We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great suite, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great suite, friendly staff”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Enjoyable time to be had in great suite - excellent location, friendly staff, fantastic view from apartment. Easy to walk to Stanley Park or pretty much anywhere in downtown Vancouver. It was like being in a home from home and the suites have all the facilities needed to have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    660
    97
    22
    11
See reviews for
716
921
116
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow,UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

These suites are very well placed for walking to English Bay, and the sea wall which lead onto Stanley Park. The ferry ride to Granville Island is also close as is downtown Vancouver.

We were upgraded to suite which was very spacious with separate bedroom, living kitchen and dining area. We weren't in the suite that long being out and about enjoying Vancouver most of the time and only minor complaint is that the windows are loose and the air con unit was fitted into a window which had open gaps all round, resultant external traffic noise was therefore very evident at night.

Place is spotlessly clean and kitchen facilities great if you want to cook etc - we only used the toaster a couple of times. We did use the laundry facilities which were greatly appreciated given we had been travelling over a week -$2 for the machine and $2 for the dryer well worth it with complimentary soap powder provided. The iron and ironing board were useful after the washing.

Breakfast arrangements strange in that the breakfast items are laid out in the reception area which is very small but again its ok - plenty of pastries croissants etc, fruit, juices and coffee. During week days a waffle machine with waffle mix is provided -overall its a very good start to the day and nipping down for the breakfast items which have to be eaten in the room was not a problem.

Front desk staff very helpful Davie, Bryan and Elvis -good at giving advise but would say the bicycle rental shop they recommended although very good is on the expensive side and would recommend shopping around for bike rentals

Overall good place and would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macGlasgow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Discovered this little gem while looking for a downtown Vancouver Hotel to stay at on a recent vacation to West Coast., Was drawn in by location and free secure parking. On arrival our room wasn't quite ready and the amazing staff even looked at upgrading us, but we were in no rush and our room was going to be ready by the time we unloaded the car and parked. Our room was amazing. Spotless, quiet and so roomy. Location is perfect and you can walk everywhere. Information in room with dining options including staff picks and what was within walking distance adds to the experience. Staff very helpful in providing information on the city and always acknowledge you when you are coming and going.
We were so impressed we booked again for upcoming visit in November. This will be our hotel of choice in Vancouver from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dundee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff were amazingly helpful and accommodating. The room was cute, clean, and most importantly quiet! Service was great and our bathroom was always clean. The toiletries provided are great, and the coffee in the lobby is super. Next time I am in Vancouver I will definitely be booking here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a very nice stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is within walking distance of plenty of things to do. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We were a little disappointed in the fitness room and the breakfast. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and watching the goings on in downtown Vancouver. We were also close enough to walk to the beach and take the ferry across to the market.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Locality is a quiet residential street, within walking distance to restaurants and downtown Vancouver. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were on the 7th floor and in the back of the building with a balcony. Very clean room with fridge and a stocked kitchen amenities. Comp breakfast with real waffles excellent. We will stay again when we come to town for concerts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to Vancouver for the first time and I was not familiar with the city.We were there to do the Sea Wheeze Marathon. We choose this hotel because it had free parking and breakfast and a fridge all which we needed on this trip. The hotel was a short walk to Davie street where there is alot of restaruant and coffe shops. It is also a 10-15 minute walk to Canada Place, where our race started from. There are many places to eat near here including an excellent gelato shop. The hotel itself is clean and tidy. The room had a complete kitchen with a toaster,coffee maker and utensils , dish rack ,soap etc.The kitchen was very clean and had everything really. The beds were ok, not great not bad. The linens were clean and of good quality. The room had windows and an air conditioner. I thought it weird the windows had no screens but noticed that seemed common to the buildings around us which included apartment buildings. The bathroom was also clean but a bit small with limited counter space. There was some noise as we stayed on a weekend but we were tired and really didn't notice it. The breakfast was bagels, cereal, fruit and juice. You took the items back to your room to your kitchen to toast etc and eat which worked out well. The parking was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only draw back on checking in was a strong smell of pine sol which I guess was good as it was clean. You didn't really notice the smell after. This hotel was not fancy but worked out well for us and we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpalardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,477 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,513 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,379 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing