We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Metropolitan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed at the Metropolitan for 10 days during the last leg of our 3 week Canadian trip and really cannot fault it. The hotel staff and house keeping were great. They helped us out with organising trips, bus tours etc.The restaurant is award winning and deservedly so and the bar is really friendly. We found the restaurant and bar very reasonable. My husband tried out the Metropolitan's Business Suite which was very comprehensive.

The Metropolitan is very convenient. Short stroll to the shops in one direction, or equally in the other direction you can sit and chill watching the sea planes take off and land either over lunch at Canada Place or one of the restaurants that front the sea.

We didn't hire a car in Vancouver as I think it would be a nightmare - many of the roads are dug up for the forth coming metro. We used buses and found them really great for visiting Stanley Park etc.

One word of advice - as there are building works going on at the adjacent hotel request a high floor. We asked and got a room on the 16th floor and the construction works didn't bother us.

We loved Vancouver - there is something magical when you turn a block in a city and are faced with the beauty of the rockies. We will definitely return and would have no hesitation in rebooking the Met.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Suzanne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,829 - 1,835 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2008

"The Met" met our needs while we were in Vancouver prior to a cruise that started there. It's located nicely across from a shopping center and close to the nice shopping area on Robson Street. Their restaurant, Diva, was OK but not super special. If I were to book a hotel pre-cruise again, I would definitely look more closely at the Pan Pacific or at the Fairmont Vancouver, both of which are located immediately next to the cruise ship terminal -- we could have wheeled our suitcases across the street (The Met was within walking distance of the terminal but not if you're pulling large bags). That said, I didn't even begin to compare the rates -- I'm sure The Met had a much more favorable rate, based on previous reviews, making the four-block taxi fare well worth it. Several coffee shops and dining options in the area. Walk down Howe street toward the terminal, and you'll fnd Scoozi's (445 Howe street). Neat place. Unpretentious, great-tasting food, and fun service. A bit closer to The Met is Sciue, another nice place for coffee and lunch (at the intersection of Pender and Howe).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanghaisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel in April. The room was beautiful with a rich wood entry hall and spotlessly clean. The large well-lit bathroom with both tub and separate shower was welcome. Location is in the heart of downtown Vancouver with easy walking to both shops and restaurants. The pool and spa were great, and enjoyed. We ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel dining room Diva. Both meals were excellent (a little noisy at dinner). The Metropolitan’s turn-down service does something more hotels should do, and that is instead of some stale candy on your pillow, they gave us fresh bottles of water each evening (smart idea!). We will return to this hotel on our next trip to Vancouver.

M & J
Tarzana

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Travlersfrom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

My sister was visiting from England , we wanted to spend a couple of days together in Vancouver and this hotel was great. It is right in the city centre close to all the attractions so expect some traffic and construction noise , we had a room in the back on the 10th floor which was nice and quiet. The hotel is lovely, we were upgraded to a luxury room, there is a great pool and fitness area, we didn't use the restaurant or bar but it seemed nice. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spotless, beds were comfy and the bathroom was huge. Added touches such as chocolates, coffeemaker, morning paper, early check in and late check out all made it a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainyday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

This hotel delivered really high quality at a very reasonable price. Well-decorated, comfortable rooms with great beds; every facility you could want from an excellent bathroom with a big tub to a coffee-making machine and plenty of TV choices; and unobtrusive but efficient house-keeping. For $233 dollars a night plus tax it really was great value for what in almost every respect is close to 5-star quality.

The only reservations: it's not an attractive building from the outside and the rooms are a bit dark. Breakfast isn't the most generous in the range of what's offerered but decent value.

These are just small criticisms, though. The service is cheerful and warm, the rooms are relaxing and the location is about as good as you can get in Vancouver for what the city has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner5870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Spent Memorial Day Weekend here and it was great. The hotel is in the perfect location to explore the city. The staff was great, we got a fantastic Dim Sum recommendation from a bellhop, the concierge helped us find a great city wide tour and the bartender at Diva (their restaurant/bar) knows how to make a great bowl of loud mouth soup. The decor in the hallways and at the pool reminded me a little of the 80s but our room was great and the maid service was very good as well.

Great all around stay in a fantastic town.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigCat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Arrived from London, rented a car and arrived at the hotel around 11pm local time. Free valet parking- great.
Travelling with wife and sons age 10,11 years. Hotel put us in a junior suite. This had a lovely room for my wife and I with a sitting room for the boys, The sofa bed slept one ( or 2) and they provided a roll away bed.
Central location for shops. Denny's for breakfast or the local Market place supermarket. Easy drive the next day up to Whistler.
Arrived jet lagged and tired. Cookies and milk were waiting for the boys- nice touch. I booked 6 wks in advance by email and got a great discounted rate.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Doccrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,648 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $156 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing