We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfortable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I booked this place after reading reviews on this site. Throughout my visit in Vancouver, I stayed at Sunset Inn and Suites on 3 separate occasions.

On our first visit, we were really surprised at how close the hotel is to everything. It is an easy walk everywhere eg Yaletown, Stanley Park, downtown, whole foods and grocery markets, restaurants. We walked nearly everywhere during our stay in Vancouver as we didn't have a car. But, if you do drive, parking is also available which is a big plus for the area.

If you should catch a cab from the airport, the cost is around CAD30, while a drop off to / from the Amtrak station is around $12.

The suite we had was ample for 3 adults. We each had separate beds, the beds were very comfortable after a long day out. The pull out bed is also comfortable not the lumpy pull out you get at most places but the mattress is quite firm.

The kitchenette is fully equipped and I like that they have lined the shelves as well as the oven shelves. Everything you need for light cooking is there although with the choices available in the area, you might not want to cook. Not to mention the fact that breakfast is also provided. The continental breakfast is sufficient to start the day, choices range from croissants to English muffins to pancakes and fruits and juices and coffee. I like the fact that I can have the breakfast in my room.

Internet and the TV was working - which was great for some downtime catch ups. It was also great to have a TV in the living room as well as the bedroom. If you need to do laundry, there is a self service coin operated laundry and dryer area too.

We had no complaints - the front line staff were friendly and most helpful, housekeeping kept the place clean, the location was great.. Loved this place ... we will definitely stay here if we ever come back to visit Vancouver.

Room Tip: I am sure most of the rooms have the same bed - which was most comfortable and ample pillows. Given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassychix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    661
    97
    22
    11
See reviews for
717
922
116
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on this site, and were not disappointed. Annabelle greeted us with a warm smile and great information on the area! The lobby and breakfast area are quite small, but it was fine. Our room was more than we had expected! A nice kitchen with everything we needed for a 3 night stay! A great little living area with a flat screen TV and a nice bedroom and bathroom. Very clean, except for the balcony which had pigeon "poop" all over it, and the windows which needed cleaning inside and out. Those two things were minor compared to the positives that we found. This hotel is in a great location and is an easy walk to Yaletown. We walked to Rogers Arena and to Gastown. Most everything is pretty close. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn & Suites and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an inexpensive, clean place to stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the front of the hotel. The other side can be loud and not as pretty of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomomma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed in the Sunset Inn and Suites for 6 days in October. Very central location for downtown Vancouver just off Davie street. The rooms are clean and inviting with a little kichen/dining area. Breakfast was a treat as you can make your own fresh waffles along with cereal, coffee fruit etc and bring it up to your room. Staff were most accomodating and friendly. Also a small balcony which was a bonus though the view was not great. Overall, if your looking for a decent place to stay in Vancouver at a reaonable price, I would highly recommend the Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: Get room with front facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel doesn't seem like much at first, but we had a very nice stay.

One of the things that struck me about it was that it is very compact. From the small lobby to the tiny elevator to the economy sized rooms, there is very little extra space here. That's not to say it's uncomfortable, quite the opposite actually. It's cozy and that is just fine with me.

The suite was much more modern than I expected. There are laminate floors and a nice decor. And the room was super clean.

The kitchen was more than we expected and had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hot pot, toaster and stove/oven. Real dishes in the cupboards were nice to have. Also, there is a dining table that seats 4.

The bathroom was small, but I appreciated a heating lamp and good quality toiletries (Bath and Body Works). They also provide a grooming kit with qtips and cotton balls as well as mouthwash, which I rarely see these days.

The king sized bed takes up most of the bedroom, but it was comfy. We requested a Graco Pack n Play for our son. It was in great condition.

Location is really fun, just one block down from Davie in the West End. Lots of restaurants just steps from the hotel.

The staff was very friendly. Loved talking to both the guys at the front desk.

The breakfast was okay. Breads and juice mostly. They do have a waffle station, but we didn't use it.

We would stay here again.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvisgirl317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel was so friendly, welcoming and accommodating on both occasions that we will not hesitate to stay here whenever we are in Vancouver. Elvis and the front desk were always ready to help, had great knowledge of the area and attractions and places to eat. The location looks out of the way but works well with good places to eat and drink on Davie street and still walking distance to most areas of the city. This worked for us as a couple and as a young family.

Room Tip: Rooms are consistent in standard across the building and depends if you want a view if so go for a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Excellent location to start with. In the heart of the city, a block away from the Davies street surrounded by coffee shops, restaurants, grocery stores etc. Do visit the Kin's Farm Market on the Davies street for your grocery and fresh stuff shopping. I went for my daily run from the hotel to the Stanley Park, along the sea wall that borders city's coastline wrapping around Stanley Park... enjoy the Forest Trails, English Bay, Beach Pools etc.

We (self+wife+5 yr old) stayed in an executive studio suite facing away from the Burnaby street (overlooking Davies street) with two double size beds... it was perfect size room for us. Interiors were newly done up, homely kind of feeling with a dining area, fully equipped kitchen with all necessary stuff required. Apart from the big window panes, the room also had a small balcony, which offered great views to the city skyline and mountains above the back alley.

The staff were very friendly and helpful...gave us tips, explained places on maps... we could pick up a few DVDs for my daughter from the reception and they had a decent collection for all tastes.

Beds by spring air, pillows - new and very comfortable, LCD TV, DVD Player, clock radio, iphone/ipod player all there... Internet speed was very good and uninterrupted. You can make free local calls. I could also take out free print outs from the hotel reception for my flight tickets etc. They also have different travel adapters, umbrellas in case you need one.

Newspaper was delivered well in time... housekeeping team was very good and each and everything in the room was spik and span. Toiletries in place and clean towels... They definitely deserve an applause.

Breakfast - little problematic but not a show stopper. There is no dining area due to space constraints. So, you have to carry back what you want. They have a small area where they lay out basic stuff in the morning - such as few types of breads, jams, butter, marmalade, fruits, 2-3 types of juices, tea and coffee. The best part was the waffle station... you can take the batter and make your own waffles. But if you ask me that was good enough to start the day unless you are too fussy.

Do ask for corporate discounted rates as I got a good deal after I discussed that.

All in all - highly recommended and I would love to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashimprabhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 8 nights here. We had great service, the rooms were spacious and clean. The beds are topnotch and incredibly comfortable. The hotel is minutes walk to most amenities. You can walk anywhere downtown in less than 45 minutes. We really liked having the separate living room and kitchen areas. The continental breakfast is adequate and the waffles were good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefromto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,717 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,517 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,381 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing