We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good value and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good value and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Second time we've stayed here. Great location for families with cinema and restaurants close by. 20 mins by cab from the airport. Good size rooms, nice people in reception. Very good value.. No pool or restaurant at hotel

Room Tip: The top floor suites for families are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackwatchtower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    630
    91
    21
    10
See reviews for
675
858
111
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

it is the 3rd time we stay over the new year. we have to made last minute schedule change due to the kids sick, and luckily the hotel has the flexibility to accommodate.

we did not get lucky this time for the big room, however, the 1 bedroom is comfortable for 3 of us. and we are able to walk down to the beach after diner. the room is clean and the cleaning service is good. they have both the baseboard heater and room air conditioning unit.

Still the same friendly service, and we tried out a few new dining option along Davis street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoppinghelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was a delight to stay at the inn with my wife and daughter. The hospitality of the staff was great. Service was absolutely great and warm. The breakfast was healthy and tasty. We really enjoyed our stay. Would come back again and visit the Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked a suite here after reading the reviews on trip advisor and have not been disappointed. In fact, at the time of booking continental breakfast was not part of the deal and we now have continental breakfast included. Inexpensive, yet in an excellent location, quiet, yet close to Davie Street shops and restaurants. It has had everything we could possibly have required for our trip. Most importantly for us, the promised kitchen was indeed a kitchen big enough and well equipped enough to cook a real meal in should you choose to feed yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

In our previous travels, we'd normally opt for well known brand hotels with regular guests rooms so this was our first experience with staying in an apartment-like accomodations. We were pleasantly surprised. This place has all it all, friendly and helpful staff, great location, clean rooms, lots of complimentary stuff (wi-fi/newspaper/umbrellas/continental breakfast/candies and etc) and many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. But what we enjoyed the most was the balcony....we were on the nine floor and had a very great view from our balcony,

There were a couple of negatives but only pertaining to the building structure itself. The elevators were small and the hall corridor was narrow. Maneuvering our rental car in and out of their parking lots (top and bottom) was a challenge in each entry and exit.

Overall, this place offers great value and if I were to give it a true rating, it is a 4.5 due to awkwardness of the building structure.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the frontside of the building, the backside overlooks the alley and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waccavbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Overall, this is an option for those who like the flexibility of a suite and don’t need a lot of expensive extras. I found a good online deal for the five nights I stayed, and had no surprise charges at checkout. I had a room on the second floor, which might have been a result of my “standard room with a deal” choice, but in December I wasn’t spending anytime on my balcony, so the floor selection wasn’t important to me. There is free Wi-Fi in all the rooms, and there is a computer at the front desk for checking email or doing a quick search, and the hotel offers free printing of airline boarding passes or similar one page requests.
The room I had did not have the best soundproofing and it is further reduced because of the hardwood floors in all the rooms except the bedroom. That meant I heard the child playing in the room above mine, and I could hear the TV on from the other rooms, sometimes rather loudly, but everything depends on how much time you spend in the room of course. I woke up to noise in the outside hallway, as it is rather small, but usually only in the mornings. It depends on your floor mates and when the cleaning staff arrives. The noise from the outside is minimal.
The front desk staff was courteous and helpful, always available to provide suggestions/recommendations, answers or solutions.
The neighbourhood is quietly residential with an excellent choice of various restaurants minutes away on Davie Street, about a 10-minute walk away from the English Bay beach and ferry taxi to Granville Island, and about a 25-minute walk from downtown if walking is your preference. On Davie Street, just at the corner of Thurlow (the nearest intersection to the hotel on Burnaby Street) you have a Starbucks and a Denny’s across the street from each other, a 24-hour Shoppers Drug pharmacy just west of that, and few more blocks west there is an Independent grocer.

Room
The rooms are well designed and clean. Housekeeping does a good job, but I would advise leaving the “Make Up the Room” card AND advising the front desk when you are returning to ensure that the room is cleaned before your return. There are a variety of paper recycle bins at your disposal, and any other recyclable materials I left under the sink.
The bathroom had nice thick towels in abundance, a hair dryer, a makeup mirror, and the usual amenities, including a decent-sized bar of soap for bath/shower use. To be environmentally friendly you can choose to not have the towels be replaced every day.
The bedroom had a comfortable king-size bed with four pillows, when a lot of the similarly priced hotels I looked at offered “large double beds”, a large digital clock radio, and a decent chest of drawers and a phone. There is a thermostat in both the bedroom and the living room to give you added flexibility on temperature control. For the energy/environment conscious, you have an option to not have the bed linens changed everyday.

The kitchen is well stocked with cooking pots, cooking & regular utensils, glasses and dishes given that most travellers will not be cooking up a storm. The iron and ironing board are stored in a closet here. As far as appliances, there is a coffee pot, electric kettle, toaster and microwave. There are dish towels, paper towel, liquid detergent and a dish rack for cleaning up, but if you prefer the hotel does offer a kitchen cleaning at $25/day + tax.
The living/dining area is spacious and contained everything I needed. The dining area had a round table and four chairs in a space between the kitchen and living room areas. The living room had a desk with a recharging powerbar and a phone. Off the living room is the entrance to the balcony, where there are two lounge chairs and a little coffee table. I wasn’t visiting at a time of year when a balcony would be useful, and as it rains a lot all year round, Vancouver may not the most balcony-friendly city, but it’s a nice touch. The living room has a couch that is also a pullout bed, an armchair, plenty of lights, a good-sized coffee table and a TV with cable and a separate DVD player. The hotel offers free DVD movie rentals and has a decent selection to choose from. The TV is older, but perfectly functional, and there are instructions on how to it and all the remotes.
There is a safe to store your laptop and other valuables, which I always use whenever I’m on a vacation somewhere. It’s not that I don’t trust the staff, just a preference to be security conscious.

Amenities
Your day starts with a national newspaper delivered to your door every day except Sundays. From there you go to your kitchen for a bowl, a glass and a coffee cup and descend downstairs to the lobby for the complimentary continental breakfast offered from 7-10am. Breakfast choices include two juices, coffee & milk, two dry cereals, a fruit basket with apples, oranges and bananas, assorted breads croissant/bagel/English muffin/bread which can be toasted back in your kitchen with jams & butter packets in the refrigerator, all items can be loaded onto the trays that are provided and be brought back up to your room to enjoy at your leisure. You have a daily complimentary coffee packet for the machine and there is a new multi-coffees (60 versions) machine in lobby should you like coffee before or after the continental breakfast hours.
For the Christmas season the hotel had complimentary afternoon snacks from 3-6pm with cookies, clementines, and packages of apple cider. And a treat I liked best, jellybeans were available most afternoons and evenings.
As it rains on a regular basis, there are complimentary umbrellas available at the front desk, which eliminates the need to pack one yourself.
There is a small exercise room in the front off the lobby where you will find three cardio machines and some free weights for the more fitness-conscious traveller.
If you arrive after 11pm, you’ll need your room card to gain entry to the hotel, which is a security feature I liked when I discovered it on my way back one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great location, good value & friendly service. Excellent one bedroom apartment with two sofa beds, fully equipped kitchen & all necessary amenities. Staff are friendly & helpful. Just round the corner from Davie St were there are lots of good restaurants. Easy to walk from this location to get the Sea bus to Gramville Island or go shopping on Robson st.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Davie Village
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing