We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms great--service needs and upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Rooms great--service needs and upgrade”
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My husband is a repeat visitor to this property, but for the rest of our family, it was our first time.
On the plus side, we were upgraded to an executive room, so we got to experience the best they have here at Sunset Inn. The room was quite nicely decorated for the most part (the kitchen appliances could use upgrading), and the room was very spacious (a large one bedroom). The downsides were: room is not well insulated from noise, shower either not working or too confusing to figure out (neither a good situation), the breakfast was marginal and completely self serve (so, no one to assist or explain where things are, etc.), and the front desk staff really seem uninterested and unfriendly.
Another downside was at check out, we had to take our luggage down 7 flights of stairs because the elevator stopped working. The front desk person didn't offer an apology for the inconvienience or anything! Also, parking is quite tight here....tricky to get into the lot. If you have a large vehicle, it will be a major challenge!
Overall, a great choice if you have a larger group or require a kitchen. I'd advise buying breakfast supplies and making your own.

  • Liked — Room size and view
  • Disliked — Front desk staff not very polite or helpful, room fairly noisy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cynlouhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    660
    97
    22
    11
See reviews for
716
921
116
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Sunset Inn and Suites is a great place to stay. It was located on a quiet street but still within walking distance of a lot of Vancouver sights.

We booked through Quickbook and got a really good rate. The rooms are large with everything you need. King bed was comfortable and huge. The decor is not very modern but it is functional and as the week progressed we appreciated our extra space.

And, the friendly and helpful staff at the hotel were great - with none of those pesky little extra costs that other higher priced hotels charge.

  • Liked — Large room and space
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wilees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

The Sunset Inn and Suites is situated in a quiet street centrally in Vancouver and offers free, secure parking. The apartment we stayed in was freshly renovated and included a small but well-equipped kitchen. You'll find plenty of restaurants, a supermarket and banks just around the corner of the hotel.

The wifi connection was included in the price of the room and worked very well. Breakfast was also included, only slightly inconvenient that we had to take it back to the apartment to eat it.

Also loved the fact that they had a laundrette, so we could wash and dry some clothes (at a charge) while we were staying there.

Loved this place!

  • Liked — The freshly renovated apartment and the location
  • Disliked — Could hear the doors of the other apartments on the same floor slam shut
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Sunset Inn & Suites a year ago and loved everything about this property so we booked again this year. We are in Vancouver for two nights prior to an Alaska cruise. We would certainly rate this hotel a great choice because of the friendly helpful front desk staff. We also love the location in a quiet residental area with an easy walk to Stanley Park and to the ferry landing to Granville Island. We enjoyed nice walks to the grocery story to get items to eat in our very complete and functional kitchen. When visiting Vancouver, we will always stay at the Sunset Inn and Suites.

  • Liked — Suites, Front Desk Staff, Location, Free Internet, Continental breakfast, Free parking
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jakeshunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at the Sunset Inn & Suites for three weeks during 2006. We were staying in Vancouver for a kidney transplant, and we had multiple family members flying in and out during the three week stay. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite.

The staff consistently went out of their way to make our stay easier. From the cleaning staff to the front desk, these people were fantastic. They gave us the impression that they would do literally ANYTHING to make our stay more comfortable! The front desk staff were particularly flexible with different numbers of people staying different nights; ie/ two people this week, three over the weekend, etc.

I highly, highly recommend this hotel. It was sparkling clean, close to St Paul's and Davie street, quiet and friendly. The kitchenette was so well stocked that we made 75% of our meals in the suite. I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn. I recommend it to all my friends. You won't regret this choice!

  • Liked — The friendly staff!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyCamper96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

We stayed here in August in a one bedroom apartment on the ninth floor. Although the view wasn't amazing so we didn't use the balcony much, the apartment was clean and large and had everything we needed. All the staff we encountered were incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly the cleaning staff who were lovely! The hotel itself is in an excellent location and they even provide a free continental breakfast in the lobby until 11am. We stayed in a couple of other places in Vancouver but this was definitely our favourite.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed here in mid-August (high season) for $209 (Can.) per night, which came to almost $250 (Can.) per night with taxes. We were scheduled to stay for 5 nights, but ended up checking out early. Our first room was on the 2nd floor facing the alley. The room smelled like deodorizer, and I immediately suspected that we were on the smoking floor. The front desk confirmed that the second floor was for smokers, so we asked to move to a non-smoking floor. We were then put in a 1 bedroom on the third floor facing the front of the building. A group of young people (at the oldest in their early 20's) were staying in the room next to ours, and they were in and out of their room, partying and talking in the hall at all hours of the night. We heard three of them take a cab to the airport at 4 am. The next day, I asked at the front desk whether this group had checked out, and the person at the front desk said that they wanted to stay another day, but he was going to tell them they had to leave because they were too much trouble. After that, the floor was mostly occupied by families with young children who allowed them to run and play in the hallway. The apartment itself was comfortable, but on the small side. When the sofa bed was unfolded, it filled the entire living room, and no one could make a cup of coffee in the kitchen without disturbing the people on the sofa bed. Our overall impression was that we overpaid for what we received -- especially since the Hyatt was running a special for $118 (Can) per night during out stay. If you want to give the Sunset Inn a try, definitely make sure that you are on one of the upper floors in the larger, refurbished apartments.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,478 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,513 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,379 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing