We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like The Metropolitans In Toronto!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
408 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“Nothing like The Metropolitans In Toronto!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

While Vancouver is one on the great cities in the entire world to visit, The Metropolitan Vancouver does not match this city's majesty.

We have stayed at the both the Metropolitan Soho and the Metropolitan Hotels in Toronto, and we were expecting the same elegance and panache in Vancouver. The exterior and lobby of the hotel are quite imposing, and we checked in with high expectations. However, although we upgraded to one of their better rooms, it was disappointing to experience a room of copious dimensions with boring, outdated furnishings. The room had absolutely no style! It looked like thousands of hotel rooms at chain hotels all over North America. Everything was clean and worked well, but for the price we paid, we were expecting more than the ordinary. The highlight of the room was a large bathroom with a separate shower and tub.

The service at the hotel was warm and accommodating, but fairly uninformed. I was compelled to tell the concierge about the new restaurants I discovered. My information was attained from "The Vancouver" magazine. One would think this would not be hard for a concierge to find.

I did enjoy working out in their health club which was well equipped. The restaurant, Diva, is quite good but over priced and past its prime.

If you can get a great price, consider staying at The Metropolitan Vancouver. If not, take your chances elsewhere.

  • Liked — The well designed bathrooms
  • Disliked — The out dated furnishings
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    551
    118
    31
    23
See reviews for
234
765
113
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

Vancouver was the starting point on our Canadian fly drive holiday and we booked the Metropolitan Hotel on the basis of reading tripadvisor reviews.
We weren't disappointed - an excellent location just a few blocks from Canada Place in one direction, the bars & restaurants of Robson St in the other and directly opposite an indoor shopping mall for those occasional(!) rainy days in Vancouver.
Bus stop to Granville Island and other attractions was right outside the hotel.
Check-in was a breeze, having prepaid through our booking with Expedia. The room on the 16th floor was clean, spacious and quiet. The bed was one of the most comfy we've experienced.
Didn't eat at the hotel, no reflection upon the restaurant, we just find that wandering round finding places to eat is part of the holiday experience.
Used the pool area briefly, moderate size swimming pool and nice relaxing jacuzzi. Only criticism would be that the sauna facilities are in the changing rooms so after our swim, myself & the missus had to go our separate ways.
Picked up a hire car towards the end of our 4 day stay, car park directy underneath hotel and valet parking service was faultless.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mancs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at The Metropolitan Hotel in Vancouver. We enjoyed being upgraded to a larger room which was very elegantly decorated. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We didn't have a chance to eat at the dining room in the hotel, but were very close to other restaurants in the area. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from The Pacific Centre Mall and very close to Robson Street. We would definitely stay at The Metropolitan again. The location is great and easy walking distance from the cruise ship terminals. We walked to Stanley Park, Chinatown, Gastown and Yaletown in one day.

Helpful?
5 Thank kitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, ma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel in June for 3 nights and have mixed feelings about the accommodations. The hotel personnel were very friendly and tried very hard to be accommodating but somehow did not come across as highly competent. The concierge also put a lot of effort into helping us but often just consulted the Zagat guide or used the internet - google. There are two very slow elevators here - okay if you are not in a hurry.

The lobby is a little jarring always busy and full of people hanging around or trying to check in or out. The front doors were always wide open even when it was raining.

The rooms were spacious - we booked two connecting rooms. One of the rooms appeared recently renovated and was very nice, the other was a little tired and seemed oddly decorated. The bathrooms were also above decent but oddly shaped, again one was much nicer than the other. The lowlight - our room faced the street and we were on the eighth floor (about halfway up) and there was a lot of street noise from both buses that stopped and started and souped up cars that raced down the street at night up until at least midnight and often beyond. This noise began again around 8 a.m. There was very little noise from other guests, which was great but we could hear the pinging of the elevator when people got on or off on our floor.

Breakfast and parking were expensive. The workout area was so-so. The elliptical equipment was located in the pool area (which was small but fine to use), which was not ideal as it was a bit humid and noisy from some small children swimming. We did not use the pool but I think it was more than adequate. The weight equipment was a little outdated and a little worn.

The location was close to the Vancouver Art Gallery and right across the street from the Four Seasons, which had a pool and japanese garden that we enviously eyed everyday.

It is a short walking distance from Robson Street (overrated) and Canada Place. If you like a more urban experience with an active nightlife you will like it here.

During our stay there appeared to be a number of tour groups of older Europeans staying at the hotel - very cosmopolitan.

I would consider staying here again but most likely would be willing to try another property.

  • Liked — Spacious and renovated room was great
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank muttger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

First of all, the hotel is walking distance from the cruise terminal, the sea bus, SkyTrain, and needless to say, bus transportation. The location couldn't be better to explore the city. Everywhere we went, we always ended up within a few blocks of the hotel :-)

The rooms are spacious, clean, and well furnished. The bed is very very comfortable! The bathroom is also very nice and clean.

I liked coming to the room every night and finding the weather card on my pillow. This was a nice service.
The minibar was expensive -like in most hotels- but they had two bottles of water free. Nice touch as well.

The restaurant was EXCELLENT! We went for dinner one night and the service and the food were above our expectations. We never went for breakfast or lunch, so I can't comment on that.

Oh, the towels were big and *good*! (I hate towels that look pretty but don't dry....)

The concierge service was ok. We wanted to go to Victoria and the "only option" they knew was the tour. They didn't know how one could go by public transportation.... (About $100/person cheaper!). Since we were so close to the station, we went there and asked. It took the same time as the tour, but MUCH cheaper!!!!

We took a taxi early in the morning, and we didn't have any problem because the taxis line up in front of the hotel at 5:00am, so all you have to do is leave the hotel to find your transportation readily available.

In front of the hotel is the Four Seasons, which connects to a nice mall (Pacific Center). There you find an internet cafe at London Drugs for $6 an hour.

We loved the room and the location of this hotel.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Psykiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

Booked our 5 night stay in executive king suite online. We were given the option of smoking or non and both being smokers we chose this option. When we arrived at the hotel we were told only one floor was smoking and that floor did not have executive rooms. Were given a tour of both rooms and although we preferred the executive to deluxe we chose the latter. On registering we asked about price difference in the rooms and were floored when told it would be same rate. What do you do in this situation? Walk streets looking for another hotel? We decided to grin and bear it.
Apart from this our stay was comfortable and staff were extremely helpful.
Because this hotel is centally located unless you absolutely need a car would advise using excellent transport system Vancouver has and forget the car. At $28 a day (we needed to hire one for return trip to U.S.) parking is way over the top.

  • Liked — spacious and clean bathroom
  • Disliked — overcharged for inferior room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank expat0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights (July 4th,5th).

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and courteous, including the team at the Restaurant attached (Diva) who were just amazing. I honestly could not get over how polite and friendly (without being 'in your face') the staff consistently were.

Really liked my room, 1511 (asked for and received a high, non-smoking room), which was clean, roomy, and comfortable.

No real view - but no one goes sightseeing from their hotel window to begin with.

I had stayed at the Pan-Pacific on my last visit to Vancouver, and found this place to be it's equal in everything but name, at a far lower price.

I will gladly stay here again.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Not Applicable
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing