We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great for family stays”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good location, good apartments, not good for sounds as you can hear noises from the hall, from the apartment above and construction outside.
Their breakfast is not very good and the so called "croissants" are horrible. They look like a truck went over them (really) and if you paid $200 plus taxes a night, you may feel insulted. However there are great places to eat nearby.
Other than "breakfast" and noise, check out by 11 AM seems too early.
The sofa bed is not firm or comphortable to use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    685
    101
    23
    11
See reviews for
745
943
116
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lovely location in a residential neighborhood just off Davie St. Our 1-bedroom king suite was comfortable and quiet (we heard city noises of course) for a long stay. We rarely heard our neighbors (although we saw them) and never heard the elevator which was next to our kitchen and dining area. Desk clerks were helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Excellent mattress, attractive furnishings, great shower. Thoughtful touches included enough hangers (2 dozen) and a surge protector with 4 outlets for all our electronics. Parking is free, but only about 25 secure on-site spaces for medium to small vehicles. Lots of taxis in the area. Free wifi worked well throughout the suite.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 6th floor, for added quiet and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The positive reviews are all true. Don't pay attention to the whines of those that want $500/night ammenities and pay $100-$150/night. In a nutshell...

1. Staff - We dealt mostly with Dave. He is by far the friendliest front desk personnel that we have ever come across and we've have traveled the world. The cleaning staff was friendly and quick. The reviewers that gave negative reviews regarding the staff must of been thinking of a different hotel stay or maybe they were the ones that were not friendly.

2. Rooms - every hotel has rooms that are better than others. We reserved a standard room but decided to upgrade to the Executive Floor (11th). The room was as other positive reviewers indicated. Yes the sofas were a bit uncomfortable. There were pull-out sofas. Who comes to Vancouver to sit on the sofa anyway? The room was immaculate. We had a huge 50-56" flatscreen in the living room and a 42" flatscreen in the bedroom. We were told that they have already purchased flatscreens for all of the rooms and were getting ready to install them. There was a great kitchen set up with a nice size stove, refrigerator, Keurig coffee-maker and microwave. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. They give you Bath and Body shampoo, condition and lotion and Neutragena soap. The floors were hardwood with a large carpet in the living room, tile flooring in the kitchen and bathroom. There was also a dresser and two closets for storage.

3. Location: Like another reviewer commented the location offers a great option to the cement and tall buildings a few blocks away. Great public transportation is available. We had a great view of the water and a bridge. Several reviewers complained of the noise coming from another building. Why would you lower the rating because of something the hotel had no control over? We have been in numerous hotels where that was a problem but we didn't blame the hotel. Ask the hotel about those things before reserving the room.

The neighborhood - Davie Street. Again, if you want Gucci shops outside of your hotel, then pay for the Four Seasons. Davie Street offered numerous ethnic restaurants as well as Subway, Denny's, Popeyes etc. We took a very short taxi rides to other locations for a variety of cuisines if we wanted a change of venue. We saw very few homeless people in the Davie neighborhood unlike further downtown where they constantly beg for money. People actually live in this vicinity rather than businessmen coming and going to their office.

Parking: Yes the parking was cramped but at least they offered FREE parking. Find another hotel in downtown Vancouver that has free onsite parking! If you don't want to deal with the small parking lot then go pay for a parking deck!

There is also small gym and laundry available.

Overall, we would definitely return to Sunset Inn in lieu of those huge downtown overpriced rooms. Definitely ignore the negative reviews and come stay at the Sunset Inn. Ask Dave anything about the area and he will get you up to speed! Thanks Dave for a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the water offer the best views. The Executive Suites are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed and was located in a neighborhood setting within Vancouver's West End. We locked our bikes in the secure bike storage and parked our vehicle in a gated compound with the friendly assistance of very genuine front desk staff members. The Sunset Inn itself is located in a quiet residential setting adjacent to the quirky but interesting environment of Davie Street.
Our room was exceptionally clean and quiet. The furnishings were evidence of a recent and very successful renovation and refurbishing effort. For a very reasonable price the hotel provided an impressive view of the downtown area, a full kitchen, continental breakfast, a newspaper each morning and a comfortable bed. From this location there were many options to investigate Vancouver using the many trails and routes established in this bike friendly city. A short walk and an even shorter ferry ride allowed us to explore the many shops and food options on Granville Island or by travelling the opposite direction a similar short jaunt took us to the upscale Robson Street dining and shopping area. If you want to discover what it is like to live as a Vancouverite, this is a great home base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My Mum and I stayed on Mothers Day weekend and enjoyed ourselves very much!
I asked Dave if he could put us near the top floor and much to my surprise he did. Thanks Dave! Pleasant staff, clean rooms and a full kitchen makes for a fun girls weekend. We might make this a tradition for years to come!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieAbbotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stopped here in August 2012 for a 3 day stay. We got a room on the 6th floor (I think) and it was wonderful. We didn't have many interactions with the staff, they pretty much stayed out of our way and just let us relax. With the living room, kitchen, etc. it felt more like a stay at a friend's apartment than a hotel. But with room service!

Easy walks to many enjoyable restaurants, comfortable walk to Stanley Park, etc. Next time we go to Vancouver we will definitely look up Sunset Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up. Lower down and you risk sitting over an unattractive alley, but by the time yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a good stay here for 3 nights in late April 2013 but I dont know that it is as fantastic as other reviewers state. The room was really nice with the 2 double beds and the kitchenette area was very handy. The staff pretty much ignored us the entire stay and only answered our direct questions. The parking situation was atrocious! THe spaces and carpark is so tiny and you cannot turn around or get out at all if the carpark is full. THere is no way I would have been able to park the car, luckily my husband managed but with difficulty.
The breakfast was decent but awkward trying to get it back up to your room. There is a great little cheap Thai restuarant just around the corner that you can bring back to your room to eat. Other than that we found the area of restuarants on Davey street a little wierd and unfriendly. Overall we had a good stay but I would probably look somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing