We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
$467
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$344
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$163
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
$414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$324
$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$491
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$540
$460
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$307
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$465
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,392)
Filter reviews
2,392 results
Traveler rating
1,520
721
110
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,520
721
110
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavie streetgranville islandfull kitchenjelly beanscontinental breakfastgreat locationstanley parksunset beachwaffle makerliving roomwest endan executive suitefront desk staffwell equipped kitchenquiet streetdining tablesecure parking
Filter
Updating list...
2,226 - 2,231 of 2,392 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at The Sunset Inn for 7 nights in an one bedroom executive suite. We had lovely views from the 7th floor, all be it in between other buildings, looking out to English Bay and Burrard Bridge.

I had decided on this hotel based on other reviews as we had 5 year old with us and we wanted somewhere in a decent part of town. It is near the gay part of vanocuver but it looked no different to any other major city. We felt quite safe.

The neighbourhood was fairly quiet which was great! The street was very appealing.The hotel is 2 blocks from Davie Street with resturants and supermarkets a short walk away..
English Bay is about a 10 min walk down hill. Lovely sunsets! As is the water taxi to Granville Island, Telus Science Centre and GM Place.

The free breakfast (starts at 7am) was good which you take back to your room. . Mini bagels, fruit, muffins, cereals... I thought a good choice. We were in a room with kitchen facilities so we had our own milk etc... but that is provided if you do not . The kitchen in our room was stocked with all you needed (except food) and we used it alot during our stay.

The pull out bed in the living area was quite comfortable and we had plenty of pillows and blankets.

Overall I would definately recommend the Sunset Inn and Suites.. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Sal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

it is very nice and convenient for the clean kitchen and dining table, and providing simple sliverware to use. neighborhood is close to many good restaurant. bed and bathroom were both clean and comfortable. walking distance to stanley park. great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tc2044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

The first impression wasn't the best. The lobby was small and the street too quiet. The neighborhood was a touch rough and the parking lot was through a small and dirty ally. But after getting to the room, the impression changed. It was a very spacious apartment and clean. It met and exceeded my expectations. It was a very comfortable stay for my wife and I. A good deal.

Only two minor minuses. The front desk staff wasn't the most knowledgeable and while not unfriendly, not overly friendly either. The wireless Internet kept dropping throughout our stay.

Other than that, it was a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KingWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Great location for a low price. Spacious albeit dated interiors. Very adequate kitchen. Big apartment suites. Its situated right opposite the Hostelites International in a quiet and probably forgotten part of downtown Vancouver. However, almost 24 hours supermarket (Supa Value), Denny's, Starbucks, KFC, Japanese restaurants, Chinese takeout, Korean groceries and much more within a 5 minute walk from hotel. If you rent a car there is a covered carpark at the back of the hotel. Useful especially in winter. My family of four had an enjoyable time in Vancouver and the location of this hotel was helpful in accessing areas like Stanley Park, Lions Gate Bridge, and of course just being downtown. Highly recommended for value travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CiviCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

After having spent one week at the Sunset Inn along with my husband, we having nothing but praise, both for the apartment and the staff. The apartment was well furnished, bed comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. The bonus was the complimentary breakfast which we collected each morning from the foyer and ate in the comfort of our apartment.
We found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful, especially Paul and Dean. We booked all our tours at the front desk and got lots of advice on the best trips. We were able to leave some luggage there for 3 days when we took a trip to Whistler, which incidentally was wonderful.
The location of the Sunset Inn is great on a quiet street, and a lovely walk downhill brought us to English Bay. On our return from Whistler we even had an upgrade to an executive suite for one night. We had a marvellous holiday in Vancouver and found the Sunset Inn to be a great place to stay and such great value.

Stayed: September 2007
6  Thank SarahNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews