We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Comfortable hotel in an excellent location. Walking distance to Stanley Park, bicycle rentals, water taxi, restaurants, bars and, best of all, the beach. The room had a kitchenette and living room with beautiful views of English Bay. Because of the lack of air conditioning, we kept the windows open. The temperature at night for sleeping was comfortable but the open windows allow in a few mosquitoes and the noise from the street - mostly beach parties which can go on until early morning on the weekend. The bed was decently comfortable but in this day & age, I can't understand the use of flat sheets instead of fitted sheets on the mattress.

Room Tip: Kitchenette was great with full size fridge, microwave, full size stove. Get a room with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank-you for your comments about your stay. The location is the best in the city, close to everything and the beach across the street. To answer your comment about why we do not use fitted sheets, they are too hard to handle in laundry, it is easier and faster to work with using fitted sheets plus the quality of the non-fitted sheets are better. If you have every tried to fold a fitted sheet you would know what I am referring too. We hope you will return one day so that we can serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just spent the most marvellous 5 nights at the Sylvia. The staff could not have been friendlier, the room was fine and the ambience superb. Best of all they listened to my suggestion to change their gluten-free bread to GENIUS and it was fabulous for them to be so accommodating. We shall return and recommend this hotel to our friends, celiac and non-celiac. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank championglutard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank-you for staying with us for five nights. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the menu in the restaurant and that you took advantage of the gluten free items we have on the menu. We look forward to your return visit and again thank-you for taking time to write and the great scores and rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel, stunning location and the warmest of welcomes from a spectacular staff! This place completely won us over from pulling up out front, to check out. Sylvia Hotel has been on my bucket list ever since I lived in Vancouver in the 90's. After moving away we returned for a family vacation. Everything was splendid! We had a room with kitchenette. Everything was wonderfully appointed. The staff courteous, professional and really authentically friendly. We came for the feel of a historical building, but were also appreciative of the many upgrades. Abundance of hot water/ good pressure,speedy wifi, 2 elevators. All set in the peaceful small town feel of the west-end. I even felt safe enough to let my 14yr old daughter walk down the street to get her coffee/muffin in the morning!
If you're thinking of the Sylvia, I can't think of a better place to stay in Vancouver. It's the only place for our family. Thanks Sylvia, you were the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hairbrained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

I would like to thank-you for a well written review and you touched on so many things that future guests would like to hear about when considering booking a room at the Sylvia. I agree with you, I think my staff are great and fully understand what good customer service is and a welcome smile goes a long way. The area is safe and close to almost anything you would need in Vancouver. We are always trying to improve the hotel product and guests experience; however we are 100 years old. So you have one more thing crossed off your bucket list, happy that we were a part of that. We look forward to your return visit. What's next on your bucket list?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Sylvia is a comfortable old hotel right on English Bay and a block from Stanley Park. It's the perfect place to stay in Vancouver, because of its warm welcome, its price, and above all, its location, which is in a neighborhood full of house and apartments, not the hustle and noise of, say, Robson or Burrard Streets, and not down where all the cruise ships leave. Yet it's easy to walk anywhere from here in greater Vancouver, or you can use the direct phone in the lobby to have a cab arrive in a minute. The rooms are large with comfortable beds; the bar is great; the restaurant bright and airy. We were there during the hot summer of 2013, and though the rooms lack AC, we stayed cool because the building dates from the early part of the last century and the thick walls kept the heat out. No place in Vancouver is inexpensive, but the Sylvia delivers first class comfort and service at a reasonable price. It's lovely and definitely a keeper.

Room Tip: See if you can get to the higher floors with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank-you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Your kind words about the staff will be posted in the lunch room. Thank-you for mentioning the great beds we have because I believe that we sell "sleep" so the beds have to be very good. I hope that we will be able to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for one night in late July with a large dog. The location could not be better if you have a dog , plenty of walks and grass around.The staff were very welcoming and the lady on reception clearly loved dogs , the room was at the back with no view but a good size and quite cool since there is no air conditioning , rooms at the front although with a view must have been quite warm .It was another hot sunny day in Vancouver as it was for most of July.
We had to keep the windows open but since the room was on the second floor there was considerable noise from people walking past , talking loudly until around midnight or later so took some time to get to sleep. We ate in the restaurant and although the prices were average for the area the food was very average as well, not worth the price. We had room service bring breakfast to our room in the morning since we were leaving fairly early and it was very poor, it was only lukewarm and had clearly being standing for some time before being brought up to our room. If the food had been better then I would have given 4 stars . Location and staff were great , rest was average or poor. Would only stay again if we were travelling with a dog but would not eat here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank-you for mentioning that we are a pet friendly hotel, in fact I think that we are the only hotel in Vancouver that does not charge for pets. You are correct that we do not AC in the rooms but like other have said they like the fresh air. I would be interested in hearing back from you about your comments on the food or you could get in touch with the Food and Beverage Manager as I know she would be very interested in hearing your comments. Please also mention your experience with room service. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is in the ideal location to explore Vancouver, the West End, Stanley Park, Robson Street and is located near to many exquisite restaurants and bars. The lounge at the Sylvia is situated right across the street from the beach and is a great place to 'people watch' for hours. The restaurant is pleasant and has some good standards like the braised shortribs. The only drawback to the hotel is some of the rooms are a little outdated but work in continueing to bring them all up to date.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I also enjoy people watching from the Restaurant and Lounge as people walk and run along the beach on their way to Stanley Park. The food is great thanks for mentioning it; I will pass along your comments to the Food and Beverage Manager and Chef. The rooms in the hotel are not all the standard size as we have so many room types that if you require a curtain size or have special needs always ask the staff and they will looking what is available to try and match your needs to the available room inventory. We hope you will return for another visit and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We loved our stay at Sylvia Hotel! The location on English Bay is great for watching sunset, taking walks and relaxing after a day of touring Vancouver. This was our second stay & the "family room" in corner of 7th floor was roomy (separate bedroom with double bed) with beds for couple and 2 adult kids. Lots of windows and no air conditioning, just fresh air. 1 block off Denman St. where there are lots of small restaurants, bars and even Safeway. We used bus, taxi, and walking to get around town. Great stay for reasonable rate in big city!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as it's nice to open windows, but can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucklulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank-you for writing a view about your stay with us. I was happy to read that you were able to get around the city and come back to enjoy the food and beverage in the hotel and night and see the beautiful sunsets of English Bay. I have noticed more and more commenting how much they love the fact that they can open the windows for fresh air instead of the forced air from an AC unit. We all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#43 of 92 in Vancouver
1,512 reviews
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
824 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing