We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vancouver Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Vancouver Stay !”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a great stay- unfortunately we only had one night. The suite was well equipped and very comfortable. The desk staff were very welcoming and actually looked as if they enjoyed their job :)
This was the third hotel that we stayed in over the weekend and I have no hesitation in saying it was the best by far!
We will return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amblesidebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    674
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
731
932
116
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the only place to stay when visiting Vancouver!! The staff are amazing and the rooms are fantastic. everything is in walking distance including shops, restaurants, clubs and English Bay. I will never stay anywhere else when visiting beautiful Vancouver!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob18932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Highly recommend this great hotel in west end Vancouver. Great staff, lovely 1-bedroom apartment in great neighbourhood. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping & English Bay. Had a wonderful time. Will definitely stay there on our next visit to Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my third trip to Vancouver, and my second trip with my friend. However, this was our first trip since she has been certified completely blind, therefore our criteria were different than the last time we were in the city in 2010.

Primarily, we needed somewhere quiet, preferably a suite, but also somewhere with easy access to transit and shopping, as I don't drive. I had stayed on Burnaby Street in 2007, so knew that the street fitted the bill when it came to somewhere quiet and with easy access. Another friend had stayed at the Sunset Inn in 2009, and, remembering her photos, I checked out their website. While it was more expensive than some other suites, it seemed perfect for our needs, and the free breakfast was an added bonus!

We booked an Executive one bedroom suite, and made a request to face False Creek, as it was my friend's birthday while we were out there, and, though she is certified blind, she still has some sight, and loves water views. On arrival, we were delighted to discover that this request had been granted!

The suite itself was spacious and well laid out, which is a must when one of your party is blind. It had dual aspects, with the living area facing onto False Creek, and the bedroom looking out to the North Shore Mountains. 10th floor, by the way, is high enough for most of the traffic and street noise to be all but inaudible, making for a wonderfully peaceful stay. The kitchenette was well equipped, although the fridge was VERY loud, which made sleeping in the living area difficult for me at times. The bathroom was small, but clean and well appointed - to be honest, it did the job, which was all we wanted.

The desk staff - Elvis, Arabella, and a brilliant Asian guy (sorry, never did get his name) especially - just can't do enough to help, and Elvis even took on the challenge of finding us a decent beef dip for my friend! The jellybeans on the desk were much appreciated too! Breakfast is continental - whatever you do, don't forget to take your own crockery downstairs, otherwise you end up with something along the lines of a croissant daily!

The hotel is well situated, less than 5 minutes' walk from Sunset Beach, even with my friend using her white cane to help get around, and no more than about 20 minutes from most other parts of downtown. Davie Street is cosmopolitan, with some great restaurants and bakeries etc - I recommend Transylvanian Traditions' chocolate rum cake fr a decadent treat, and the pancakes at Hamburger Mary's on the corner of Davie and Bute (one block from the hotel) are divine.

My one beef was with the tardiness of the cleaners, although we did discover, somewhat belatedly, that we could have requested earlier cleaning. We went out hiking most days, and usually got back late afternoon, when the cleaners were either just starting, or hadn't yet been in at all.

However, that didn't take away from a wonderful week in a wonderful hotel - can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade to an executive room to be higher up to ensure very little street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anise76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here from Oct 19th - 26th, 2012. It was recommended by friends who had stayed here on several occasions. Initially we decided on Sunset Suites due to their recommendation and also the free parking and continental breakfast. (A close by similar highrise suite hotel charges close to $18 a day parking and has no breakfast).

Front staff are friendly and helpful. My wife and I had rented a standard one bedroom for the week. My wife has a physical disability and requires hand bars around the bathtub / shower. Our room didn't have them and there was a concern of her falling - getting into and out of the bathtub. We spoke to Elvis (front staff extraordinaire) who upgraded us to an executive suite with a walk in shower (safer for my wife). This was a $30 per night upgrade (included various upgraded amenities over the standard room) which when I inquired about paying, Elvis said "Don't worry we'll take care of it."

Sunset Inn is central to downtown - lots to do.

The rooms are spacious, kitchens well equipped, furniture comfortable, extremely comfortable mattresses etc.

The cleaning staff was also very friendly. They cleaned our suite efficiently as three of them cleaned the room at the same time so they were in and out quickly. We were surprised that for a weekly rate they came to clean our room daily. While waiting at the elevator in the lobby with my hands full of the breakfast tray, a cleaning lady came up and said, "You're on floor 10 aren't you - can I press the elevator button for you". I was amazed that she would remember what floor I was on.

Continental breakfast includes bread, croissants, English muffins, 2 different cereals, lots of fruit (oranges, bananas, apples), coffee, milk and lots of different spreads (peanut butter, marmalade, jams etc).

Upon leaving yesterday, the gentleman at the front desk (manager?) was quite concerned about the hotel's ability to accommodate my wife's disability regarding hand bars in the bathrooms. He advised that he would review suites regarding the installation of hand bars to accommodate guests with physical disabilities.

We will definitely return to the Sunset Inn and Suites!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent a week in Vancouver in October. Our first visit to this lovely city. Sunset Inn Suites made a perfect base for our explorations. Roomy studio suite, comfortable beds, great amenites, fully equipped kitchen for self catering after long days of sightseeing, close to shops,restaurants, transport, English Bay , Granville Island , Stanley Park etc. Friendly and very obliging staff. Fast free wifi. Simple but adequate free breakfast. What more can I say. Would return again.

Room Tip: Executive studio with two double beds on the seventh floor. Quiet for a city with a view across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

the staff and the space and the location are unbeatable. Affordable and accommodating! We had a very nice suite, the little balcony is a nice way to hear the city. Davie street is around the corner but the room was very quite. We had such professional and kind front desk staff. The breakfast is simple but they encourage you to take it to your room, so you really get the privacy you want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan4349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing