We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet place to stay pre-cruise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Sunset Inn and we loved it there. We were able to walk around downtown and see the sights. We were close to English Bay, and we were lucky to have a nice, sunny day our first day in Vancouver to walk there. We were able to catch the free trolley to Capilano Suspension Bridge Park the next day (too bad it rained on our way back). The front of the building was lined with gorgeous rhododendrons (my favourite shrub).

I am from the east coast of Canada (no, NOT Toronto!), New Brunswick. We stayed at the Sunset for two nights before our Alaskan Cruise. I am very happy we chose this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We loved our stay here from start to finish. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was absolutely beautiful--I could actually live there! Within a block of some very good restaurants, bakery and shops. Complimentary breakfast comes with the room and there is even a cappuccino machine in the main lobby. Our room was newly renovated and immaculate. Well decorated with a complete kitchen and dining room separate from the living room area. Bonus: 2 large flat screen tv's! Not your typically designed hotel. We enjoyed going out onto the balcony to take in the view around us. I would highly recommend this property. Well priced compared to other Vancouver properties in the area. This one is a keeper and if we ever get back to Vancouver, Sunset Inn and Suites is our place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 9th floor--it has some of the nicest suites!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toofungrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Happy, helpful staff and a large clean room. Close to a multitude of good restaurants. The one bedroom suite has 2 pull out couches, so there was plenty of room for our group of 5. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very helpful when booking in at midnight. Centrally located in Vancouver to shops and a short walk to Granville island ferry. Free easily accessible parking. Free very nice continental breakfast which you take back to your room.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front street would have a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crhsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Sunset Inn and Suites and a great budget option hotel in a super location. Located in a quiet downtown neighborhood, it offer a variety of accommodation types.

We booked a 1 bedroom suite that sleeps 4. There are 2 comfy pull-out couches in the living room. There's a full kitchen. The LR/DR is small but once the couches are folded up there's plenty of move around space. There's an usually large TV in the LR. It kind of made us all laugh when we saw. The balcony is a wonderful feature. The MB bed is queen and comfy. There's an ironing board and iron and a blow dryer in the bathroom, as well, a lock box in the closet.

They provide a basic continental breakfast, with self service waffles. There is a not a restaurant in the hotel but that is not an issue because Davies street is a five minute walk and there, there is everything to make your dream comes true - right on Davies Street.

The building seems that it once was a low rise of small apartment and has been converted to hotel/suites.

We stayed in room 305. The bathroom need some work - part of the counter is rotting as it meets the floor tile. Overall, the place is clean, spacious and comfy for 4 people.All ta a reasonable price or a well located hotel/suites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent three nights at Sunset Inn and it was the perfect spot for touring Vancouver. We walked almost everywhere (except for taking the ferry to Granville Island and it's only a few blocks to ferry port to do that). It was located in a semi-residential area, just a block away from lots of restaurants, several with long lines that had terrific-looking menus. We had planned to eat at at least one of them but on two late afternoons, we somehow ended up at Granville Island where the public market has the most amazing food selection. Since we thankfully had a kitchen, dining table and living room in our apartment, we ended up buying an assortment of salads, cheeses, meats and having meals in our room. We had been traveling for 2 weeks and had one more to go and were getting tired of eating out so this was a great respite--with fabulous food too. It would have been nice to eat on the balcony but it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months (one of the few complaints).
The kitchen was also nice for breakfast since the hotel's offering was pretty limited so you could buy yogurt and cereals and fruit of your choices at markets nearby for better variety.
Our neighbor across the hall had a very raucous party one night (loud was an understatement; the host couldn't even hear one of the guests repeatedly knock at his door) so we were surprised because although you could hear it in our living room, you could barely hear it in the bedroom.
The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Sunset Inn was a very good value for the Downtown area of Vancouver. The rooms were very clean and parking is free - although a bit tight. We were able to walk to most of our destinations. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,808 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,586 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $88 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing