We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,449)
Filter reviews
2,449 results
Traveler rating
1,550
739
117
28
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,550
739
117
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavie streetgranville islandfull kitchenjelly beanscontinental breakfastgreat locationstanley parksunset beachliving roomwest endan executive suitewell equipped kitchenfront desk staffquiet streetsecure parkingdining tablehome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 2,449 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We chose this hotel because it is not part of a chain and is in a residential area of Vancouver. Staff member (the pretty redhead from Vancouver!) was VERY helpful when we asked questions about getting to Vancouver Island, Victoria & Butchart Gardens. She even called a tour company and got us one that would pick us up at the hotel the next morning! Also received good restaurant recommendations. Only thing disappointing was the continental breakfast. There was not a designated room for breakfast and you are expected to bring dishes from the kitchen in your room to the lobby to fill with the cereal, pastries, or waffles. And the breakfast 'bar' was in a cramped hallway near the front desk. Everything else was good, so I wouldn't let that deter me from staying with them again.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Bobby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

After staying at the Rosellen Suites for 4 days we switched to the Sunset Inn. Not only was it less expensive but the room was much nicer (appeared to be recently upgraded) and overall we had a much better experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 502; no view but upgraded.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edtrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located in Vancouver's funky West End. The location is excellent. It has free parking and you can easily walk to downtown, Yale town or to the Aquabus stations on False Creek. There are lots of trendy restaurants and little shops in the area, too.
The hotel is on a pretty tree-lined street. The lobby is outdated and a bit shabby but the friendly welcome and customer service was top notch. Our room had a few updates and was very clean and comfortable. With free WiFi, parking and breakfast you can't beat it.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank rachaelk247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

My wife and me stayed at the Sunset Inn & Suites for one night prior to a cruise to Alaska and found it a clean and well run place to stay. We also stayed there on our return, but this was unplanned as we'd we'd booked an AirBnB to stay at for 4 days after our return to Vancouver, and before setting off on a roadtrip out to Alberta. However, upon arrival at the AitBnB we found it disgustingly filthy and stayed just the one night there.

The following morning we walked along Burnaby St to the Sunset Inn and Suites to enquire if they had any vacancies, explaining the situation the man on the desk who was most helpful. The only room they had available was their most expensive but we took it as we really didn't want to have to return to the AirBnB.

The room turned out to be one of the nicest rooms we've stayed in on our travels for a long time, spotlessly clean with a lovely big comfy bed, and being on the top floor, a nice view from the small balcony.

The only thing that we found issue with was the attitude of a female desk clerk who we thought was quite condescending when we asked her to call a taxi to take us to pick up our hire car. The rest of the staff we dealt with, even the cleaners were lovely though and they did help us out of a hole when we needed it, so thanks to the Sunset Inn and Suites are due for that. We were very grateful that they could accommodate us at such short notice.

Next time we visit Vancouver we will definitely stay there again. Had it not been for the female desk clerk this place would have deserved full marks

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

Fantastic location, quality and service. Highly recommend. Buffet style breakfast really excellent with self service waffles. Rooms kitted out to a very high standard. Lovely decor, and adequate small kitchen. Nice balcony with views.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomasmD3701LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews