We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice with few exceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I don't know why I expected the hotel to be a little "grander" than it was...but I was a little let down when we arrived. The lobby is nice but small. We checked in quickly and smoothly. The person who checked us in was helpful with recommendations for dinner. Again, I was a little disappointed with our room. I had trouble identifying why but I think it was the dirty windows. But we settled in for our 3day visit prior to our cruise to Alaska. Love the large bathroom with separate shower and nice deep soaking tub. And the free WiFi was great. Others have said they had problems with it, but we didn't have any problems at all. I think we got a very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJCNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
There are newer reviews for Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We used to stay here very frequently when our business took us to Vancouver, but stopped going for a while when the construction was going on next door. First time back, and I was happy to see that the high level of service is still alive and well! Excellent front desk and bellhop/valet staff. Lovely rooms with great bathrooms. They accommodated our rather unusual party of two adult sisters, with three teenage girls perfectly. Room service a delight, and the cocktail bar has a good selection of cocktails and wine.
Location: near lots of great restaurants, bars, and SHOPPING!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms very luxurious with big bathrooms with walk in shower and seperate bath tub. Loved it. Great location, could walk everywhere - free wifi was great too. Mini bar seemed overly pricey but we just didn't use it. Would also be good if the hotel offered residents a discount at their restaurant but so many places nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three days in late June. It is central and very near the downtown Vancouver train station from the airport. The welcome was good and we felt completely at ease within the hotel - if you want to carry your own bags, you can! Our room on the 14th flow was excellent and tidied each day. Highly recommended Vancouver stop-over.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjtatntrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our holiday to vancouver. Typical downtown/city hotel. Paid extra for valet parking. Fussy breakfast and evening meals at city prices. Room clean and comfortable, not much of a view across the road to another hotel. Good base to explore downtown vancouver, plenty of bars and restaurants around. All in all not a bad place to stay for a short time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpyNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear GrumpyNana,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel for Trip Advisor. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, but was disappointed to read of the few areas we did not meet your expectations. We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness standards and service excellence. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Sincerely, Joe Dias, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife kidnapped me for a weekend in the city for my birthday, starting with reservations at our favorite downtown hotel the Met. "Happy Birthday Mr. Douglas" came from the check in staff followed by an upgrade surprise. If you can get a suite on the top floor, the 18th, they don't get much better than 1804, with two rooftop terraces. And, arriving back after a play at the Granville Island theatre, a chocolate, engraved platter of dessert and personal note. Wow! The usual outstanding service from curbside to bedside - there just isn't a better experience for your downtown Vancouver stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Metropolitan for our family vacation, it's location is fantastic, in the middle of shopping, restaurants, and all the sights. The front personnel was very friendly, and accommodating. The rooms were a bit used and old and in need of renovation. The pool was a nice refreshment for the kids, and he parking was very convenient.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ppapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,586 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,497 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,672 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $158 - $918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing