate the quirky character of a classic original building. The Sylvia however, is a grande dame no more. The once crowning gem apartment building of the early century, converted into a hotel property retains its beauty and significance,surely. The ivy covered brick and the unique neon signage draw you into the cozy lobby bar for happy hour and nibbles and an unbeatable view of the sun setting into English Bay. But the rooms are part original character and part creepy retrofit. The charm of our huge sea side windows opening to the street was marked by the weird acoustic drop ceiling circa 1970. The charm of having an old skeleton type door key was marked by needing to turn it in to the desk every time you leave because only 1 exists. I didn't dislike the Sylvia at all, but for everything that I found charming I found something else off-putting, thus an average rather than anything better or worse.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms can be noisy at night but are also the prettiest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I appreciate your opinions, please try and let me explain or comment on your comments. First the key, we only issue one key to each room and ask the guests to drop off the key to control the loss of keys (this system has worked for over 102 years) it is the best way to protect our guests from losing keys and access to their rooms. We have only lost two keys since 1960, so we know the system works, plus it gives a chance to connect with each guests in a more personal way. The room décor, is unique is each room as we have tried to keep the heritage feel and look though out the entire hotel, each room is different in some way as the rooms are not cookie cutter like the chain hotels, I am sorry you did bot appreciate the ceiling tiles in that room. The Sylvia Hotel is not for every ones taste, we have a great location, wonderful staff and great service and the place is very clean and safe. Call us directly to book a room and come and see for yourself when travelling to Vancouver. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing