We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,562)
Filter reviews
2,562 results
Traveler rating
1,619
770
125
31
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,619
770
125
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews davie street granville island full kitchen jelly beans continental breakfast great location stanley park sunset beach waffle maker living room west end an executive suite front desk staff well equipped kitchen quiet street dining table secure parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,562 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really hesitate to give a review lower than three stars. As a regular reviewer and user of TA, I know that the one and two star reviews are often first looked at and yet are too frequently from one time posters or people with unrealistic expectations. This establishment met most of our requirements and would normally get 4 stars but for one major fail, more about that in a minute.

We arrived early and were able to be given a room straight away which is always a bonus. Rooms are very spacious with full kitchens. There are a few too many “do this/ don’t do that” signs for my liking but it’s not a game changer.

Breakfast is included, it’s simple but certainly adequate, you bring your crockery down, collect cereal, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and eat in your room, it’s certainly not a problem. There were plenty of towels, beds were comfortable and rooms were clean.

Go out of the hotel, turn left, left and left and there is a whole street of restaurants in a really colourful area to choose from, including a supermarket. Adrian on the front desk was very friendly and helpful and the price was good for an expensive town.

Now to the bad. We stayed two nights. We arrived from Alaska and on arrival took all our US change out it our pockets and left it in a messy pile on the table. Not sure how much there was here, somewhere between $7-$15, probably around $8-$9. There was a few notes and a stack of coins, including probably a dozen pennies. When we returned the first evening, it had gone.

We assumed it had been taken by housekeeping staff as a tip. Firstly, it was vastly more than we would have left as a tip, certainly on the first night of our stay. Secondly, it was in US dollars, not Canadian money, thirdly, it was in a messy pile and did not look like a tip which when we have left one, we leave in a neat pile in an obvious place and not spread around next to our camera bag and our passports. It was very presumptive of the staff to take this. If in doubt, it could have been left to the next night on our departure and anyway, it was way more than is conventional to leave for a tip for one nights servicing of a regular hotel room.

This soured our stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bad_Seed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location for us, a short walk down the hill to the beach and the ferries. Short distance from the grocery store and the room was great to prepare meals in. We stay here every time we're in Vancouver and we're never disappointed!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SianBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We appreciate you taking time to let us know your thoughts on your stay.
Our location is a fantastic starting point for any visit to our lovely city, as you discovered and mentioned.
It's always a pleasure to have returning guests, such as yourselves.
We'll see you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards,
David A. - Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was perfect in a tree lined street and only two blocks from lots of food and shops. Friendly efficient staff and lovely rooms. Great selection of breakfast foods goods baked on site and the aroma of baking a very nice way to start the day.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Road38881472399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to let us know your thoughts on your stay with us.
Having a great location to call home base is made even nicer when you're greeted with a friendly smile and hello. Our staff appreciate your kind words regarding the service you received during your stay.
It's a nice start to the morning when you come into a lobby that's smells of fresh baked goods.
We'll see you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards,
David A.- Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and very pleased with the location as it is situated off Davie Street in a leafy suburb. Hotel has 11 floors and our room is very spacious with 2 comfy double beds,a kitchen with plenty of utensils ,all perfectly clean,a small dining table with 4 chairs and a small balcony. Complimentary breakfast consisted of cereals,waffles,fruits ,bagels,pastries, bread ,juices and tea and coffee. All these are located in reception and you need to bring a tray with your bowl,cup,plate and take them back to your room as there are no seating places. Very pleased to have found this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again when I next visit Vancouver.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Doolie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Thank you for taking time to let us know your thoughts on your stay with us.
Our location is definitely a great starting point for any visit to our lovely city, as you discovered first hand.
Having a suite with a full kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping area, allow our guests to feel right at home.
We're always pleased to have a first time guest feel they've found a second home here in Vancouver.
We'll look forward to having you back on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards,
David A. - Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Great location at the heart of gay area. The rooms where big and comfortable. The staying included breakfast that the gusts take to there rooms why include full kitchen . The service was also good and welcoming.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yuval_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwayslookingtohelp, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on your stay with us.
Having a location so close to the beach, parks and of course Davie Village for great dining and sipping is a great start, we're pleased that you enjoyed it.
Our suites are some of the most spacious suites in all of Vancouver, again we're pleased that you enjoyed.
The full kitchen in each suite, allows our guests the opportunity to visit our variety of markets and create some dining magic of their own.
We'll look forward to having you back on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards,
David A. - Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews