We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I had just left a poky room in New York when we walked into Sunset Inn and Suites. What a difference. The room was roomy, had all you could need including a kitchen and the staff were exemperally (cannot spell but you get the point). The hotel is situated in a nice neighbourhood, only 5 minutes walk to shops and buses and 10 minutes walk to the sea promenade. As we had no car we walked everywhere and caught the odd bus. Prices were very reasonable and 5 minutes walk from the hotel was a restaurant, "Denny's" this was also excellent.
We spent most days in Stanley Park and walking along the promenade. The weather was a nice 24 degrees
It was a bit strange getting our breakfast and taking it back to our room but we soon got into the swing of things, and if you find this too much of an inconvenience you can cook your own within your own kitchen as everything is provided (except food obviously). Everywhere was clean and well maintained and the reception staff were outstanding. Anything you wanted to know, one of them had an answer.
They even have a laundry which unfortunately I had tyo use but all clothes were clean and dry, including a denim skirt.
I cannot think of one negative thing to say and believe me that takes some doing.
Well done Sunset Inn!!

Dianne

Room Tip: A front room possibly has better outlook, but how much time to you spend in the room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nerys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Good facilities in the executive one bedroom suite. Free parking was an asset and the location couldn't be beaten. Very clean. Good range of kitchen utensils. Residential setting but near to shops, restaurants and cafes. We'd use it again very happily.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location on a side street in the West End and the 1 bedroom suite were both great! And, even more so, the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The only minor downside is that the continental breakfast was on the more basic side and not set up the best, but by no means a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street, not the alley; it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CASRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sunset Inn & Suites turned out to be a top choice during a recent trip to Vancouver, BC. We’ve traditionally stayed in properties on or close to the prime touristy areas on Robson Street, but decided to try a change in venue, and are glad we did. We had a suite with a king bed that looked to the south. The room was quite spacious, well appointed, and comfortable. The location was great if you want to be on a quieter residential street, while still within quick access to (by foot) shopping and dining). It’s also a quick walk down the hill the False Creek to catch the water taxi that takes you around various places, including Granville Island market. The parking lot, while cramped, offered secure, well-light accommodations for a vehicle. They offer a free continental breakfast in the mornings; however I found it odd that they charged a dollar to use the coffee/hot chocolate machine. I suggest they make that included and just charge a few bucks more to the room rate if they need to. We will certainly make Sunset Inn & Suites a top choice for future trips to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Sunset Inn & Suites last weekend. The room was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen was stocked with needed cooking and eating utensils. The hotel and the neighborhood were very quiet. The hotel is on a street of residential apartment buildings. However, it is only one block from Davie Street, with all of its restaurants, shops, and bars. Also only a 3 block walk to the water taxi to Granville Island. Wonderful location, great staff, comfortable room...we would definately stay there again when in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuckmics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Front Desk Staff was friendly, helpful and competent - perfect! We were - despite our booking through a Hotel Portal at a very fair rate - upgraded to a fully fledged flat with a spacious living room (maybe that's due to our three nights stay). The Hotel lies in a very quiet area, but still very central, within walking distance to Stanley Park, the False Creek Ferries for Granville Island and the Shopping district. The #6 bus stops a few steps away. The Continental Breakfast was an additional bonus. Maybe the coffee could be a bit stronger - but this is a comment from a guest who comes from the country where Nespresso was invented... On our next stop in Vancouver the Sunset Inn and Suites will be our base again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'll just get to the pros and cons:

Pros:
- location, location, location!
- accessible major tourist sites (walking, biking, bus, etc)
- great staff
- stayed in executive one bedroom. great view, balcony, full kitchen, separate bedroom
- clean, large room
- fair price for room
- free breakfast

Cons:
- breakfast area is really small so it was hard to get around people or get breakfast
- no shuttle to and from airport (not a big deal but would be nice)
- doors were really loud when they closed. sounded like you were slamming the door when you really tried to shut it softly

I've traveled a lot and I have to say that this hotel is one of the best ones that i've stayed in. It felt like a more "local" experience and the location just couldn't be beat. Great value! Thank you to all the wonderful staff (front end and housekeeping) for making our vacation a great one!

Room Tip: executive rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msoni_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,808 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,586 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $88 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing