We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
$412
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$258
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$300
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
$269
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
$274
Suttonplace.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$554
$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$366
$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$453
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveler rating
1,521
721
110
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,521
721
110
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavie streetgranville islandfull kitchenjelly beanscontinental breakfastgreat locationstanley parksunset beachwaffle makerliving roomwest endan executive suitefront desk staffwell equipped kitchenquiet streetdining tablesecure parking
Filter
Updating list...
2,190 - 2,195 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We were travelling with 2 small children and had a one bed suite which was spacious, clean and had a well equipped kitchen. Location is excellent as it is just around the corner from a variety of restaurants and bars. Parking is free which I believe is unusual in the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a base for exploring Vancouver, it was very good value for money. The only thing I wouldn't have been over excited about was the breakfast - it was very basic.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum_and_3boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed for 7 nights.

CARPARK
Entrance was at the back of the building. We parked our Chevy Uplander in the basement carpark on the first night.

It was sheltered & gated. However, we did find it a little tricky to drive up & out the next morning. For the rest of our stay, we parked in the open but gated carpark. However, we need to walk down a steep flight of steps before using the room card to gain access to the building again.

ROOM
The lift was small.
When we first opened the door to our unit 402, we were surprised to find the walkway equally narrow...we were bumping against each other.

The bathroom was small, the kitchen was small(fully equipped though), everything seemed "tiny". But it was nice, clean and definitely cosy. Just need some coordination when walking around.

The beds in the room was good. The pull-out sofa bed was the worst we had encountered. Even a 16kg kid could feel all the 'spring' when lying down.

There were days when we came back after 3pm and the room was still not make. Topping up of toiletries was slow.

Our room was facing the back alley. City view if you look far out.

BREAKFAST
Could bring the breakfast up to eat in the comfort of our room. On the first morning, I went down at 8am(B/f time 7 to 11).

It was just a small table that situated along a narrow walkway at the lobby. Trays and disposable cups were available. Although not much varieties, it was wholesome enough.

Read from other TA members re: 'going down early before the items run out', I had no problem with that even when I went down after 9am.

GENERAL
The staff (a tall young guy) at the reception was very helpful & approachable. He gave us a detailed direction of how to get to the carpark. He also called to make sure we had settled in on the night of our arrival.

Free loan of umbrella.

Short walk to dining & shopping.(one of our favourite:- Pho Central @ 1118 Davie St. Delicious, one of the cheaper & more authentic Vietnamese cuisine in Vancouver that we had found )

A minute walk to the Big Bus stop 12
http://www.bigbus.ca/

The street along Sunset Inn & Suite was dark.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cherryto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

There were 5 of us and our room had one king bed in a separate bedroom and 2 sofa beds. The living area in the room was fine but it was nearly impossible to get around in the room with both sofa beds open so we only opened one. Being July, it was hot outside and only the bedroom had a window unit, which was noisy. The other 3 sleeping in the living room were sweating all night. If you leave the windows open you hear the traffic and late night partiers coming home. The kitchen was not that well stocked for cooking. Our bathroom had some holes in the wall but you could tell they were trying to fix it up. The hallway smelled like cigarette smoke and the elevators were really small and took forever. The breakfast was basic but ok with rolls, juice, milk and fruit. We had covered, gated parking which was great but hard to get in and out of and you access it through the alley. The staff was helpful and gave us advice on tours and directions. For the price we paid, we didn't feel we got a very nice room or that the facility was updated. Wouldn't recommend the neighborhood with kids or young teens.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

My friend and I read the reviews of this hotel on trip advisor and decided to book. It was the best decision we made for our week in Vancouver. The room was spacious with a wonderful, comfy king size bed. The kitchen was a bonus and we enjoyed breakfast each morning at our dining room table. The bathroom was quaint and sufficient for two people. Loved being able to shower and bath. Centrally located to all shops, bus routes and the ferry to the market. The staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. The week still rates as our most memorable romantic getaway....thank you
SweetDee, New Zealand & Gerald - Canada

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SweetDee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed three nights here in November 2008. Stayed in one bedroom suite (for the three of us). Very clean, neat, new and spacious. Full kitchen and free parking were pluses. Easy walk to downtown area of Vancouver. Free breakfast very basic (but free). Would stay here again when traveling with more than two people (although my adult daughter said that the sofabed was not all that comfortable. She slept on the sofa the last two nights without pulling out the bed).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews