We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Sylvia and enjoyed it. I would stay here again, in fact, I might bring some friends up to the hotel in the Spring, because it's a good value and the location is superb.

This is an older hotel that has been upgraded. Rooms are adequate, but not deluxe and show a few signs of age, though overall they're quite comfortable and also very quiet. My room was very large, with very comfortable king-size bed and a couch and coffee table. The bathroom was clean and modern. Some parts of the hotel - hallway to rooms, stairway, elevator - simply need to be upgraded, though there's nothing egregious. If you've stayed in an older hotel in San Fran or New York, you'll be fine. If you're used to staying at modern, upscale 4 and 5 star properties, you might be disappointed.

The hotel has a truly nice bar / lounge area that serves drinks and salads / sandwiches, and also a very good restaurant that offers upscale entrees in addition to what is available in the bar. Our group had dinner in the restaurant one evening and both food and service were great, in fact, our server was outstanding.

Service throughout the hotel was good. Nice staff at the check-in counter.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It's in a peaceful area perhaps two hundred feet off the water, at the edge of gorgeous Stanley Park. Just walk out the front door and pick up any number of trails into the park, or the main walking path along the beach. It's a three minute walk to Denman street, where you'll find dozens of independent restaurants, a supermarket, pharmacy, etc. A few more blocks away and you're in the heart of downtown Vancouver, which means high-end restaurants and lots of shopping.

If you've never visited Vancouver, you'll be pleasantly surprised. It's a beautiful city that is calm and clean, with quality people.

-DS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 351C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for staying with and writing a review. I can tell that you are an experienced traveler by how well you described your stay. I will forward your comments to the Chef and Food and Beverage Manager as they always like to hear comments about how well their crew preformed. In fact I will post your comments in the lunch room as you mentioned all the crew in your comments. Like other guests you also see the value of our location. Thank-you so much for your great scores and comments, hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    588
    139
    51
    36
See reviews for
297
628
126
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A grand old hotel right in downtown Vancouver on the waterfront. In spite of renovations over the years the rooms are still a bit quaint, but with all the modern conveniences. The staff are helpful and the location can't be beat with lots of great restauants close by, including the hotel restauarant itself for breakfast especially. The morning views out onto English Bay are gorgeous. Go there, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucky48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
A well written review which guests will appreciate, thanks, the location on English Bay is fantastic when having a meal in the lounge or restaurant. The breakfasts are popular with hotel guests and locals as well or a quiet drink in the lounge watching the sun set is also very popular. Great scores, thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the location is fabulous on the west end. Many people from Seattle have been staying there for years. I found it to be pretty shabby-we rented a "suite"-the bathroom is a disaster-barely room to sit on the toilet between the wall and tub; piece of sheetrock clumsily cut to cover the area under the bathroom sheet. The stiff sheets did provide exfoliation with their low thread count!

Room Tip: if you do stay there, request a room with a view of English Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaramcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
The location is great and so many people drive up from Seattle and other smaller communities in Washington as a quick get away. The Hotel is 100 years old and "back in the day" all the bathrooms we designed small. However being small, they are very clean and meet most guests’ needs. Thank-you for your comments. Good tip about getting a room with a view, however those rooms are limited so book early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

For New Years 2012/13 we stayed at the grand old gal on the beach the Sylvia Hotel , we have stayed there before and we have never been disapointed . This year for new years eve we took in the festivities in the lounge and restarant . The food and service that night were excellent , the music was good everyone danced in the new year and had a great time. We were surprised by the quality of the meal and extras that night for a light $45.00 per person.
We had so much fun and after we did the polar bear swim and got warmed up in the lounge we decided to stay one more night .
You will not be disapointed by the Sylvia she will give you a small feeling of what Vancouvers beach area used to be like , you just cant get that from new concrete and steel .
The staff as always was very welcoming and freindly.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view of the water but the street view is fun too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
What a great way to bring in the New Year. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the events planned that night. I have heard so many people say that they had the best time and really enjoyed the meal and service that night. I will post your comments for the staff to read as they all work so hard to ensure that all guests have a wonderful experience. You are a brave person to take part in the polar bear swim, being so close to the beach helps get you warmed after the dip into English Bay. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love to spend a night in Vancouver a few times a year, combining a nice dinner out, an evening concert and then a short trip back to a nice hotel, rather than the hour plus drive home to the 'burbs. The Sylvia Hotel offered a Groupon special, so based on its reputation amongst our friends, it was a no brainer. We parked at the hotel (private underground) on a Saturday afternoon at check-in time and didn't move it again until we checked out the next day near 1100 AM. The Sylvia is located right on English Bay and nicely located because it was very quiet at night, but the center of activity during the sunny day; surrounded by cyclists, joggers and dog walkers. The staff were very friendly efficient. The restaurant, with its views of the bay, provided a terrific breakfast on checkout day. Considering that the building is over 100 years old, it is in great shape. Yes, the rooms might be a bit smaller by modern standards, but there's much to be said for 10 ft plus ceilings, crown mouldings and comfortable beds with clean linens. The #6 bus, a short walk from the front door, takes you to the center of downtown in 13 minutes. Lots of nearby restaurants and entertainment. Get a room facing the bay. Flat screen TV and no additional cost wireless wifi don't let you forget what century you're in. Will be back again...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I love it when I read comments from locals that stay with us. We have many guests that do exactly what you and your wife did, come into town, park the car, enjoy the event or city activity and then return to the Hotel for a great meal over looking English Bay and then an after dinner drink in the lounge. Thank-you for your comments about the staff and the service they offer, as I feel that they all work very hard to make sure that every Guest has a great experience at the Sylvia Hotel. We will always stay true to our heritage and hospitality and hope that all guests feel the same you way you did. Summer is coming, hope to see you again, maybe fireworks night?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

You can't go wrong with this hotel. I used my groupon to stay for the weekend and had a great experience. Great location , great view, has nostalgic feel to it. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Marvin!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Groupon was used for the first time at this hotel and we have noticed a lot of first timers staying with us. By your comments it looks like you will be back. I will tell Marvin you said thanks. Hope to see you again. Thank-you for the great comments and rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

First time stay at this historic and quaint hotel in the centre of vancouvers beautiful english bay!!!
Quiet, comfortable room overlooking the Bay looking dwn on joggers, cyclists and beaches. Near stanley park, shopping and restaurants. A real getaway from that cityish feeling, the staff is genuine and friendly with great service in the restaurant and hotel. We want to come back in the summer and do some cycling throughout the city and enjoy the beach and fireworks!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Welcome as a first time guest. Really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Summer is a great time to be at the Sylvia Hotel for all the reasons you mentioned, however there will be a lot more people in the summer. Hope you can come back, book early as we sell out every year from June thru September. THANKS again for your comments and scores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#47 of 90 in Vancouver
1,338 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 90 in Vancouver
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,395 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,479 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing