We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights recently for a business trip. Although the hotel is under renovation, the service was up to par. After arriving home, my wife realized she had left one of her coats in the closet. She called the hotel and they said they would try to locate it. They did and couriered it to us the next day. I am a President's Club member and this level of attention and care is one of the reasons I always stay at a Fairmont hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiantraveler8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    558
    121
    31
    23
See reviews for
235
769
113
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Everything about our stay was excellent!! We arrived quite a bit earlier than normal check-in time and asked if we could store our bags and park the car until check-in and the woman at the front desk told us we could go up early and waived the "early check-in fee". Doors were held open, the staff helped carry our bags, and even called the elevator for us! (NOTE: I should mention that we were little fish in a big pond here, and the only reason we were able to book a deluxe King room is because I cashed in all my Flight Network points! We were easily impressed!) Our room was great, the decor was lush and fancy, and the soaker tub was a dream come true! And speaking of dreams, I would gladly cough up another $200 just to sleep in that bed with the super soft sheets again!
In the morning we got up and ,made ourselves a coffee with the Keurig machine, but sadly it ended up being gross because of those little whitener packs... In my opinion, a big fancy hotel like this could have a few creamers stocked in the fridge as opposed to Coffee Mate... but really, this was no big deal. I didn't expect the coffee to be good anyway and prefer to go out for an espresso!
My only criticism of The Met is the overpricing of the food/snacks once you get to your room. A regular sized Aero bar was $4, a small can of Pringles was $5, and those teeny tiny bottles of liquor were $10 (plus the $3 can of pop, you're looking at a $13 drink and you're still drinking it out of a plastic cup...I understand you're paying for convenience, but still...) I get that the Met attracts people with money, but I just can't wrap my head around how they justify charging $40/night to park my car... That's a little less than what we usually pay for a hotel for ourselves! I guess that's just what you have to do if you want to swim in the big pond!!
To sum it up, I would definitely stay here again (If I could afford to!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM_Gibsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Keep tuned to our website for your next visit, as we often have specials available there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson's Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed at the Met April 2014. It was affordable,clean and friendly. It is conveniently close to the City Centre Skytrain stop so it was really easy to get to from the airport. The staff were super friendly and accomodating. The concierge was very helpful in explaining to me how to get places. There was an umbrella in the room to use which I really needed and really appreciated!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is an older hotel with lots of charm. I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of April. It's right around the corner from the sky train 'city centre' stop. It's right in the heart of downtown vancouver. Room service dinner was great. Check in and out was quick and easy. The hotel restaurant is really ice. Drinks are good. Make sure you have a preference for liquor or the bartender with mix with the most expensive. Ie. he was mixing grey goose vodka vs. a cheaper vodka which was 60% more. But in my experiences, most places do this anyhow.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Main Street are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaverickBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This was not our first stay. We return because for the price, it is great value. The staff are friendly, rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are fantastic.

It caters to business people. Frequent travellers can arrange to stow a few business outfits and have them waiting for you pressed upon arrival. More conveniently, you can leave a set of your fav toiletries too so you don't have to deal with airline limitations.

It's the details... press service within the hour, bathroom amenities and vanity stool, good size desks, very comfy beds and a great workout room.

We love the great pool and whirlpool! We were on a couples getaway and the location was great to shop, see a show at the Commodore and try new restaurants.

Parking is pricey but generally is everywhere. They only have valet for $40. We decided to park ourselves at the parkade across the street. Left at 10:30 am and still had to pay $30. Only a small savings.

This hotel is near luxury without the high end price. We have stayed here numerous times over the last five years and we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ldewit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you. We are glad that you have come back time and time again, and are a very dedicated guest of ours. Our staff pride themselves on the work that they do for our guests, and comments like these go a long way. Thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for a quick one night stay on a business trip and everything was "Nice". Staff was good at check in and out, room was fine, if a little dated, bath is big and has lots of room. The location is very good and I hear that the restaurant has great food, although I didn't get an opportunity to try it. Overall fine and dandy, nothing too fancy or too bad.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in here for a few nights before taking a cruise and can't say one bad thing about this hotel, everything was great. The location was great for us as the hotel is so central and makes walking to bars, restaurants, etc. so easy. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Director of Sales at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
It sounds like you have found out our little secret! Hope to see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,375 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing