We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visit family in Vancouver about four times a year. We found Sunset Inn about eight years ago after trying a lot of alternatives. This place is great! Very helpful and knowledgeable staff, from the front desk to the housekeepers and maintenance staff. One of the few hotels in the city that includes "free" parking in the room rate (many charge $25+ per day). Kitchen helps us save money. Parking in their garage and lot can be a challenge if you have a huge vehicle --- so rent a smaller one or just park it once --- and use the city's very good transit. Clean, quiet, well managed hotel. Easy walk to some of Vancouver's good restaurants and the Aquabus to Granville Island. Some posts have questioned the neighborhood. We are definitely in the "senior citizen" age group, and my wife and our daughters have always been comfortable walking around here, even late at night. Sunset Inn is one block from Davie Street, which seems to be the center of Vancouver's gay community. If that's a problem for you, well, that's your problem.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank randybloomington_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arriving for a convention, I was greeted by friendly and helpful desk staff. My Room was more than I expected for the price and the hotel has a fantastic central location. Very clean and newly furnished, a tv in the separate bedroom a compact but efficiently spacious suite with lots of extras. Kitchenette was an unexpected bonus feature- will use more on my next visit. Lovely staff and walking distance to everything I needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff is friendly and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and valued as a customer. That applies from the desk staff and management to the housekeeping staff. They are all equally great. The suites are exceedingly well equipped, very clean and modern. The beds are comfortable and views are great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The sunset inn and suites isn't your usual hotel or in. It in fact is something far superior and the quality of the welcome makes you feel at home away from home, I would highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great location about 10/15 min walk to Robson one way and 10 minutes over to Granville Island the other way. Great for families as there are full kitchens with dining and living areas. low key, with balconies. Secure parking out back.



  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

When I say just like home I mean it rained most of the 5 days we were there, however it is usual and you cannot have everything. Having spent 4 days in Whistler before our transfer to Vancouver and having fabulous skiing conditions I suppose all in all it was a fantastic break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The vrbo we had booked experienced a flood & thus we were put up in something of a penthouse suite at the Sunset. Having not explored Van before, we were helped by the front desk with all kinds of recommendations. Cleaning staff was very courteous as well. Great walkable proximity to just about anything you may need. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,010 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $105 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing