We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I choose this hotel over the newer Marriott which was across the street from the Renaissance because I wanted a harbour view from my room. The view was limited due to a new high-rise being constructed between the hotel and the shoreline. This was not a major upset as we still commanded some pretty nice views but the room was well-worn and outdated. I normally have room service once or twice but the menu was very limited as were the availability of the restaurants in the hotel. We ate at the buffet for breakfast which was pricey for what was offered. Service was very slow if you ordered anything from the kitchen (e.g. an omelet). Also, the overall ambiance of this hotel is 'dark'. I am use to brightly lit lobbies, corridors and rooms. This was not the case here. I would not recommend this hotel given better choices nearby such as the new Marriott across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,767 - 3,773 of 3,985 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2007

One night stay due to the Marriott Pinnacle being fully booked for my last day in Vancouver. Just across the street, so I was at the front desk in seconds. Efficient check in and got my room immediately despite being early, nice room with view of sea. Slightly tired decor, but clean and comfortable. Seems to be more of a tourist hotel than the Pinnacle, lots of coaches so if you are unlucky it could be a long wait to check in. Room rate was very high for the quality of accommodation on offer. But no real complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My thoughts on this hotel are almost exactly the same as Paris-Amsterdam, the previous reviewer.

The high points of this hotel:
* The views of the water and snow-capped mountains - breathtaking (but becoming a bit more obstructed with new construction)
* Location - within easy walking distance to Vancouver Art Gallery, Robson area, etc.
* Some nice touches - such as heated tiles on the bathroom floor, a better-than-expected bar and restaurant (serving lunch and dinner) that also overlook the water and mountain view, recycling bins in each hotel room

On the "needs improvement" side of things:
The room itself and the general decor of the hotel did look a bit dated and worn. My first impression of my room is that it looked kind of like a guest room at an older relative's house, with nicer bedding. The decor didn't seem coordinated in any kind of way. The room was smaller than expected, but it was nice that the windows opened (note that not all the rooms have a balcony -- mine didn't), and the Vancouver air was cooler and far less sticky than the Southern US air these days. There was some noise from the construction across the street, so I just closed the windows during the working hours on the weekdays. All was tranquil at night.

I was pleasantly surprised how good lunch in the hotel restaurant was. I ate some of the best halibut I've had in a long time, and the service was top notch. I ate breakfast in the other hotel restaurant, Patina, which is open only for breakfast, and that involved a decent breakfast buffet with so-so service. There is a revolving restaurant on the roof of the hotel, a place called Vistas, and the food there was good, and the servers were attentive. Though it's a bit pricey and a little touristy, the views make it a must-see for those new to Vancouver. We went around sunset -- gorgeous.

I visited the workout area -- several cardio machines, and some free weights and cardio. The surroundings look a little dated, too, but the equipment was great for what I needed. Afterwards, I spent some time out on the adjacent sundeck area and found that very appealing. The views there are just of neighboring buildings, including the Marriott across the street (which looks really new and nice, btw). But it's a nice space to relax, read the paper, etc.

In spite of the dated appearance of the hotel and my room, I would definitely rank it "above average," and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

First, the view was extraordinary. There is construction blocking part of the view, but staying in one of the western-most rooms still gives you a terrific field of view. Rooms -41 and -39 are in the western corner. Enhancing the view, is the fact that there is an enclosed balcony with a couple chairs. You can even open the window and get fresh air. Very nice.

Downtown location is great. It's a nice part of town and it's not too far to walk to Robson street, Stanley Park, or along the waterfront. Not too many restaurants in the immediate area, so plan on going somewhere else if you want to eat other than in the hotel.

There are nice ammenities to the room, such as the heated bathroom tiles and very comfortable beds. However, the decor is aging somewhat and I expected something fresher. It didn't take away too much from the week-long experience, but kept it from being an excellent room.

The new construction does block the Canada Day fireworks completely, which are a little further up Coal Harbour. (Take note for 2008!)

Ultimately, I would stay here again. I would hope that the rooms are rennovated before my next visit, but it wouldn't stop me.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Paris-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

The Renaissance Hotel in Vancouver is wonderful!
front Desk do a great jo in welcoming you and guiding you around this lovely city!

2  Thank jemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

This hotel is on the waterfront facing the seaplane terminal. Get a harbor view room and the view is good. Stanley park a short distance away and close to cruise terminal.The rooms are a good size. food is very good.Staff very helpful.The only down is if you haveyour own car it costs$19 every time you go in and out the car park.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank peterandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Did ask for early check in, but hotel was full so not able to check in until 3PM, although they did look after our bags for us. Late check out was 1PM, and again they looked after our bags.

Location was really good, 15 minute walk to Robson Street and great views of Stanley Park and the harbour.

Nice clean rooms, really spacious and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woolleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
568 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,694 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront

Address: 1133 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 3T3, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $141 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining Vancouver flare with opulent accommodations, exceptional service and a breathtaking view of Coal Harbour and the city, the Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront welcomes travelers to discover the vibrant atmosphere of Downtown Vancouver. Our 442 guestroom provides a well-designed harbourfront escape, with locally inspired, full-service amenities and personalized service for your stay in Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vancouver
Vancouver Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing