We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor customer service”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very poor customer service”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recently had to be in Vancouver for medical reasons. A reservation was made well in advance to feel organized and calm. A day trip was even undertaken ahead to check out which accommodation would work best for myself and a friend.. So, I looked forward to a quiet, calm, stress-free stay in accommodation with two beds and a kitchen, prepared ahead for a guest with scent/chemical allergies.

Instead, the Sylvia Hotel felt it appropriate to first, before arriving, argue about my reservation (blaming a reservation agent) - before agreeing to honour as I thought I had booked. Then, and only on arrival, inform that construction was ongoing since December with scaffolding, noise, and with workers walking in front of the accommodation windows. On viewing our booked accommodation this was indeed the case, with the windows filthy too.

As another quiet room with two beds and a kitchen had not been set aside, accommodation with only one bed and a pull-out sofa (full of food crumbs when opened) in a small sitting area plus kitchen, and which had not been cleaned ahead for scent/chemical avoidance, had to be accepted. A water view (with our plans - mostly only seen at night) was a plus, but came with busy street noise.

Very poor customer service under normal circumstances, but given the reason for visiting Vancouver, particularly concerning !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hornbyisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I am sorry that you felt that you did not get great customer service that we are known for. Guests are told when booking that we do not guarantee room locations only room types. This is because we have so many guests extend their stays so with limited room types are in high demand and rooms with a view are often requested but only a limited number of rooms have views. We do our best to match requests with the room types available each day, sometimes we are just not able to meet all requests. The renovations are being done at this time of year (because we have less guests at this time of year) and we are doing our best to keep the guests interruptions to a minimum, so far we have not had guests even comment on the construction. I am sorry that it affected your stay. We hope that we will see you again (maybe after the Reno's have been completed)?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    611
    146
    54
    37
See reviews for
307
652
126
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Sylvia Hotel is a great little hotel. It has a fabulous location -- near Stanley Park, view of English Bay, a short walk to great restaurants and shops. It is a quiet spot and offered a good night's sleep. We had a lovely time in the lounge having a nightcap and overlooking the lights of English Bay. It is very charming! We stayed as part of Dine Out Vancouver -- highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank-you for the kind words about your stay. The dine out package is very popular at this time of year. The views from the lounge at night are great even on raining or foggy nights. I would suggest that you join us on Wednesday or Thursday nights for the live entertainment. The location is great for so many reasons, thank-you for mentioning it. We will look forward to your return visit to the Sylvia; we have been here for 100 years and hope to be here for the next 100 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Perfect location, old world charm,lots of history, all the modern amenities, staff very helpful and engaging. Restaurant and Bar were 10 out of 10 great food and excellent service - best desert ever "Hot Lemon Meringue pie and Ice Cream!!!" we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdreor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
10 OUT OF 10, CAN NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THAT! Thank-you for your comments and scores, your comments will be posted in the lunch room for the crew to read. I know that the chef and food and beverage team will love to read what you had to say. I was happy to read that you will be back, remember to always book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room types as we do not always put all room types on the 3rd party sites like Expedia and Travel-o-city. We will heat up the pie for when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Charming Hotel !! check in was very quick after a long day of travelling ! Staff were friendly and informative. A great location close to Stanley Park and able to walk to beach and many restaurants . I would go back and highly recommend it to anyone !!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Great hotel, nice header, thank-you for staying with us and taking the time to write a few words about your stay. We that we will see you again soon and if you book again please remember to call the hotel directly for the best rates and room types and we do not always put all the room types on other sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We love the quaint/cozy nature of the building, the proximity to the vibrate West End ( and transit to other areas of Vancouver). Definitely a good deal given the location...location...location. We have been frequenting the Sylvia for many years and love the fact, after all these years, it still retains it charm and character.

Room Tip: Definitely try and stay in a bay side room beyond the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Charming, nice header, thank-you for staying with us and taking time to write. The location is great for all the reasons you mentioned. Welcome back and we do appreciate your loyalty. We hope that we can continue to earn your loyalty. We are looking forward to a great 2014 and we get to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed December 23-28th, visiting family up the street. We love this hotel, being close to everything including family. The food was great on Christmas eve, love our room in the new wing. It is very quiet, clean, and comfortable. Love all the new renos so far, and that tree outside the Hotel was so beautiful all lit up by the neon sign. The price is right, staff are great, friendly and helpful. It is our home away from our home. I highly recommend this hotel for easy access, great restaurants and shopping nearby, the beach and Stanley Park.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
What an exciting time to be in Vancouver, staying over the holiday season is my favorite time of year. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the service and quality of food and Beverage exceeded your expectations. I say that when we are compared to family or your home away from home is the highest compliment. We hope to see you again in the summer. Thank-you for taking the time to write and the great scores and rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My friend came to Vancouver recently to visit and decided to stay at the Sylvia Hotel. I live in Vancouver and was excited to see the rooms and lobby.
The staff were wonderful to both of us and paid lots of attention to the dogs.
I thought the room was very quaint and charming but updated and very clean.
She stayed facing Guilford so nice and quiet but with a view of the ocean.
The location cannot be beat with the beach across the street.
I will be recommending the Sylvia to anyone coming to Vancouver.

Room Tip: For the most quiet the rooms facing Guilford St but of course the Beach Ave ones would have a full o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
I see you brought your pet, great we are a pet friendly hotel and I think the only hotel in Vancouver that does not charge extra for pets. Thank-you for the great rating and scores. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. We hope you bring yourself and your pet back again soon. Please always call the hotel directly for the best rates and room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,397 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,696 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing