We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well priced hotel close to the business district of vancouver and easy walk down to water by the convention center to some great restaurants like carderos and the new cactus club. The breakfast sausages are fantastic in the restaurant downtstairs in the breakfast buffet, closest I have seen to english bangers outside of England.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    585
    133
    35
    27
See reviews for
256
813
117
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I would revisit and recommend this hotel if you're traveling for business or have some money to spend on lovely accommodation. The lobby was impressive and staff very ready and willing to assist me as soon as the cab pulled up. The room was comfortable to sleep, dress, and work, and was well decorated. I just wish I had a mouse pad ;). The fitness facility was small but sufficient for a good workout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is bang in the centre of vancouver,the staff are great,nothing is too much trouble,concierge is well up on everything,staff nice.When we got there we needed a drink and there was only a coffee machine in the room we rang reception to ask would it be possible to have a kettle within 10 mins we had one.

Room Tip: We had a good room 1612 it was a high floor so wasnt really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homer123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Metropolitan hotel for 2 nights at the tail end of our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and we found the location to be conveniently located for much of what Vancouver had to offer. We were told that our particular room had been renovated recently and had plenty of space for the two of us. It was a little strange that the bathroom was behind a sliding door, but the amenities were nice none the less. We were on the 16th floor facing a bunch of other buildings and an alley way. Possibly my only complaint was that the noise level from the trucks in the alley seemed rather high in the early mornings, and could really wake up a light sleeper. Even with the little window closed traffic was definitely noticeable 16 floors up. The hotel also offered "green" alternatives to house keeping, and provided us with a free copy of the Vancouver paper every morning. We never did try the restaurant at the hotel, although it did seem a bit pricey compared to other dining alternatives close by. Overall, I was pleased with our stay. But both my wife and I got the feeling that this was a hotel geared towards couples or business people and not families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughlin, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I only spent one night at this hotel after an Alaskan cruise - we didn't want to have to rush off the cruise ship and straight to the airport. And are we glad that we chose to stay here. The location was very convenient - across from the Pacific Centre Mall. As I am not familiar with Vancouver, I didn't realize how close the hotel is to the cruise ship docks at the Canada Centre. It was a great location to go out and walk around the city to see the sites. The staff was especially nice & friendly. We had a "Luxury Suite" on the 18th floor (I'm sure it was an upgrade, because I don't remember booking a suite). The suite was spacious with 1 1/2 baths, living room with couch and 2 chairs, a business/work area, bar/coffee pot. There were 2 balconies with great city views. The bedroom was a separate room with the most comfortable bed we had slept in (wish I could have taken the bed home). The master bath had both a shower, tub, and double vanities with extra amenities. We did not use the restaurant (we ate while we were out walking around), nor did we use the business center or the pool area. I would most definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockman89029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We love this hotel. We stayed in the Toronto Metropolitan Hotel twice, and in the Vancouver one most recently. Our suite had large mirrors in our bathroom, and very beautiful hotel inside. We used the Business Centre because we don't travel with a computer, and there were many more amenities on that floor that we didn't use. The decor in our room and throughout the hotel is very trendy and clean and designer look.

We forgot something in the hotel, and the Front Desk and Housekeeping were very, very helpful to us. We highly recommend this hotel to visitors and locals who need to get away for a weekend, or give a Gift to someone.

When there are tour buses or people arriving from what I think are the Cruise Ships, the elevators do get busy, but the stay is worth it. The fact that it is a busy and well-liked hotel, shows that it is popular and in demand.

Dr. & wife.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired Doctor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Metropolitan hotel in Vancouver for the last 4 nights as part of a 3 week holiday in Canada, our honeymoon. We stayed in a number of really nice hotels but this one was the best. The staff were all friendly and professional, we had a small gift waiting for us in the room and a personalised card (it was our honeymoon) and the room was extremely large. The room service was fantastic, great food made all the better by the really nice gentlemen (cannot remember his name, I’m afraid although he spoke with a French accent. The facilities were amazing, the gym, pool and sauna were all good and not too busy. The restaurant in the hotel is also amazing and it was also in our local book on what to do in Vancouver, top 10 places to eat and it didn't disappoint the best meal of the holiday! Would certainly recommend this hotel, it helped make the end of our visit special. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davem247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,608 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing