We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

great location, great hotel, friendly staff. my only complaint is that the rooms are a little old and dated that is the feeling i got. but the bed was comfortable the rooms were clean the staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,992)
There are newer reviews for Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in December for business as a single female traveler. The hotel is perfectly located across the street from shopping, SkyTrain, Art Gallery and steps from the ocean. I enjoyed an upgrade to a King Luxury room, which I highly recommend. The room was lovely,clean, nice amenities (Molton Brown, Frette linens and robe) and even had a tiny balcony!
The onsite Dining Room was perfect - beautiful breakfasts every morning in a quiet, elegant room. I recommend the steel cut oatmeal. For drinks, appies and dinner, the Diva dining room again did not disappoint. Foodies will love what the chef is doing there.
The concierge was a knowledgable, lovely lady who knew about every restaurant and guided me wisely.
Thank you Metropolitan Hotel for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Luxury room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank islandgirl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here New Years Eve 2013. We arrived just after 12:00 pm wanting to park and go do some shopping before checking in. We were delighted to find that our rooms (two couples) were ready for us! The location is fantastic! $6.00 cab ride to Yaletown, and walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the waterfront...everything. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our rooms were very nicely appointed, bathrooms large with separate shower and tub. They even have a balcony! Highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay right downtown in a nice hotel for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyCoquitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed five nights at the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, at a special negotiated "event rate", in order to attend a wedding. This hotel is in a superb location for visiting Vancouver. Within two blocks of the hotel are drugstores, restaurants, coffee shops, and stores of all kinds, from reasonable to exclusive, including a large underground shopping mall, and stations for two main transit lines which will connect you to the airport and most places in Vancouver area. We loved walking to the waterfront and gaslight areas, home of still more restaurants, brewpubs, and shops. The hotel has a full-service restaurant and bar, which are both quite good, but we ate most breakfasts from nearby coffee shops, and sampled many of the other restaurants in the area. The bed were very comfortable, our bathroom was very large, with both shower and separate soaking tub (not jacuzzi), and there was plenty of closet and drawer space to unpack and settle in. Our room included, also, a nice desk, and a small sitting area set in front of the windows, with 2 chairs and round table. In December, the whole city of Vancouver really enters into the Christmas spirit, with decorations and lights everywhere, a Santa parade on the first Sunday, and other festivals. As has been mentioned, parking is about $30.00 per day, and a car is not really necessary for most activities. We did rent a car for one day, to go to an evening event at Grouse Mountain, a ski resort north of Vancouver. Budget and Avis both have downtown locations, and I made the reservation for Avis through their website, then walked two blocks from the Metropolitan Hotel to the Avis site, next to the Fairmont Hotel, for pickup and return. We loved Vancouver, and would definitely stay at the Metropolitan Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuiltingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked the room for 2 adults and a 10 year old using HotWire. The poor kid had to sleep on some flimsy cod that kept falling down all the time - it also barely fit inside the room. It didn't help that the room was extremely tiny and really dated. Also, the parking is a complete rip off, at $40 a day it's double the rate in the buildings nearby. If you have a car and you're travelling with a child you're better off staying in one of the 5* hotels in downtown than at the Met.

Room Tip: small, dated rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mango-limes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Mango-Limes,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts regarding your recent experience at the Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than stellar.
I truly regret that your child's cot was not functioning properly and I have followed up with my team to ensure that such a situation does not recur. Our pricing on our parking is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and free valet. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Sincerely,
Joe Dias
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Metropolitan's location is perfect; downtown, close to everything! The service was excellent from the doorman, to the front desk, housekeeping & room service! The room is a nice size and has iPod player/charger, good internet and a deep tub. I will be back!

Room Tip: Love their 1 bedroom suites!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Arrived late morning after 21 hrs flying from Australia. Took the air train from Vancouver airport and arrived pretty tired. Greeted by friendly and welcoming staff and into bedroom very quickly. Room was clean with nice view from 15th floor over city. Looking forward to rest of stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Michaelmo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,676 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $157 - $922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing