We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deluxe Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

2 adults & teenage child, room was basically clean but hotel was very dingy, water stains on the ceiling, laminate coming off the countertop, counter not screwed to the wall, an old mattress left in the hall, very questionable and loud 'grunts' coming out of the room beside the stairway, sketchy parking area. okay for a really cheap one night stay if you absoultly need it - but we left after one night eventhough we planned on staying longer. look down kingsway a few blocks, you'll have better luck.
it has a place for very cheap, one night, hostle type accommodation, but dont expect much and you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: the best tip would be - rooms at a different hotel are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    7
    4
    14
See reviews for
10
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My mother booked this motel as a one night stay because we were only in Vancouver for the weekend. First of all, the outside of the place looks run down and shoddy, so we didn't expect much. Then, after specifically having reserved a room for three people (we ended up bringing four but we had booked the "family" suite and were ready to pay extra for the fourth person) we arrived to find that there had been a "misunderstanding" and that the room was reserved for us, but for eight people. When we showed the travel confirmation that was only for four, they said that they could not change the reservation and still had to charge us for four extra people. Even so, it was still a very good price and we figured it was only for one night, so it wasn't going to be that bad. Wrong again. The room has an old style oven that has obviously seen its share of fires, one pathetic sink, and an air conditioner that is probably older than my mother and I combined. There are four channels on the TV, and two beds which are hardly suitable for sleeping on. The shower was completely clogged (I was standing in inches of water by the time I stepped in) and there was mold in it, and I even saw a small bug or two. Absolutely disgusting, do not stay here!

Room Tip: No room will save you from the noise of the street. The curtains don't even close all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amylasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This Motel is just fine for one night, but might not be suitable for people who are looking for a comfy bed. Our room was reasonalby big and more or less clean. The car can be parked right under the motel for free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Was looking forward to settling in with my family of 5 after a long 16hr flight, but upon arrival i was very DISSAPPOINTED!!!!! the outside of it is veryyy old and unappealing, and looks more like a low budget backpackers hostel than a inviting family friendly hotel!! Upon entry to the reception it smelt really stuffy/ unclean & smokey!!!! I was not feeling very good about this hotel at this point, so asked to see our room...to which the receptionist convinced from the look on my face, that i was going to cancel...then proceed to quickly access my c/card and take the full amount! My assumptions were right and the room was not good at all! Or the actual room that we had booked online in the first place!! everything in that room needed to be replaced verrry old & dated!! bathroom shower could have done with another clean, verrry stuffy & smokey clearly not suitable for us let alone our children. as we headed back to reception the hall way air was sooo thick with cigarette smoke, i was shocked! It felt very seedy & i did not feel very comfortable to be there at all. i had a feeling that they rented out a lot of their rooms, (to whomever1) and upon questioning i was right! i could tell! so i politely informed her that it was definitely suitable especially as my 5yr old has asthma...and the cigarette smoke was sooo bad! apparently she couldn't smell it, even though anyone could of seen...that we were talking to each other through a HAZE of smoke!!! HELLO!!!! I asked if we could have a refund, but instead was told every excuse under the sun as to why she could not refund! asked her if she could call the manager/owner which she did...but the manager was not interested, did not want to speak to me, and said to come back on the following Monday when she would be there! even though i explained we had JUST got off a 16hr flight, had 3 kids in tow, and extra couple of adults...and we were heading up to Whistler the following day!! Not wanting to stay in that horrible smokey, seedy hotel any longer, we left drove around trying to find another hotel, and never got any refund!!! It was our very first day in Canada, and i wasn't going to let that spoil the rest of our 3 1/2 week holiday!!!! I would NOT advise anyone, especially families...to stay here!!! Don't Do It!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Folks who own this place should consider another line of business. Some staff members friendly and willing, but seems absentee management just doesn't understand what is needed in running any kind of guest service business. My bike was stolen right off the rack in back of my car.. right under the surveillance camera in the underground parking lot at about 10:30 pm.. it took an entire day for someone to review the files and find it; nothing was done.. no one noticed anyone going in or out of the parking area. There is virtually no security in this place. Rooms are supposed to be equipped for light housekeeping, but the reality is very uneven between different rooms. Their internet signal is 10 years behind and could easily be remedied, but there is no direction. This is not a big place... wi-fi is ubiquitous and easily installed these days.

In short, this is a 50.00 dollar place masquerading as an 85.00 dollar (plus Tax!) hotel... slip-shod management and facilities. I cannot /would not recommend this place to anyone who values comfort and safety.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere; these are the keystone kops of lodging. Young staff mean well, but just don't kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank canamjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

I was shocked to see the rooms from judging its exterior appearance because from the outside it just looks like a normal motel however the inside can be rated as a hotel room...I loved there artwork..The picture frames they had in the rooms were spectacular...I really enjoyed them...the one thing i wasnt too happy about was the room i stayed in didnt have a very nice view....I will definately come back but I will definately request for a room with a nice view!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the mountain views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Clean,spacious room with a nice kitchenette. Unique decor made it fun and enjoyable. Very good price made up for the older bathroom...Not luxurious but a close walk to restaurants and train. Very friendly staff.Would recc[mend The Palms to someone on a fun adventure trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa181788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#78 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#65 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#76 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deluxe Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Hotel Vancouver

Property: Deluxe Hotel Vancouver
Address: 3505 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5R 5L8, Canada (Formerly Palms Motel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Renfrew
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deluxe Hotel Vancouver 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Deluxe Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing