We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Splash out, it's worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Splash out, it's worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The Metropolitan is in a great spot close to the waterfront. It was pricey but worth it, even down to the Molten Brown bathroom miniatures, a nice touch. The only thing that I was surprised about was that breakfast wasn't included but there are lots of places to eat down town anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arabella_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    476
    101
    30
    17
See reviews for
206
685
104
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in the past - great location in downtown Vancouver. Older hotel but they have updated. I traveled with a friend and we had a room with twin beds, for twin beds they were very comfortable! Nice clean big bathroom - perfect for two women. Staff is very friendly, valet, etc.... It's a good hotel in a great location. You can walk to everything. We were there for a game at BC Place and we walked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zerrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days (July 1-3, 2013) The location here is PERFECT for getting around all of Vancouver without having to do any driving yourself. Park your car and forget about it! Close to all bus routes and walking distance to Canada Place, Gastown, Chinatown etc. When we arrived, the hotel had a box of gourmet chocolate cookies awaiting us in our room ( Very delish) The room was very clean with a nice bed and roomy washroom. The pool/spa, workout room is very nice and clean, the fitness/locker room was impressive. Very nice doorman and hotel staff!! Highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Hot tub is awesome and has a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before joining our cruise trip for Alaska. We received a very warm welcome on arrival at reception. The check in was quick. We had some disappointed after looking at the small reception as we had some other expectations
But after a short while we started enjoying the place. The staff was very helpful.
The bathroom was very large . It had a separate shower.
We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed here one night before getting on a cruise ship but we enjoyed our stay. The lobby is very chic with a stunning Asian panel/sculpture. The front desk personnel were very nice and the concierge was helpful with restaurant recommendations. The Metropolitan is in a great location -we walked to restaurants the day we arrived and it's near Robson Street. If you don't have too much luggage and the weather is nice, you can walk to the cruise terminal.

The room was nicely decorated - modern - and had quite a large bathroom with both a tub and separate shower. We had room for suitcases in the bed/living area and we had a small table with chairs and a settee to sit on. The room also had a tiny balcony to stand on. We were three in the room so a fold out bed had to be brought in for our daughter. It took up any spare room. There is an in-room coffee maker with fake creamer available. The hotel does not include breakfast so you have to dine out.

Even though we only stayed one night, it was a pleasant experience and we would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and found the location to be perfect. Our room was never too far from anywhere we wanted to walk to. The bathroom was one of the best I've seen in city hotels. Huge counter space that allows you to easily spread out. They even fixed the water pressure problem we noticed the first night. Wow! The only ding is the bed was squeaky... I'd be happy to stay here again on pleasure or business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I don't know why I expected the hotel to be a little "grander" than it was...but I was a little let down when we arrived. The lobby is nice but small. We checked in quickly and smoothly. The person who checked us in was helpful with recommendations for dinner. Again, I was a little disappointed with our room. I had trouble identifying why but I think it was the dirty windows. But we settled in for our 3day visit prior to our cruise to Alaska. Love the large bathroom with separate shower and nice deep soaking tub. And the free WiFi was great. Others have said they had problems with it, but we didn't have any problems at all. I think we got a very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJCNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#15 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
#22 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#20 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,836 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Gastown
Delta Vancouver Suites
Delta Vancouver Suites
#30 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver - a luxury Vancouver hotel with a superb downtown location and yet at the same time positioned against a serene mountain backdrop. The hotel’s convenient downtown Vancouver location is surrounded by all the pleasures and excitement that one of Canada’s finest cities has to offer, whether you come for business or pleasure. Make yourself at home in one of the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver's 197 luxurious, elegantly appointed hotel rooms and suites, complete with spacious marble washrooms, separate glass showers and soaker tubs. The Vancouver hotel also offers 7,600 sq. ft. of conference and banquet facilities designed to accommodate 10 to 250. And, of course, nothing will satiate your appetite better than Diva at the Met restaurant, featuring Vancouver's finest cuisine, celebrated Chef's Table and distinguished wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing