We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in the heart of downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in the heart of downtown”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed two nights while in Vancouver to attend a conference - easy walking distance from both convention centres. Warm, friendly, professional service from the moment I checked in. My Luxury King room was well appointed - loved the windows set at an angle! Ample space for work and leisure. Fantastic bathroom! I love hotel bathrooms with lots of space to place toiletries. This one had a separate shower and bath tub. Would heartily recommend this property if you appreciate more of a boutique feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    557
    120
    31
    23
See reviews for
235
768
113
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel in a great location within easy walking distance of shops, attractions and cruise terminal. We never used public transport during our visit as everything was within easy walking distance. The furthest attraction we visited was Capilano Bridge reached by a free courtesy bus a 10 minute walk away from the hotel.
Stayed for 3 nights and the hotel room was clean and very comfortable. Free WiFi was included in the room rate and was very reliable. All staff were very polite, helpful and very friendly. Ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant each morning and the food was amazing with very efficient service and friendly staff.
Would not hesitate in staying here on any future visits to Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you and it is terrific to hear that you had an AMAZING time both in the hotel and around our fair city! I hope you had a chance to check out our packages for people going on cruises as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very comfortable hotel. Nothing too much trouble for the staff.Printed directions on how to get to another area of Vancouver including maps and which skytrain to get on and get off. Central place easy for the waterfront, Gastown, ChinaTown and Granville Island

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wispa9333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We do have an excellent location and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Found easily enough, on a main street and fairly central to everything you want to see, on foot if your up for some walking. We never used public transport and longest walk was to Stanley park which was only about 30 mins I think.

Staff were helpful prior to arrival when I was after some help on directions and such. Throughout the stay they were very pleasant when required. We got a deluxe king room I think it was, on the 16th floor and this was massive, with a great bathroom. All toiletries (Molten Brown in fact) provided with dressing gown. Instead of usual kettle (available on request) you have the proper espresso type machine, which was all complimentary. No fault with the room at all, and we had a fairly nice view.

Location was great for us as we like to walk around and managed to navigate easily enough everywhere we wanted to go. Local transport is nearby if required and plenty of taxi's to hand.

Never had any food here, but gets good reviews in the local tourist type magazine, and looked nice but seemed quiet when we stayed so we opted for other places around town.

Also never used the pool facilities so can't comment here beyond confirming they exist!

Room Tip: Loved the King room, so would go for this if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family and I had a great time at the Metropolitan! We stayed for 4 nights in the suites and absolutely loved it! The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. I did feel some "snootiness" from 2 or 3 of the front desk staff but were nonetheless very helpful. The hotel is very well decorated, the rooms are clean with a "classic" style decor. It is less than a 5 minute walk from the convention center which makes the location great. The hotel also offers a decent gym and a very nice pool and hot tub which we used almost every day. Would absolutely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amgtraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Be sure to try some of our desserts in Diva at the Met the next time you are here...you won't be disappointed I am sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at the Metropolitan for the fist time and my stay was very pleasant. The room was clean and the staff was very nice. The only thing negative I have to say is, it's time to renovate your hotel. I highly recommend staying at Metropolitan Hotel, I will be back.

Room Tip: Fantastic location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There for two nights in may14,very comfortable hotel with a great pool and facilities,good view of Vancouver high rise from 17 th floor,two blocks up from the harbour and two blocks fron robson st shopping area,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardtaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We love our location and are happy that you have discovered why! We hope to see you back before summer is over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,419 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
3,370 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing